Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 63266 times)

gby and 8 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Program that can log from many multimeters.
« on: March 25, 2020, 10:48:51 am »
I have been working on a program that can log from multimeters, electronic loads, power supplies and some other stuff.

It is still an alpha version, but it works fairly well. I am interested in comments, ideas and error reports.





Read more about it and download it from here: http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerIntro%20UK.html

If anybody have ideas about how to log from USB/HID connected meters, please tell. I have played with a Brymen, but it did not work (I did never get any data). Maybe there is more than one error in their documentation.



My current list of supported devices as of V1.26 are (not all are tested):
Agilent 34401A, Agilent U1252B, Agilent U1272A, Ametek XG 600-1.4, Ametek XG 80-10.5, Amrel PLA800-60-300, B&K Precision BK8500, B&K Precision BK8502, B&K Precision BK8510, B&K Precision BK8512, B&K Precision BK8514, B&K Precision BK8518, B&K Precision BK8520, B&K Precision BK8522, B&K Precision BK8524, B&K Precision BK8526, Brymen BM195, Brymen BM197, Brymen BM251s, Brymen BM252s, Brymen BM255s, Brymen BM257s, Brymen BM357s, Brymen BM521s, Brymen BM525s, Brymen BM821s, Brymen BM822s, Brymen BM827s, Brymen BM829s, Brymen BM867s, Brymen BM869s, CEM DT-1309, DigiTek DT-9602R+, EZA EZ-735, East Tester ET3240, Elma BM525s, Elma BM821s, Elma BM829s, Elma BM869s, FeelElec FY6600-20M, FeelElec FY6600-30M, FeelElec FY6600-50M, FeelElec FY6600-60M, FeelElec FY6800-20M, FeelElec FY6800-30M, FeelElec FY6800-50M, FeelElec FY6800-60M, FeelElec FY6900-20M, FeelElec FY6900-30M, FeelElec FY6900-50M, FeelElec FY6900-60M, Fluke 187, Fluke 189, Fluke 287, Fluke 289, Fluke 87, Fluke 8846A, Fluke 89, GWInstek GPP-4323, GWInstek PSM-2010, Gossen M5032, Greenlee DM-810A, Greenlee DM-820A, Greenlee DM-830A, Greenlee DM-860A, Greenlee DML-430A, HKJ Discharger, HKJ SS-Relay, HKJ ThermoAndMore, HKJ ThermoSensor, Hewlett-Packard 34401A, Itech IT8511+, Itech IT8511A+, Itech IT8511B+, Itech IT8512+, Itech IT8512A+, Itech IT8512B+, Itech IT8512C+, Itech IT8512H+, Itech IT8513C+, Itech IT8514B+, Itech IT8514C+, Itech IT8516C+, Keithley 2000, Keithley 2280S-32-6, Keithley DMM6500, Keithley DMM7510, Keysight 34461A, Keysight 34465A, Keysight 34470A, Keysight U1231A, Keysight U1232A, Keysight U1233A, Keysight U1251A, Keysight U1252A, Keysight U1252B, Keysight U1253A, Keysight U1271A, Keysight U1272A, Keysight U1273A, Keysight U1273AX, Keysight U1281A, Keysight U1282A, Keysight U1461A, Kollmorgen AKD2G Servo, Korad KA3003P, Korad KA3005P, Korad KA3010P, Korad KA6002P, Korad KA6003P, Korad KA6005P, Korad KD3005P, Korad KD6005P, Korad KEL102, Korad KEL103, Kunkin KP184, Mastech MS8040, Mastech MS8218, Maynuo M9710, Maynuo M9711, Maynuo M9712, Maynuo M9712B, Maynuo M9712B30, Maynuo M9712C, Maynuo M9713, Maynuo M9713B, Maynuo M9714, Maynuo M9714B, Maynuo M9715, Maynuo M9715B, Maynuo M9716, Maynuo M9716B, Maynuo M9716E, Maynuo M9716L, Maynuo M9716SL, Maynuo M9716SL800, Maynuo M9717, Maynuo M9717B, Maynuo M9717C, Maynuo M9717D, Maynuo M9718, Maynuo M9718B, Maynuo M9718D, Maynuo M9718E, Maynuo M9718F, Maynuo M9718F-500, Maynuo M97834, Maynuo M9811, Maynuo M9812, Maynuo M9812B, Maynuo M9815F-300, Maynuo M9818B, Maynuo M9834B, Maynuo M9834H, Maynuo M9835, Maynuo M9835B, Maynuo M9835C, Maynuo M9836, Maynuo M9836B, Maynuo M9836B-720, Maynuo M9836C, Maynuo M9836E, Maynuo M9836F, Maynuo M9836H, Maynuo M9837, Maynuo M9837B, Maynuo M9838, Maynuo M9838B, Maynuo M9839, Maynuo M9839B, Maynuo M9840, Maynuo M9840B, Maynuo M9912D, Owon ODP3033, Owon ODP3063, Owon ODP6033, Peaktech 2025, ProsKit MT-1820, Protek 506, R&S HMC8043, R&S HMO1022, Riden RD6006, Riden RD6012, Rigol DM3058, Rigol DM3058E, Rigol DM3068, Rigol DP811A, Siglent SDG1032X, Siglent SDG1062X, Siglent SDG2042X, Siglent SDG2082X, Siglent SDG2122X, Siglent SDG6022X, Siglent SDG6032X, Siglent SDG6052X, Siglent SDM3045X, Siglent SDM3055, Siglent SDM3065X, Siglent SDS1052A, Siglent SDS1052DL+, Siglent SDS1072A, Siglent SDS1072CFL, Siglent SDS1072X-E, Siglent SDS1074CFL, Siglent SDS1074X-E, Siglent SDS1102A, Siglent SDS1102CFL, Siglent SDS1102CML+, Siglent SDS1102X, Siglent SDS1102X+, Siglent SDS1102X-C, Siglent SDS1102X-E, Siglent SDS1104CFL, Siglent SDS1104X-C, Siglent SDS1104X-E, Siglent SDS1122E+, Siglent SDS1152A, Siglent SDS1152CML+, Siglent SDS1202CFL, Siglent SDS1202F+, Siglent SDS1202X, Siglent SDS1202X+, Siglent SDS1202X-C, Siglent SDS1202X-E, Siglent SDS1204CFL, Siglent SDS1204X-C, Siglent SDS1204X-E, Siglent SDS1302CFL, Siglent SDS1304CFL, Siglent SDS2072, Siglent SDS2072X, Siglent SDS2074, Siglent SDS2074X, Siglent SDS2102, Siglent SDS2102X, Siglent SDS2102X-E, Siglent SDS2104, Siglent SDS2104X, Siglent SDS2202, Siglent SDS2202X, Siglent SDS2202X-E, Siglent SDS2204, Siglent SDS2204X, Siglent SDS2302, Siglent SDS2302X, Siglent SDS2304, Siglent SDS2304X, Siglent SDS2352X-E, Soundcard input, Soundcard output, SparkFun 70C, TTI QL355P, TTi CPX400DP, TTi QL355P, TTi QPX1200SP, Tektronix DPO3012 TekScope, Tektronix DPO3014 TekScope, Tektronix DPO3032 TekScope, Tektronix DPO3034 TekScope, Tektronix DPO3052 TekScope, Tektronix DPO3054 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3012 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3014 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3022 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3024 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3032 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3034 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3052 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3054 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3102 TekScope, Tektronix MDO3104 TekScope, Tektronix MSO3012 TekScope, Tektronix MSO3014 TekScope, Tektronix MSO3032 TekScope, Tektronix MSO3034 TekScope, Tektronix MSO3054 TekScope, Tektronix TDS3012C TekScope, Tektronix TDS3014C TekScope, Tektronix TDS3032C TekScope, Tektronix TDS3034C TekScope, Tektronix TDS3052C TekScope, Tektronix TDS3054C TekScope, Tenma 72-2531, Tenma 72-2535, Tenma 72-2540, Tenma 72-2550, Tenma 72-7730, Tenma 72-7732, Tenma 72-9380A, UNI-T UT382, UNI-T UT60A, UNI-T UT60D, UNI-T UT61B, UNI-T UT61C, UNI-T UT61D, UNI-T UT61E, UNI-T UT71A, UNI-T UT71B, UNI-T UT71C, UNI-T UT71D, UNI-T UT71E, Vici VC8145, Victor 70C, Victor 86C, VirtualBatteryGenerator, VirtualLogGenerator, VirtualPatternGenerator, VirtualRampGenerator, VirtualSinusGenerator, VirtualSquareGenerator, VirtualUserGenerator, Voltcraft VC-920, Voltcraft VC-940 COM, Voltcraft VC-960, Voltcraft VC850


Oscilloscopes are only supported as voltmeters.

Offline maukka

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: fi
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2020, 05:04:50 pm »
I already commented on BLF, but 34401A support would be appreciated as well!
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2020, 05:11:05 pm »
I already commented on BLF, but 34401A support would be appreciated as well!

A have answered on BLF.
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2906
  • Country: ca
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2020, 05:13:40 pm »
+1 for 34401a

uh  what BLF ??  where ?
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2020, 05:23:15 pm »
Many SCPI devices can fairly easy be added to the software by anybody, but I have not written the documentation for it yet.
It is, of course, possible to check my definitions and use them as basis for a new definition.
What I suggested on BLF was to use the 34465A definition as basis.

If somebody makes some good definitions for equipment, please mail it to me and I will include it with the software. There is a trick with the definitions to make many similar ones, I use it with the electronic loads and some multimeters (In reality I only have two Keysight multimeter definitions, all my other Keysight multimeters used on or the other of these two protocols).

The BLF is budgetlightforum and my posting is here: http://budgetlightforum.com/node/72218
 

Offline PKTKS

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 632
  • Country: br
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2020, 05:25:11 pm »
I have been working on a program that can log from multimeters, electronic loads, power supplies and some other stuff.

It is still an alpha version, but it works fairly well. I am interested in comments, ideas and error reports.
(..)

If you want to go serious on that check sigrok code base

95% of the grunt work is done like error handling
and protocol handling including multiple paths and sessions.
https://sigrok.org/wiki/Supported_hardware

Not so hard to do but hard to jump in easily.

After the learning curve things are just on other level
of functionality (i've been there as well )

Paul
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2020, 05:51:12 pm »
If you want to go serious on that check sigrok code base

95% of the grunt work is done like error handling
and protocol handling including multiple paths and sessions.
https://sigrok.org/wiki/Supported_hardware

Not so hard to do but hard to jump in easily.

After the learning curve things are just on other level
of functionality (i've been there as well )

I am not that impressed with the amount of equipment they support and they uses the wrong language.
What I need is logging from all my equipment and a easy way to switch between different brands of equipment. With the current software I have been logging from 10 devices simultaneous to the same table and chart with 1 seconds intervals.



 
The following users thanked this post: Rob2

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2020, 06:26:04 pm »
Maybe it is a bit hard to start with the program, the way to get devices(multimeters) into the program is rather discrete.

At the bottom of the "Load devices" page, use this:



To select and added devices.


I have added a popup on the "Load devices" page that says to use combox and add button, it will only show it the page is empty.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2020, 06:52:08 pm by HKJ »
 

Offline PKTKS

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 632
  • Country: br
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2020, 10:27:42 am »
I am not that impressed with the amount of equipment they support and they uses the wrong language.
What I need is logging from all my equipment and a easy way to switch between different brands of equipment. With the current software I have been logging from 10 devices simultaneous to the same table and chart with 1 seconds intervals.

Not sure if helps but the amount of hardware is bounded
just by the proper interface with the API.

The API itself is *quite good*.. 

While doing some checks against my own widget toolkit
it took me about 5 to 7 days to craft those simple tools...

A fully functional DMM applet
and  a fully function  SCOPE / FUNC.gen with channel modulators...

ALL GTK BASED  compiled against libsigrok.

Hard to start on the API but once managed... it is good

These ARE JUST MY TOYS... not serious things just tests.

minor shots below.

Paul
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2020, 01:40:26 pm »
I have written a short description on how to add a SCPI multimeter:

http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerConfigDMM%20UK.html

 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp, Marco1971

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2020, 10:49:55 am »
A description on how to use simple scripting: https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerScriptingExample%20UK.html

I have also added the Siglent SDM3045X bench multimeter.
 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp, Marco1971, Simon_RL

Offline Svgeesus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2020, 05:55:09 am »
Hi, Interesting software.

> Type in serial port or IP address and for some devices a baudrate.

Does that include USB serial connections? In other words can I connect over USB? Instrument is a Keysight 34465A.

I'm asking before I go ahead and install Java on this machine, which doesn't have it. I also don't have ethernet, so prefer to use USB if possible.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2020, 06:27:23 am »
If the USB interface creates a virtual serial port it will work. I have only used 34465A with a socket connection and you cannot select serial port for it, but if you checkmark the "Scan serial port" it might work. (The scanning function will check against all devices ignoring the specified connection type).
 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp

Offline artag

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 546
  • Country: gb
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2020, 02:16:39 pm »
+1 for 34401a

Sigrok supports 34401a to some extent
 

Offline maukka

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: fi
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2020, 07:02:00 am »
Thanks for all the work!

I've been logging for 24 hours straight and this thing is rock solid. Haven't gotten the delay commands to work yet so switching the operating mode isn't happening for me.

 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 502
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2020, 07:56:39 am »
Just testing a bit.
"Voltcraft VC-940" should read "Voltcraft VC-940 COM"
since Voltcraft VC-940 USB HID is not supported. Helps to avoid confusion as to the two different interfaces.

Sometimes a second instance of the program needs to be started to fill "Search socket" with the equipment list.

dB mode of the 34465A is not supported (yet).
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 08:04:16 am by Messtechniker »
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Voltcraft VC 940 M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers
 

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1961
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2020, 08:38:05 am »
I attempted to load a CSV from my own logging program just to check yours out and for some reason it truncates all readings to 2 digits. Even after setting it to 8 digits for those columns it doesn't update even when reloading the same CSV again. I'm assuming it refuses to plot those numbers since they look the same once loaded due to the truncated decimal digits.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 08:41:53 am by maginnovision »
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2020, 08:48:55 am »
Just testing a bit.
"Voltcraft VC-940" should read "Voltcraft VC-940 COM"
since Voltcraft VC-940 USB HID is not supported. Helps to avoid confusion as to the two different interfaces.

That might be a good idea.

Sometimes a second instance of the program needs to be started to fill "Search socket" with the equipment list.

Strange, it only loads a directory, I wonder hot it can fail.

dB mode of the 34465A is not supported (yet).

It is not a native measurement mode, but a calculation (I may look at it at some point).
It is always possible to add dB or dBm to any measurement by using the Math functions. It has log() for 10 based logarithmic and ln() for e based logarithmic.

 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 366
  • Country: by
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2020, 08:59:41 am »
I launched the program for DMM7510. I managed to connect. But I did not understand what I need to click next to get some kind of graph or where to find the range control, etc.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2020, 09:02:05 am »
I attempted to load a CSV from my own logging program just to check yours out and for some reason it truncates all readings to 2 digits. Even after setting it to 8 digits for those columns it doesn't update even when reloading the same CSV again. I'm assuming it refuses to plot those numbers since they look the same once loaded due to the truncated decimal digits.

The decimal settings are only for scales on the charts. Generally it will match column names to its internal list of devices and if there is a match it will use the decimal settings for that column, when not it uses 2 decimals.

Internally it will always use the full resolution (All storing and calculations are done with double precision).

Maybe I need to add a configuration for decimals on unknown columns.

The problem with plotting the columns are due to the spaces in the column names. I will do something about it.


 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2020, 09:11:16 am »
I launched the program for DMM7510. I managed to connect. But I did not understand what I need to click next to get some kind of graph or where to find the range control, etc.

For bench DMM's you only have a mode button that can select between modes (VDC/VAC/ADC/etc), it do not do more detailed settings, there you have to type SCPI commands (They can be assigned to hotkeys).
Before you can do anything with a device it must be selected. When starting the program it will automatically select one device, but when using "Reload" it will not. To select a device right click left of the command line, near the colon.

To get data for charts you have to do some logging, press the "log" button and select a time interval, after a few seconds the chart, histogram and range pages will be available.
Without logging you can only see data from the meters on the "Current values" page.

 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 366
  • Country: by
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2020, 09:13:13 am »
The choice of ranges and modes was not available. Does this mean that I did not connect correctly?
 

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1961
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2020, 09:14:43 am »
Got it, replaced the space with an underscore(odd limitation, usually for CSV's I pull the entire string between delimiters). Still can't use the plotting for readings however. When I range limit to the min/max of real readings I get no plot just the scale, and obviously when I let it auto it's just a straight line at the top of the graph. Alternatively I'm not sure auto min. range and auto bottom step are meant to do. I feel the results I'm getting are a bit random.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2020, 09:15:41 am »
The choice of ranges and modes was not available. Does this mean that I did not connect correctly?

It list all connected devices in the bottom window, it is is there it is connected.
 
The following users thanked this post: fragile

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1527
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2020, 12:32:45 pm »
Got it, replaced the space with an underscore(odd limitation, usually for CSV's I pull the entire string between delimiters).

This is because the column names are variable names when you do math. I have modified it to accept spaces and then automatic replace them with _ when creating variables (New version will be uploaded later today).

Still can't use the plotting for readings however. When I range limit to the min/max of real readings I get no plot just the scale, and obviously when I let it auto it's just a straight line at the top of the graph. Alternatively I'm not sure auto min. range and auto bottom step are meant to do. I feel the results I'm getting are a bit random.

When Auto is checked Minimum/Maximum is ignored.
These 3 setting is only active when auto is checked:
Auto includes zero means that auto scales will include a 0 value, this will block for seeing small changes in a large value.
Auto min. range defines the minium span that can be used on a chart (in auto), this is used to avoid amplifying noise to fill a full chart height.
Auto bottom step is the step size for the bottom of the scale (0 is legal), this can be used to make scales align.

 
The following users thanked this post: maginnovision


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf