Author Topic: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter  (Read 50114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #50 on: October 21, 2017, 05:13:28 am »
I might actually do that :)
Being able to see the display means that I can now turn off the auto power off and use it as a logging meter!
 

Offline ultrasmurf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: sg
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #51 on: October 21, 2017, 02:35:28 pm »
Hmmm didnt see this coming. I would expect that it should be at worst a garbled display, but if it works it should work correctly. Since the display is folded I expect the MCU in U1253x to send command to swap the row for correct orientation, but leave the column as is.

There is a command to swap column, A0/A1 would have corrected it, but it get reset with every power on sequence. I'm not familiar with OLED display, but would it be possible to peel off the reflective backing and swap them around ?

BTW what was the IC on the breadboard ? Level shifter ?

PROGRESS!

I've got the SSD1309 display working! it is mirrored unfortunately though.

Thanks @ultrasmurf again for the clear photo of the pcb back.
 

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #52 on: October 21, 2017, 09:53:32 pm »
The problem is that the original display and the display I have (which is actually a ssd1305 not a ssd1309...) have the segment columns physically reversed. I've found another ssd1303 display on Taobao and have ordered a couple, hopefully those will have the columns the right way.  https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.85.b98e9bbJkz4mD&id=530522975134&ns=1&abbucket=15#detail

I don't think it's possible to peel the back off and flip it :(

The IC is a level shifter, 74LVX4245MTC , same as the original.
 

Offline eddiea6987

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #53 on: October 25, 2017, 03:00:08 am »
Ahh this thread is great! my piece of crap agilent oled is also hitting the dirt. I hope you get it working and perhaps give a quick rundown of how to fix it and part suppliers.
 

Offline eddiea6987

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #54 on: October 25, 2017, 03:15:26 am »
I am a bit confused, is the original display  ssd1305 or ssd1309or ssd1303? because i have found them all on ebay and would like to know which one to get.
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #55 on: October 25, 2017, 04:08:56 am »
I am a bit confused, is the original display  ssd1305 or ssd1309or ssd1303? because i have found them all on ebay and would like to know which one to get.
SSD1303 is the original OLED display (has the correct pin-out).

Find an agent for Taobao and order some from the above link (example that speaks English and takes PayPal).  ;)
 

Offline ultrasmurf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: sg
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #56 on: October 30, 2017, 06:39:29 am »
Got my display using ssd1309, similar result with mcookieman. Display is mirrored, which lead me to wonder if the original agilent display was indeed mirrored, and replacing it with normal available display results in mirrored image. There is a command available to mirror the image, but will need to hack into the mcu to always set this during start up. Will need anyone familiar with firmware updating to see if it is possible to insert this command to the startup sequence of the dmm (or if we can find the command to flip image being sent to the display controller during startup then we need to stop it from reaching the controller)

So, for whoever trying to get this up and running without much hacking, you will need the original ssd1303T10 display, possibly from the following supplier as found by tooki : http://www.lcdstore.de/OLED-Modul-128x64-Punkte-monochrom
(there is at least 1 example on the web having done successful replacement using module similar to one in the link)




« Last Edit: October 30, 2017, 06:43:10 am by ultrasmurf »
 

Offline ultrasmurf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: sg
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #57 on: October 30, 2017, 05:13:47 pm »
Looking at the construction of ssd1309 vs 1306 display that i have, it seems clear why we have mirrored display. The ssd1309 chip on most display i've seen being sold are flipped compared to the ssd1306 chip in the original display. And the trace in the ribbon connector showed how much they go through the trouble to have the same pin out as 1306. I dont understand why they cant just put the chip the right way... pin out is already compatible with 1306...
« Last Edit: October 30, 2017, 05:17:31 pm by ultrasmurf »
 
The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5364
  • Country: ch
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #58 on: October 31, 2017, 05:33:41 am »
I thought the original was SSD1303?
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #59 on: October 31, 2017, 06:45:42 am »
I thought the original was SSD1303?
So did I.  :-//
 

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #60 on: October 31, 2017, 08:48:01 am »
I only just realised that you have the orange u1253b version. Is there any reason why you didn't just order the replacement part from Keysight?
@alexwhittemore I think this confirms that the part available from Keysight is compatible with the u1253a. ultrasmurf's photos look exactly the same as the u1253a display module.


The displays I've ordered off taobao seem to have gone missing, supposedly they've arrived at the reshipping address but I've gotten no notifcations. Will update when I find out what's happened to them.
 

Offline ultrasmurf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: sg
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #61 on: November 02, 2017, 01:09:22 am »
My mistake... yes... 1309 vs 1303 not 1306. The newer 1309 1306 1305 that I can see were all flipped compared to 1303, and then the trace on the ribbon cable were crossed to get compatible pin out to the 1303, but the other side where they interface with the display were not flipped.... so we have a mirrored display. Found a few 1309 that doesn't look like they are flipped, but the screen size were only 1".

I did not order the replacement display because it will cost me ~USD120 to get one from keysight. I'd rather try to get something else and see it's durability rather than going back to original display that has been reported to have issues. Hacking the firmware looks more than what I can chew... So most likely I'll insert an atmega and a multiplexer to send a flipping command to the display before returning the dataline back to the nec mcu.

I thought the original was SSD1303?
So did I.  :-//
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5364
  • Country: ch
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #62 on: November 02, 2017, 05:06:02 am »
What about the vendor in Germany??
 

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #63 on: November 03, 2017, 11:51:02 am »
@ultrasmurf
Fair enough, I think it would be a fairly staightforward fpga project to do that as well. I might give that a go if I the taobao displays don't work.

Speaking of the taobao displays they are now on the way from China to me, I expect to have them in hand in a couple weeks, will keep you all posted on how they go.
 

Offline alexwhittemore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #64 on: November 06, 2017, 04:48:29 pm »
Got my display using ssd1309, similar result with mcookieman.

Interesting - I just slapped in this SSD1309 display I got on eBay a few weeks ago, and got nothing at all. Verified the meter was working with the buzzer in continuity mode. Back to normal function once I pulled that off and put the original back on (you know, normal being can't barely see it).
https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-42-12864-OLED-Display-Module-128x64-SSD1309-Display-Screen-2-42inch-STM32/391868798461?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=660857088898&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

I only just realised that you have the orange u1253b version. Is there any reason why you didn't just order the replacement part from Keysight?
@alexwhittemore I think this confirms that the part available from Keysight is compatible with the u1253a. ultrasmurf's photos look exactly the same as the u1253a display module.

The displays I've ordered off taobao seem to have gone missing, supposedly they've arrived at the reshipping address but I've gotten no notifcations. Will update when I find out what's happened to them.

I just looked at my display module to compare, and sure enough, they're nearly identical besides a couple of obvious BOM changes (mine has black tantalums, the B board has orange ones, but same values). My part number is U1253-66504-36-0848-8618, which has changed, and which is presumably why the support rep said he wasn't certain they're the same.

Cool that I can safely order the new part. But I'm not sure I want to spend $120 every few years until they finally deprecate that PN as well  >:(

I'll hold off until you try one of the taobao modules, $15 is a lot more palatable. But I had such poor luck last time I tried to get one...

Edit: since I've got a bunch of credit in yoybuy from the last failed order, I just ordered a few of the same modules. 4 of them are still wildly cheaper than even one OEM replacement, so if they work, I'll have a few spares.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 04:56:02 pm by alexwhittemore »
 

Offline ultrasmurf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: sg
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #65 on: November 07, 2017, 01:24:05 am »
If that display doesnt show anything, then there could be something really changed in your revision (power line swapped etc..).  The SSD1303T10 share the exact same pin out as the normally available 1309 in the net, I assume including yours as it looks like it has the same ribbon cable swapping the line around. The only difference is the connection to the display itself after the 1309. Or maybe your ebay display is a dud....
 

Offline alexwhittemore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #66 on: November 07, 2017, 02:01:40 am »
Or maybe your ebay display is a dud....

Anything is possible. Unfortunately, it seems I've also lifted some pads, if you can call it that, on the original display. So now I'm completely display-less :(
 

Offline eddiea6987

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #67 on: November 11, 2017, 03:29:20 am »

So, for whoever trying to get this up and running without much hacking, you will need the original ssd1303T10 display, possibly from the following supplier as found by tooki : http://www.lcdstore.de/OLED-Modul-128x64-Punkte-monochrom
(there is at least 1 example on the web having done successful replacement using module similar to one in the link)
I googled the part number displayed at that link and I got a lot more hits of places that have it but no one wants to ship to the U.S , Alibaba has some with a minimum quantity of 2000 pieces :)
I emailed the lcdstore to see if they will ship me some
 

Offline alexwhittemore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #68 on: November 11, 2017, 04:27:33 am »
Yoybuy keeps refunding my purchases because they're suddenly "out of stock" even though taobao shows crazy assloads of stock  :rant:
 

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #69 on: November 11, 2017, 06:42:30 am »
Hmm that's not a good sign :/
My order (using yoybuy as a reshipping service) has left China, hopefully when they turn up it'll be the right displays. My chinese isn't good enough to actually tell what exactly I ordered...

If they are the SSD1303 displays and they do work I'm happy to organise a small group buy for anyone who needs them. Shipping from Aus will be pricey though.
 

Offline alexwhittemore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #70 on: November 11, 2017, 08:21:03 am »
Hmm that's not a good sign :/
My order (using yoybuy as a reshipping service) has left China, hopefully when they turn up it'll be the right displays. My chinese isn't good enough to actually tell what exactly I ordered...

If they are the SSD1303 displays and they do work I'm happy to organise a small group buy for anyone who needs them. Shipping from Aus will be pricey though.

You're talking about the display you linked in reply #52 up there right? That's what I tried (unsuccessfully) to order :(

I just realized, I have a friend in Shenzen right now... maybe I can get him to scour the market.
 

Offline eddiea6987

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: us
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #71 on: November 15, 2017, 03:29:03 am »
http://www.lcdstore.de/epages/17406888.sf/de_DE/?ObjectPath=/Shops/17406888/Products/BL12864G

Are telling me they can ship me a screen for $40
$31 for the screen itself and 9 shipping.
I think it might be worth it, and then try to sell this meter
 
The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline alexwhittemore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #72 on: November 15, 2017, 03:50:35 am »
http://www.lcdstore.de/epages/17406888.sf/de_DE/?ObjectPath=/Shops/17406888/Products/BL12864G

Are telling me they can ship me a screen for $40
$31 for the screen itself and 9 shipping.
I think it might be worth it, and then try to sell this meter

$9 shipping from Germany to the USA? What a steal!

Do it and let us know if it works. If it works, let us know how to do the same :P
 
The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline mcookieman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #73 on: November 23, 2017, 09:08:15 am »
Minor update:
The displays finally arrived and they do have the SSD1303 controller. Unfortunately I didn't get anything on the display when I turned everything on. I suspect my soldering is the issue as I've reused the same breakout board and I didn't have any solder wick to make everything nice and level so it was quite difficult to solder on.

I have two so I will try again with the other one on a new breakout board on the weekend...

 

Offline macboy

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2021
  • Country: ca
Re: Replacing OLED screen on an Agilent U1253A Multimeter
« Reply #74 on: November 23, 2017, 01:43:47 pm »
Minor update:
The displays finally arrived and they do have the SSD1303 controller. Unfortunately I didn't get anything on the display when I turned everything on. I suspect my soldering is the issue as I've reused the same breakout board and I didn't have any solder wick to make everything nice and level so it was quite difficult to solder on.

I have two so I will try again with the other one on a new breakout board on the weekend...
You can try some stranded wire (the finer the strands, the better) in place of proper wick. If you have liquid flux then use a little of that to help the process.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf