Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 58100 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #275 on: April 21, 2020, 11:49:05 pm »
...Attached is a new version of the Siglent SDM3065X device file. I decided to remove all of "tip" tags. I am going to start on updating the SDM3055 file...

I tested the 3065 file with a 3055 (I only renamed the relevant lines so that it doesn't complain), so I could see what it looked like.
Wow, you put a lot of effort into it.  :-+
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #276 on: April 22, 2020, 12:44:40 am »
klausES,

I just finished an untested device file for the SMD3055. Please test it and let me know if you find any issues.

 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #277 on: April 22, 2020, 01:20:35 am »
Test now only briefly (must sleep) rest tomorrow.  :)

I only noticed one mistake on the fast one.
At Temp there is an "Â" in the cell in front of the °C ?!?

On purpose ? Does it have a special meaning?

Line = #value Temperature °C D4 Temperature
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #278 on: April 22, 2020, 08:16:18 am »
V0.40 is up.

It includes some definition updates and a change to the "SingleValue" driver. I have modified the Protec506 definition to match it (It is included), but it needs some checking. The problems with the degree character was due to character sets issues, I uses a old style cp1252 format (Because my editor uses it as default), you used a more modern utf-8. TestController can handle utf-8 & utf-16 if it knows it, the file must have a BOM (May be an option in your editor). I have added a BOM to you definition.
The character set is only a problem with special characters, anything in the A-Z range and some symbols will always work (See here for a list: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASCII ).

I have not included the HMO1022 and the SDM3055
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 08:18:13 am by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut, Marco1971

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #279 on: April 22, 2020, 09:44:15 am »
With 040 I'm getting

Exception in thread "Thread-4" java.lang.Error: Unresolved compilation problem:
        The method readFileAsListAutoCharset(File) in the type FileUtil is not applicable for the arguments (File, String, boolean, boolean)

 when trying to get the list. Has to do with the changed char set. :palm:
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Voltcraft VC 940 M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers
 

Online masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 358
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #280 on: April 22, 2020, 09:53:20 am »
With 040 I'm getting

Exception in thread "Thread-4" java.lang.Error: Unresolved compilation problem:
        The method readFileAsListAutoCharset(File) in the type FileUtil is not applicable for the arguments (File, String, boolean, boolean)

 when trying to get the list. Has to do with the changed char set. :palm:
Same error
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #281 on: April 22, 2020, 09:53:31 am »
With 040 I'm getting

Exception in thread "Thread-4" java.lang.Error: Unresolved compilation problem:
        The method readFileAsListAutoCharset(File) in the type FileUtil is not applicable for the arguments (File, String, boolean, boolean)

 when trying to get the list. Has to do with the changed char set. :palm:

I forgot to include my updated library in the final build, it is included now, version number is the same.
 
The following users thanked this post: Messtechniker, masterx81, Marco1971

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #282 on: April 22, 2020, 11:11:02 am »
Many many thanks HKJ...

Marco
 

Online masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 358
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #283 on: April 22, 2020, 11:24:04 am »
Thanks! Perfect! Works ok on protek device. Noticed that have already implemented the conversion from text strings to values, perfect!
Continuity was not working, fixed on the attached file.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #284 on: April 22, 2020, 01:51:42 pm »
Test now only briefly (must sleep) rest tomorrow.  :)

I only noticed one mistake on the fast one.
At Temp there is an "Â" in the cell in front of the °C ?!?

On purpose ? Does it have a special meaning?

Line = #value Temperature °C D4 Temperature

klausES ,

The attached should fix the °C.

[attach=1]
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #285 on: April 22, 2020, 01:55:22 pm »
HKJ,

I was using windows notepad to edit the file I changed to notepad++ and added a BOM

V0.40 is up.

It includes some definition updates and a change to the "SingleValue" driver. I have modified the Protec506 definition to match it (It is included), but it needs some checking. The problems with the degree character was due to character sets issues, I uses a old style cp1252 format (Because my editor uses it as default), you used a more modern utf-8. TestController can handle utf-8 & utf-16 if it knows it, the file must have a BOM (May be an option in your editor). I have added a BOM to you definition.
The character set is only a problem with special characters, anything in the A-Z range and some symbols will always work (See here for a list: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASCII ).

I have not included the HMO1022 and the SDM3055
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #286 on: April 22, 2020, 02:06:10 pm »
I was using windows notepad to edit the file I changed to notepad++ and added a BOM

You say when I can update it.
Can there be problems with BOM in some of you other meter definitions?
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #287 on: April 22, 2020, 02:26:57 pm »
HKJ,

The SDM3065X had the same issue, attached is the corrected file

[attach=1]

I was using windows notepad to edit the file I changed to notepad++ and added a BOM

You say when I can update it.
Can there be problems with BOM in some of you other meter definitions?
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #288 on: April 22, 2020, 06:06:48 pm »
...The attached should fix...

Don't hit, I took the  out for test (secretly for me) this morning without asking you.  ;)

Thanks for the new complete file.  :)
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #289 on: April 22, 2020, 08:22:30 pm »
klausES,

Are you having any issues with the file? Once you confirm it is working HKJ will add the file to the next update.

...The attached should fix...

Don't hit, I took the  out for test (secretly for me) this morning without asking you.  ;)

Thanks for the new complete file.  :)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 08:33:46 pm by MikeLud »
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #290 on: April 22, 2020, 09:40:50 pm »
Could just start testing.
I will call back soon.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #291 on: April 22, 2020, 09:55:34 pm »
HKJ,

It looks like Brymen and Fluke DDMs are having the same issues with BOMs.

[attachimg=1]

I was using windows notepad to edit the file I changed to notepad++ and added a BOM

You say when I can update it.
Can there be problems with BOM in some of you other meter definitions?
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 09:57:24 pm by MikeLud »
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #292 on: April 22, 2020, 10:28:05 pm »
At first thought there was a problem.

In the setup window:
If you go from autorange to manual range in DC, AC Voltage such as DC, AC current, you will not get back to autorange (radio button remains with manual).

But it works when you are in this setup and at the same time (via mode popup) in the same measurement mode of the setup.
So no mistake, all well.

A luxury problem:
Would it be possible to choose not only beeper on / off but also the three volume levels in diode and continuity ?  :D

Otherwise I could not find anything so far that would not work.  :-+
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #293 on: April 22, 2020, 11:04:53 pm »
HKJ,
would it be possible that the main window is not centered in the middle of the desktop when the program is started,
but used the last used position saved on the desktop again ?
Even worse ... would this save the last position also for the popups ?

I'd rather take cover now...  :box:
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #294 on: April 23, 2020, 01:10:10 am »
klausES,

I tried looking for the SCPI commands for the three volume levels in diode and continuity but had no luck. The commands are not in Siglent's documents, I also tried guessing with no luck

A luxury problem:
Would it be possible to choose not only beeper on / off but also the three volume levels in diode and continuity ?  :D

Otherwise I could not find anything so far that would not work.  :-+
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #295 on: April 23, 2020, 02:31:49 am »
HKJ,

How hard is it to add a device file for the Riden RD6006? Below is a link I found with the protocol details

https://github.com/msillano/RD6006-Super-power-supply
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #296 on: April 23, 2020, 04:49:25 am »
It looks like Brymen and Fluke DDMs are having the same issues with BOMs.

It is not exactly the same problem, but I will look at it.
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #297 on: April 23, 2020, 04:52:39 am »
HKJ,
would it be possible that the main window is not centered in the middle of the desktop when the program is started,
but used the last used position saved on the desktop again ?
Even worse ... would this save the last position also for the popups ?

Look on the configuration page, there is a option for it.
I do save the position for the readout popups, I will think about the others.
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1488
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #298 on: April 23, 2020, 04:54:54 am »
HKJ,

How hard is it to add a device file for the Riden RD6006? Below is a link I found with the protocol details

https://github.com/msillano/RD6006-Super-power-supply

I plan on supporting the modbus protocol, but I do not know if it will be hardcoded or with user configurable yet.
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #299 on: April 23, 2020, 06:50:32 am »
Bug report:
VC 940 COM (Real COM on PC) Ohms values correct on VC 940
but by a factor of 10 lower as shown by your prog.  :scared:
This applies to the entire range tested (from 1 Ohm to 10 Meg)

Other quick testes:
VOLT DC is OK
Hz is OK
Temperature is OK (except for the square preceding the C)
Capacitance is OK
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Voltcraft VC 940 M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf