Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 471186 times)

twwwt, Pukker and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #200 on: April 19, 2020, 07:26:45 pm »
How can I get Setup to update when the window is open and you change modes? I tried the below code but it does not work

Oops, you cannot.

Try this version: http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar
and use a :updatemodechange: tag in the info part
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 07:29:36 pm by HKJ »
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #201 on: April 19, 2020, 08:23:24 pm »
...If something is strange, try starting in debug mode, it may give an explanation on what is going on...

Thanks for the information.
I will do that if an error occurs again.

I see the SDG2122X in the device list.
If there is time for it, it would be nice if I could also use this for my SDG1062X.  :-/O
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #202 on: April 19, 2020, 08:32:13 pm »
HKJ,

I just tried :updatemodechange: and it does not work, am I using it correctly?

Code: [Select]
#cmdSetup info Mode Mode
:read: FUNC?
:readmath: unQuote(value)
:updatemodechange:

How can I get Setup to update when the window is open and you change modes? I tried the below code but it does not work

Oops, you cannot.

Try this version: http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar
and use a :updatemodechange: tag in the info part

 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #203 on: April 19, 2020, 08:43:24 pm »
I see the SDG2122X in the device list.
If there is time for it, it would be nice if I could also use this for my SDG1062X.  :-/O

I have the 2122, not the 1062.
What you can do is to make a copy of the 2122 definition file and change 2122 to 1062 in the file and check if anything works.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #204 on: April 19, 2020, 08:50:01 pm »
I just tried :updatemodechange: and it does not work, am I using it correctly?

I was a bit too fast, you can try again now.
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #205 on: April 19, 2020, 09:11:08 pm »
HKJ,

I just redownloaded and tested but still no luck, can you confirm if I am using :updatemodechange: correctly.

Code: [Select]
#cmdSetup info Mode Mode
:read: FUNC?
:readmath: unQuote(value)
:updatemodechange:

Thanks
Mike

I just tried :updatemodechange: and it does not work, am I using it correctly?

I was a bit too fast, you can try again now.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #206 on: April 19, 2020, 09:17:03 pm »
Made.
It seems that it works with the SDG1062X.  :)
Limits would have to be changed (e.g. sine from max. 120 MHz to max. 60 MHz for SDG1062X).

What strikes me is that the output ON / Off on channel 2 does not respond (it works on channel 1).
If I activate Output Channel 2 manually on the device, the software even shows me that, just switch from the software, because it does not respond.

And at volt it only allows pp setting, which is missing for rms.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #207 on: April 19, 2020, 09:23:48 pm »
Made.
It seems that it works with the SDG1062X.  :)
Limits would have to be changed (e.g. sine from max. 120 MHz to max. 60 MHz for SDG1062X).

What strikes me is that the output ON / Off on channel 2 does not respond (it works on channel 1).
If I activate Output Channel 2 manually on the device, the software even shows me that, just switch from the software, because it does not respond.

And at volt it only allows pp setting, which is missing for rms.
Also a dB level when in 50 Ohm load output settings.  ;)

Great work everyone.  :clap:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #208 on: April 19, 2020, 09:24:17 pm »
I just redownloaded and tested but still no luck, can you confirm if I am using :updatemodechange: correctly.

You code looks correct, I will have to make a test definition and see what goes wrong, but that will first be tomorrow.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #209 on: April 19, 2020, 09:31:19 pm »
Made.
It seems that it works with the SDG1062X.  :)
Limits would have to be changed (e.g. sine from max. 120 MHz to max. 60 MHz for SDG1062X).

What strikes me is that the output ON / Off on channel 2 does not respond (it works on channel 1).
If I activate Output Channel 2 manually on the device, the software even shows me that, just switch from the software, because it does not respond.

And at volt it only allows pp setting, which is missing for rms.

I have a bug. The button controls output 1 not 2, below is the correct code:

#cmdSetup buttons State Output_2
:write: c2:outp


I was a bit lazy with the definition of the SDG and left out a lot of stuff the generator can do.





 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #210 on: April 19, 2020, 09:32:50 pm »
HKJ,

Thanks for looking into.

I just redownloaded and tested but still no luck, can you confirm if I am using :updatemodechange: correctly.

You code looks correct, I will have to make a test definition and see what goes wrong, but that will first be tomorrow.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #211 on: April 19, 2020, 09:32:54 pm »
I didn't want to complain about it. Just as information to change these things when there is time.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #212 on: April 19, 2020, 09:39:37 pm »
...below is the correct code:

#cmdSetup buttons State Output_2
:write: c2:outp
...

Ok it works.  :-+
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Online Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 773
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #213 on: April 19, 2020, 10:13:43 pm »
Next definition file (Ver 0.5) for the R&S HMC 8043 power supply. This time with extended popup functions.  Thanks to HKJ.

Next I will try to implement voltage and current tracking between channels 1 and 2. This SCPI stuff seems to be creeping up on me :scared:
And there is a Hameg HMO1022 waiting too.

Time to stop frying three resistors and toddle off to bed now.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 10:16:16 pm by Messtechniker »
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #214 on: April 19, 2020, 10:23:18 pm »
Frequency limits for SDG1062X changed.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #215 on: April 20, 2020, 10:03:23 am »
V0.36 is up
It has a working :updatemodechange:
The HMC8043 is included (Thanks to Messtechniker)

And a new driver is included, it is designed to handle devices that returns a single ascii line with a value and optional a mode.
It is documented here: http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerConfigDevice2%20UK.html
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 10:10:51 am by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut, MikeLud

Offline tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #216 on: April 20, 2020, 10:05:17 am »
It is documented here: file:///D:/Devlop/lygte-info/project/TestControllerConfigDevice2%20UK.html

Can't see the file, I think it's only on your local drive?
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #217 on: April 20, 2020, 10:11:23 am »
Oops, link is corrected.
 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut

Offline tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #218 on: April 20, 2020, 10:12:05 am »
Oops, link is corrected.

Thank you  :-+

BTW. Been looking through all the projects on your website, very interesting and impressive  :D
 

Online Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 773
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #219 on: April 20, 2020, 12:28:33 pm »
What's happened between version 032 and 036?

The HMC 8043 definition file of ver. 036 loads
and the popups operate but nothing shows up under "current values".
Entering INST OUT1;MEAS:Curr?;:INST OUT1;MEAS:VOLT?;:INST OUT1;MEAS:POW? in the command line shows the correct values
in the command line box.

Using the HMC 8043 definition file of ver. 036 with
ver. 032 works perfectly. So what's up?

The Keysight 34465A definition file works fully in both versions.
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #220 on: April 20, 2020, 01:07:31 pm »
What's happened between version 032 and 036?

?
Try start in debug and select current value, maybe that can give me a hint.
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #221 on: April 20, 2020, 01:16:32 pm »
HKJ,

Just tried the new version and :updatemodechange: is working, thanks for add it. I am almost done with the advanced SDM3065X device file. Once the new device file is finish you will have almost 100% remote control of the DMM. After I finish the SDM3065X device file I will work on the other two Siglent DMM files.







V0.36 is up
It has a working :updatemodechange:
The HMC8043 is included (Thanks to Messtechniker)

And a new driver is included, it is designed to handle devices that returns a single ascii line with a value and optional a mode.
It is documented here: http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerConfigDevice2%20UK.html
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #222 on: April 20, 2020, 01:23:52 pm »
Messtechniker try this definition file: http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/R%26SHMC8043.txt
I change column selection a bit and because you had selectors in the #value lines, the columns was not selected.


MikeLud try remove "Mode" page selection after you #cmdSetup, then you will get the mode below all the pages.
 

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #223 on: April 20, 2020, 01:24:44 pm »
Greetings from Italy...after starting in debug mode with my Fluke 89IV connected trough COM1 port...

";; Start thread for: COM1 - Fluke xxx
;; COM1: Set params: 9600
;; COM1: Tx: <ID.> 49 44 0D
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; COM1: Tx: <ID.> 49 44 0D
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; Stopping thread for: COM1 - Fluke xxx

;; Use "Load devices" page for selecting devices to load. Most devices will only load if they are connected and ready.
"

Marco
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #224 on: April 20, 2020, 01:30:44 pm »
Greetings from Italy...after starting in debug mode with my Fluke 89IV connected trough COM1 port...

";; Start thread for: COM1 - Fluke xxx
;; COM1: Set params: 9600
;; COM1: Tx: <ID.> 49 44 0D
;; COM1: Rx: timeout


I have seen two protocols for Fluke meters, try selecting Fluke287 and do another debug run.

 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf