Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 583053 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3350 on: February 08, 2024, 09:09:37 pm »



I am not really sure what the problem is here.

I added an AR488Lan with the ip, but it seems like it TestController is not trying to connect via a the TCP/IP connection.
When i use the normal AR488 with it plugged into a USB Port its still working.
I can address the AR488Lan via Telnet from my pc, so there should be any connection.
Can you maybe add more debug messages in the jar file, for me it seems like its tying a local port in the AR488Lan mode because if the jSerialComm message.
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 153
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3351 on: February 09, 2024, 11:48:25 am »
In addition for my ADC10F103C resistor interface in Post 3299
like to share an option for Current measurement with an ACS712 interface.
Can be powerd from ADC10F103C 5Volt and GND output.
Output can be connected to a 0-5Volt input.
The ACS712 can be bought for a few Euro's in 5, 20 and 30A versions.
In my case the 5A version has an output of 185mV/A.
The offset is 2.5 Volt, so you can measure Pos. and Neg. current.
With an simple math formula you can calculate the according Current.

Formula: Current = (ADC10.Input1_5V-2.5)/0.185

You can always put an calibration factor in the formula.

Pros:
Negative and Positive current. For example usefull in a charge and discharge system.
Isolated input.
1.2 mOhm input resistance.
ADC10F103C and ACS712 powered by USB, no additional power supply needed.
With other ADC10F103C Voltage inputs you can make calculations like Power consumption etc.,
making measurement for voltage, current and power consumption dependence.
Cheap

Cons:
Linearity at low current a bit low. (I have an cheap Chinese module, is the ACS712 original?}
Some noise on output.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2024, 12:09:51 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3352 on: February 09, 2024, 11:55:08 am »
I added an AR488Lan with the ip, but it seems like it TestController is not trying to connect via a the TCP/IP connection.
When i use the normal AR488 with it plugged into a USB Port its still working.
I can address the AR488Lan via Telnet from my pc, so there should be any connection.
Can you maybe add more debug messages in the jar file, for me it seems like its tying a local port in the AR488Lan mode because if the jSerialComm message.

If is not tested, but is a copy of the Prologix Ethernet that I know works.
Is the configuration correct, except for the IP address it must look this way:



 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3353 on: February 09, 2024, 12:08:16 pm »
In addition for my ADC10F103C resistor interface in Post 3299
like to share an option for Current measurement with an ACS712 interface.

I have added it to the page.
These modules are nice, I did a DMM adapter with one of these modules a long time ago: https://lygte-info.dk/info/CurrentAdapter%20UK.html
 
The following users thanked this post: Pukker

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 153
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3354 on: February 09, 2024, 12:20:15 pm »
I have added it to the page.
These modules are nice, I did a DMM adapter with one of these modules a long time ago: https://lygte-info.dk/info/CurrentAdapter%20UK.html

Aha, didn't looked there before.  DMM current-interfaces are pretty indeed.
Don't like high currents in my DMM.   :bullshit:
« Last Edit: February 09, 2024, 07:34:30 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3355 on: February 09, 2024, 08:09:26 pm »
Don't like high currents in my DMM.   :bullshit:

I agree with that.
One issue is the voltage drop, it do not really matter when the voltage is high, but at low voltages it will significantly change the result (See my article about the module).
The other issue is heat, the shunt in the meter may handle it well (Sometimes), but the copper traces do not (Some meters do include copper trace resistance in shunt value, meaning they drift significantly at high current), their resistance will increase significantly and that will lead to even more problems with heat.

The ACS712 is not ideal, due to its issues at low current, but at higher currents it is a good solution at a price (A high quality shunt with a high quality amplifier and low resistance connection, will be better in many cases, but also much more expensive).
 

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3356 on: February 10, 2024, 11:31:05 am »
I
I added an AR488Lan with the ip, but it seems like it TestController is not trying to connect via a the TCP/IP connection.
When i use the normal AR488 with it plugged into a USB Port its still working.
I can address the AR488Lan via Telnet from my pc, so there should be any connection.
Can you maybe add more debug messages in the jar file, for me it seems like its tying a local port in the AR488Lan mode because if the jSerialComm message.

If is not tested, but is a copy of the Prologix Ethernet that I know works.


I found the problem.
The port of the prologix TCP/IP socket is 1234, while the AR488Lan is 23.
I edited the firmware of the AR488Lan and recompiled it to host the socket on 1234, and it works now with all my devices simultaneously.

So it would be great, if you could change the port for AR488Lan to 23 in a future release.

Thank you!
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3357 on: February 10, 2024, 11:58:47 am »
I found the problem.
The port of the prologix TCP/IP socket is 1234, while the AR488Lan is 23.
I edited the firmware of the AR488Lan and recompiled it to host the socket on 1234, and it works now with all my devices simultaneously.

So it would be great, if you could change the port for AR488Lan to 23 in a future release.

I will look at it.
Note: You can add port after the IP number like this: 1.2.3.4:23
 

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3358 on: February 11, 2024, 11:34:44 am »
Thanks, but with with the port in the ip field its sufficient for me.

It there any progress in this matter?


thanks for the fast reply.
Does DMM2 support TCP communication?
Because when i change the driver to DMM2 i lose all debug information.
The only thing written in the debug window is:
Code: [Select]
Starting
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3

Thats why i used AsciiBlock in the first place.

DMM2 do not support socket, but I will look at adding it.

In the meantime you can reprogram your micro for serial interface and work on the definition.

With the test version you uploaded, the output is different from the version from november, but its still not working.

Code: [Select]
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3
Exception in thread "Scan ports" java.lang.ClassCastException: dk.hkj.comm.SocketInterface cannot be cast to dk.hkj.comm.SerialInterface
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2.getCommInterface(DeviceDMM2.java:288)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$DeviceThread.<init>(InterfaceThreads.java:1432)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$ScanPorts.addDevicesSocket(InterfaceThreads.java:671)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$ScanPorts.run(InterfaceThreads.java:806)

Its not urgent, but if this works, i can use my multimeter wirelessly as a data logger on projets across the lab. That would be awesome.
I use com0com for the connection in the meantime, but it would be nice to have it working directly in TestController.

I also attached the schematic, sourcecode and 3D printable case files i used for the adapter.
 

Offline jmurray

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: au
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3359 on: February 12, 2024, 12:05:03 am »
Hi HKJ,

I noticed there's an :update: line missing from the Itech IT85xx definition file for the constant resistance mode. I've added it in to the attached file.

 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3360 on: February 12, 2024, 12:55:20 pm »
It there any progress in this matter?
With the test version you uploaded, the output is different from the version from november, but its still not working.

Try download TC again

I also attached the schematic, sourcecode and 3D printable case files i used for the adapter.

If you have a picture or two of the finished adapter and how it fits on the meter, I may add it to the project page.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3361 on: February 12, 2024, 12:57:52 pm »
I noticed there's an :update: line missing from the Itech IT85xx definition file for the constant resistance mode. I've added it in to the attached file.

Thanks, I will include it.
 

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3362 on: February 14, 2024, 06:14:17 am »


Try download TC again


If you have a picture or two of the finished adapter and how it fits on the meter, I may add it to the project page.

Hello HKJ,

unfortunately the error still persists. I also tried to remove the config and set it up again.
I attachtched some pictures from the adapter for the VC870.
It should also work with other Voltcraft and Uni-T DMMs.
I assume they have the same geometry just other protocols.

« Last Edit: February 14, 2024, 08:49:04 am by Gulftown »
 

Offline samuil

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ua
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3363 on: February 14, 2024, 12:52:39 pm »
That is, except for one detail. The ON button does not yet work on the DL24M. The load must be turned on manually with the button on the load display. I can't solve that yet.
Please incorporate these changes into your program and I hope this helps someone. I am very satisfied with your TC so far.

This line controls on:

#scpiCmd on tx 1 (value) *dd

Maybe you have to get rid of the *dd?

if that doesn't work you can try:
#scpiCmd on tx 1 (value?0xffffff:0)
To turn on the load DL24M command line:
on 256
via script:
=setOn(load,256);
 

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3364 on: February 14, 2024, 06:29:05 pm »
So i tested the  VC870 with the old version from the normal download menu from you webite.
While using the definition:

Code: [Select]
#idString Voltcraft, VC870,
#name Voltcraft VC870
#handle VC870
#driver DMM2
#port comfixedbaud 23
#baudrate 9600
#subDriver Definition
...

With a local COM Port (comfixedbaud) i get the correct values from the meter:
Code: [Select]
;; COM2: Rx: 30 30 30 30 31 39 36 32 30 30 30 30 30 30 32 30 30 30 35 30 30 0D 0A
;; VC870: Tx <VALUE?>
;; VC870: Rx <0.1962>
;; VC870: Rx as numbers <0.1962>

When using socket i just get:
Code: [Select]
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3
When i use the test version from your link i get:

Using COM Port:

Code: [Select]
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3
Exception in thread "Scan ports" java.lang.ClassCastException: dk.hkj.comm.SerialPacketInterface cannot be cast to dk.hkj.comm.SocketInterface
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface.<init>(DeviceDMM2.java:33)
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2.getCommInterface(DeviceDMM2.java:317)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$DeviceThread.<init>(InterfaceThreads.java:1432)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$ScanPorts.addDevicesSerial(InterfaceThreads.java:659)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$ScanPorts.run(InterfaceThreads.java:792)

Using socket:
Code: [Select]
Starting
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3
;; Start thread for: 192.168.2.43 - Voltcraft VC870
java.lang.ClassCastException: dk.hkj.comm.SocketPacketInterface cannot be cast to dk.hkj.comm.SerialPacketInterface
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface.readFromSerialPort(DeviceDMM2.java:71)
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface$1.run(DeviceDMM2.java:46)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
;; Found Voltcraft VC870 on 192.168.2.43
java.lang.ClassCastException: dk.hkj.comm.SocketPacketInterface cannot be cast to dk.hkj.comm.SerialPacketInterface
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface.readFromSerialPort(DeviceDMM2.java:71)
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface$1.run(DeviceDMM2.java:46)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
;; VC870: Tx <VALUE?>
;; VC870: Rx <0.0>
;; VC870: Rx as numbers <0.0>
java.lang.ClassCastException: dk.hkj.comm.SocketPacketInterface cannot be cast to dk.hkj.comm.SerialPacketInterface
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface.readFromSerialPort(DeviceDMM2.java:71)
        at dk.hkj.devices.DeviceDMM2$DriverInterface$1.run(DeviceDMM2.java:46)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
...
...
and no data


So its not working at all with the version from this link "http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar"
 

Offline linux-works

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2000
  • Country: us
    • netstuff
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3365 on: February 14, 2024, 06:45:30 pm »
too funny - I just got done designing my own opto plugin (open-scad) for the ut61e (and similar) series.

 
The following users thanked this post: Mortymore

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3366 on: February 15, 2024, 04:43:23 pm »
So i tested the  VC870 with the old version from the normal download menu from you webite.

So its not working at all with the version from this link "http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar"

Try downloading again, I hope I have fixed the typecasts.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3367 on: February 15, 2024, 04:44:49 pm »
too funny - I just got done designing my own opto plugin (open-scad) for the ut61e (and similar) series.

If you get it to something that can be used with TC, I will be happy to publish it on my project page.
 

Offline linux-works

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2000
  • Country: us
    • netstuff
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3368 on: February 15, 2024, 04:53:27 pm »
tc = tinkercad (?)

I think openscad only exports its own source and stl as an object.  no step.  it seems to bug people.

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3369 on: February 15, 2024, 04:57:57 pm »
tc = tinkercad (?)

I think openscad only exports its own source and stl as an object.  no step.  it seems to bug people.

This thread is about TestController, i.e. TC

It is not only the box, but electronic too, i.e. a way to make your own interface for UNI-T

If you check my project page you will see it already some project of that type: https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerUserProjects1%20UK.html but none of the include a box (One with box will be added soon, see above).
 

Offline linux-works

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2000
  • Country: us
    • netstuff
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3370 on: February 15, 2024, 06:51:29 pm »
ok, tc could have meant anything, so thanks for clearing that up for me.

a lot of msgs to catch up with, so still reading.

I developed my own framework and so it will probably be quite different in approach and implementation and even goals.  some may overlap, naturally.

so yet another independent toolsuite being designed and built.  oh well. 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3371 on: February 16, 2024, 05:19:52 pm »
I developed my own framework and so it will probably be quite different in approach and implementation and even goals.  some may overlap, naturally.

so yet another independent toolsuite being designed and built.  oh well.

That does not prevent your adapter from working with TC, as long as it present the data on a serial port or socket and you do not modify the data in your adapter.

There are many different toolsuites for test equipment and there are many differences. TC is supposed to be easy to use, with broad support for different brands and not designed for high speed data acquisition (100Hz is about maximum, but often a few Hz is more realistic, due to the devices). I have put a lot of tools into TC that is useful with the slow sampling.
 

Offline Gulftown

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3372 on: February 19, 2024, 01:41:24 pm »
So i tested the  VC870 with the old version from the normal download menu from you webite.

So its not working at all with the version from this link "http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar"

Try downloading again, I hope I have fixed the typecasts.

Unfortunatly i still get exactly the same error as soon as the socket is connected.
 

Offline Lajt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: hr
    • Lajtronix
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3373 on: February 21, 2024, 10:40:01 pm »
Hello everyone.

Recently, I acquired a Hioki DM7275 Precision DC Voltmeter and made a DIY temperature probe for it.
(https://lajtronix.eu/2024/02/21/diy-hioki-dm7275-76-temp-probe-z2001/)
Wanted to use TC for logging but DM7275 doesn't seem to be supported so I made a device file (attached).

Device file is as simple as it gets. Connection is only through LAN (since I have a basic model).
It will recognize DM7275 & DM7276 in all configurations.

DM7275-01
DM7275-02 Built-in GP-IB
DM7275-03 Built-in RS-232C

DM7276-01
DM7276-02 Built-in GP-IB
DM7276-03 Built-in RS-232C

I wanted to do a dual mode (Volts & Volts+Temp), and full control options but it was too complicated considering my very limited free time.
Nonetheless with correct IP and default port (23) it will connect and read the data.

HKJ, thank you for this great piece of software.

Regards,
Lajt
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2975
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3374 on: February 25, 2024, 12:23:52 pm »
Unfortunatly i still get exactly the same error as soon as the socket is connected.

I doubt it was the exact same error, but I have fixed a bit more.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf