Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 485856 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2050 on: October 28, 2021, 07:00:15 am »
But unfortunately with the following line active:
#modeFromValue getElement(value,0)+";"+getElement(value,1);
, the measurement values on the "Current values" tab are flashing again, as shown in the video that I posted on October 22nd. So I have commented out this line again.

I need a debug log to fix that.
 

Offline C.J.S.

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2051 on: October 28, 2021, 08:46:18 am »
I need a debug log to fix that.

OK, I have attached 2 debug log files. The text is copied from the command line window after starting TestController with testControllerDebug.bat.
After starting TC with the Debug.bat file I first hit Reconnect on the Load devices tab. After that I select the Current values tab for a few seconds.

The first log file VC4090C_Debug_Log_no_flashing.txt was recorded with the #modeFromValue line commented out:
;#modeFromValue getElement(value,0)+";"+getElement(value,1);

The second log file VC4090C_Debug_Log_flashing.txt was recorded with the #modeFromValue line active:
#modeFromValue getElement(value,0)+";"+getElement(value,1);

In the second case following error messages are generated (these errors are only shown in the command line window, not in TC's own Commands & Log window):
Unknown mode: 2.14364e-07
Known modes: ECAP, C, L, Z, R, DCR, ESR, D, X, Q, Deg, AUTO,
Unknown mode: 0.143981
Known modes: ECAP, C, L, Z, R, DCR, ESR, D, X, Q, Deg, AUTO,

I hope this makes sense to you.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2052 on: October 28, 2021, 12:14:48 pm »
OK, I have attached 2 debug log files. The text is copied from the command line window after starting TestController with testControllerDebug.bat.

Now I found the issue or issues.

http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar

The new #modeFromValue did not handle multiple commands correctly, this is fixed in the above file.

The getElement() guesses on delimiter and was wrong in this case, specifying delimiter fixed that.


If you do not have any changes to the definition this is the one that will be included it the next release and thanks to both you and TheDefpom for making and testing it.
 

Offline C.J.S.

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2053 on: October 28, 2021, 01:29:43 pm »
Now I found the issue or issues.
Thanks HKJ,

Good news! With the updated jar and VC409xx definition file everything looks OK. No flashing and no errors anymore in the debug log. Very nice!
For completeness I have attached the debug log that I got with latest jar and definition file.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2054 on: October 28, 2021, 03:17:57 pm »
I decided to add these lines to the definition:
Code: [Select]
#scpiCmd *idn? txrx? *idn?
:readmath: getElement(value,0)+","+getElement(value,1)+","+getElement(value,4)+","+getElement(value,2)+" "+getElement(value,3)

Now TestController can correctly read serial number and versions, see "Popups, List all connected devices"
That popup is mostly designed for people that want documentation of devices used for a test, but is also a fast way to check version numbers.
 

Offline C.J.S.

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2055 on: October 28, 2021, 04:36:53 pm »
I decided to add these lines to the definition:
Code: [Select]
#scpiCmd *idn? txrx? *idn?
:readmath: getElement(value,0)+","+getElement(value,1)+","+getElement(value,4)+","+getElement(value,2)+" "+getElement(value,3)

FYI, as a quick test I added these lines to my Ruoshui VC490xx definition file. Now "Popups, List all connected devices" indeed shows the correct serial number + firmware version, where before it incorrectly showed the firmware version instead of the serial number. So this change is indeed an improvement.
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2056 on: October 29, 2021, 10:53:32 am »
Hello, dear forum members!
Sorry for my English - this is a google translator (((
I bought ET3240. Good multimeter, but I can't connect it. TestController sees him, but refuses to work with him.
If someone has already connected it, please tell me how to set up the work.
Thank you!

By the way, the AD + DC mode does not work for me. The multimeter already has a new printed circuit board (PCB design) - without wires and alterations. It's if someone's interested.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2021, 11:03:36 am by Alias »
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2057 on: October 29, 2021, 11:03:44 am »
I bought ET3240. Good multimeter, but I can't connect it. TestController sees him, but refuses to work with him.
If someone has already connected it, please tell me how to set up the work.

If you are using V1.89 (See on configuration page, about button), please update TestController.
Use debug mode, i.e. start the program with testController.bat file and check both log window and DOS window (DOS window may contain error messages that is missing from log window). Post the log here or email it to me.
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2058 on: October 29, 2021, 11:17:41 am »
Thanks for the quick response!
The program is fresh. There is little information in the dos window. If I understand correctly, TestController turns it off and closes the com-port. But on the multimeter itself, the status is "Remote."
« Last Edit: October 29, 2021, 11:22:32 am by Alias »
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2059 on: October 29, 2021, 11:35:00 am »
I tried to change the port number, but nothing depends on it
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2060 on: October 29, 2021, 11:36:30 am »
Thanks for the quick response!
The program is fresh. There is little information in the dos window. If I understand correctly, TestController turns it off and closes the com-port. But on the multimeter itself, the status is "Remote."

It is very fresh, it is a test version, not that it really matters, except if you run it standalone. The .jar file must be used to replace the .jar file from a unpacked zip file. This is required to get the Devices directory with all definitions.

Maybe I need to add a error message about missing definition.
 
The following users thanked this post: Alias

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2061 on: October 29, 2021, 11:41:42 am »
I tried to change the port number, but nothing depends on it

As long as "Scan serial ports" is checked TestController will find any device that answers with a SCPI header to a *idn? request at 9600 baud. This is very useful if you have serial devices based on Arduino that changes port frequently (I have posted some projects with that).
 
The following users thanked this post: Alias

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2062 on: October 29, 2021, 11:47:20 am »
I've updated this file, but I can't figure out what the problem is.
http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar
Changed the speed of the port. Changed the port number. Put a mark on the monitoring. But the multimeter is still unavailable.
Maybe it's something with my computer))
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2063 on: October 29, 2021, 12:25:52 pm »
I tried on another computer - it also does not work.

Not critical, I'll wait for new versions of TestController.
Thank you for this program!
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2064 on: October 29, 2021, 12:39:22 pm »
I think it's a multimeter problem.
Thanks for your help!
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2065 on: October 29, 2021, 01:24:56 pm »
I think it's a multimeter problem.

I tried on my ET3240 and it works.
Code: [Select]
;; 880.22ms Start thread for: COM20 - East Tester ET3240
;; 3286.88ms COM20: Tx: <*IDN? |.> 2A 49 44 4E 3F 20 7C 0A
;; 3301.14ms COM20: Rx: <ZC,ET3240,08202008008,V2.04.1941.000> 5A 43 2C 45 54 33 32 34 30 2C 30 38 32 30 32 30 30 38 30 30 38 2C 56 32 2E 30 34 2E 31 39 34 31 2E 30 30 30
;; 3311.14ms COM20: Tx <trig auto>
;; 3313.41ms COM20: Tx: <trig auto |.> 74 72 69 67 20 61 75 74 6F 20 7C 0A
;; Found East Tester ET3240 on STM32 Virtual COM Port (COM20) sn: 8202008008
=globalvar ntc1=ntcCoef(22k,5,10k,25,4k,45)
;; 3383.29ms ET3240: Tx <CONF?>
;; 3394.22ms ET3240: Rx <DCV,D,D,A>
;; 3398.75ms ET3240: Rx after :readmath: getElement(value,0); <DCV>
 
The following users thanked this post: Alias

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2066 on: October 29, 2021, 01:30:05 pm »
Thank you very much! I already texted the seller.
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2067 on: October 29, 2021, 04:11:30 pm »
Thank you very much! I already texted the seller.

The only idea I have is if it reset the USB port after connecting. I have never seen anything do that, i.e. I believe it is unlikely.

I will see if I can add some more information to why a connection fail, but it will be a few days before I can do it.
 

Offline C.J.S.

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2068 on: October 29, 2021, 04:27:43 pm »
I've updated this file, but I can't figure out what the problem is.
http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar
Just double checking. Did you download the TestController.zip file that includes the device definitions?
https://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.zip
The folder with TestController.jar should contain a folder Devices, and that folder should contain a definition file called "East Tester ET3240.txt".
Can you confirm that you have that folder and definition file on your PC?
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2069 on: October 29, 2021, 04:54:32 pm »
Thank you! But what do you say about OWON XDM2041 if you chose between him and ET3240 now? Will you not support him in your program?
And on installation - I will check everything again. Thank you!
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2070 on: October 29, 2021, 05:02:48 pm »
I just downloaded the portable version of the TestController, and then replaced the file TestController.jar with a new one, from the archive. Was that the right thing to do?
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2071 on: October 29, 2021, 05:13:36 pm »
Thank you! But what do you say about OWON XDM2041 if you chose between him and ET3240 now? Will you not support him in your program?
And on installation - I will check everything again. Thank you!

I do not support the OWON and I do not have it, somebody else will have to make the definition for it.
I have made a list of supported equipment here: https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerSupportedEquipment%20UK.html

I just downloaded the portable version of the TestController, and then replaced the file TestController.jar with a new one, from the archive. Was that the right thing to do?

There is no portable version of TestController, there is the zip file that has to be unzipped, then either a bat file or TestController.jar must be run.
 

Offline C.J.S.

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2072 on: October 29, 2021, 06:16:18 pm »
I just downloaded the portable version of the TestController, and then replaced the file TestController.jar with a new one, from the archive. Was that the right thing to do?

Create a folder TestController on your PC, and unzip the full content of the TestController.zip file (including folder Devices) to that folder.
From your replies in this topic it is still not clear to me if you did that. After unzipping the zip file you should have a folder TestController with contents as shown in the picture below. Folder Devices contains definition files in text format, and one of these files is definition file "East Tester ET3240.txt" for your DMM.

=> Can you please confirm confirm that you see folder Devices and that it contains file "East Tester ET3240.txt"?
 

Offline Alias

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2073 on: October 29, 2021, 08:04:44 pm »
I tried it on the third computer, too Windows7
Turned on the multimeter, he immediately decided on Windows, received the comport number.
Unpacked all the contents of the archive to the folder "TestController."
The Devices folder contains file "East Tester ET3240.txt"
Unable to find "javaw" when starting "testController.bat"
Downloaded "jdk-17_windows-x64_bin.exe" and installed
Launched "testController.bat," the program opened.
On the Load devices tab, select ET3240 - Add
"Adress" - specified port number
"Reconnect" does not help. The display ET3240 the inscription "Local"
Next, downloaded "http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar"
and replaced the file in the folder "D :\_ ET3240\TestController"
Does not work.
I thought it was a defective multimeter, but decided to try with the power supply Korad3005P. Does not work. Korad works perfectly with its program, checked.
So I think I'm doing something wrong.
If not difficult, help, please. I really want to assemble devices in one program.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2021, 08:11:07 pm by Alias »
Sorry for my English - this is a google translate
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2074 on: October 29, 2021, 08:10:59 pm »
"Adress" - specified port number

For serial connected devices it is the serial port name, on windows com1..com..
You can see valid choices by clicking on the address field, press F2 to enter edit mode and then right click on the mouse.

6 or 7 is not a valid value.

I cannot control this value in any strict way, the field is used for many types of addresses on a couple of operation systems.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf