Author Topic: Quality PC-Based oscilloscope?  (Read 51107 times)

Offline HiredMindTopic starter

Quality PC-Based oscilloscope?
« on: January 19, 2013, 04:19:04 am »
Hi All,

I know most PC-based oscilloscopes are pretty much garbage.  But I'm wondering, does anyone make a pc-based scope with pro-level electronics on par with Tek/Agilent/Rigol, etc?   To give an example: If I can't find an adequate PC-based one, my next choice would probably be a Rigol DS2072)

Since I'm a programmer I have only needed a scope to make sure microcontrollers were doing what they were told, baud rates were set correctly, etc.   But the projects I'm working on are getting faster, and I have some ideas for some projects that will require the ability to see accurate analog waveforms.   

I know what you're saying: Why not just get a regular DSO?   Well as I said I'm a programmer, so I spend most of my working life in front of 4 gigantic monitors and screaming fast development PCs.  And I'm much faster with a mouse than those buttons and knobs on a regular scope.  I'd love to have the quality capture abilities of a high-end scope without paying for the tiny scope display.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2013, 04:23:41 am by HiredMind »

Offline mianchen

• Regular Contributor
Re: Quality PC-Based oscilloscope?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2013, 04:28:30 am »
picoscope seems to be everywhere. and smartscope? they both have adverts on eevblog's main page.

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2013, 05:15:53 pm »
Tiny screens? Well, if you pay enough you get oscilloscopes with large screens, too.

But let's stay with the entry level ones. They start with 8 bit DACs. That's 256 possible values. How much vertical resolution do you think you need to get 256 different values all nicely displayed?