Author Topic: Making my own DMM leads  (Read 2716 times)

Offline HobGoblynTopic starter

• Supporter
Making my own DMM leads
« on: March 22, 2020, 06:47:04 pm »
Hi all.

I'm a beginner so be easy on me :)

I've now got two VC8145 bench meters than I'm very happy with and also have two cheapish hand held.

Only problem is the leads are crap.

I bought a Pomona test lead set for £29, and it's very good. 

However I don't really want to spend £90 at the moment on 3 other sets and on my bench, a 4ft lead is simply too long, I need more like 2ft (60cm)

Looking on RS, I can get 5m of red and black for £29.90 (£14.50 each).  This is 3.9mm outer sleeve in silicon rubber.

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/7481995/

The thing I'm not sure is what probes and banana plugs to buy to complete the leads. Any advice greatly received  (would prefer UK suppliers with the virus restricting things)

Thanks

Offline skander36

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Making my own DMM leads
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2020, 10:25:47 pm »
For me this pair of Brymen leads works very good  . They are gold plated and very flexible.
https://www.welectron.com/Brymen-BL21S2-T4SC-Silicone-Test-Leads

The following users thanked this post: tony, Fungus, HobGoblyn, AVGresponding

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2020, 01:30:09 am »
For me this pair of Brymen leads works very good  . They are gold plated and very flexible.
https://www.welectron.com/Brymen-BL21S2-T4SC-Silicone-Test-Leads

Yep, not all leads cost 30 quid.

You can get gold/silicone test leads for a few $$$ on eBay, but those Brymen leads are very good value (1m long though!)

The following users thanked this post: HobGoblyn

Offline myf

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2020, 05:21:15 pm »
Hello,

I don't know how are expensive leads.