Author Topic: Restoration glory of Keithley 2001 DMM  (Read 305851 times)

Offline Zucca

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Restoration glory of Keithley 2001 DMM
« Reply #225 on: March 16, 2015, 04:43:22 pm »
Any idea if we can do the same here with the MEM2 chip Dallas DS1245Y? Sorry if it was a stupid question, I am not an expert here.

I did some homework and indeed it was not a clever question...

First of all we need to find a 32 pin parallel FRAM, like this one FM28V100:
http://www.cypress.com/?docID=50822

Second it is not 1:1 pin compatible, so we need to build an adapter board.

Third that FRAM runs with 3.3V and not 5V like the DS1245Y, so a VREG should go on that adapter and pray the 3.3V FRAM will be interpreted from the 2001 as logic "1".
Fourth the FM28V100 has two chip enables pins CE1 and CE2... (not a show stopper but another difference)

It´s not looking to be that easy. Still it is a cool Week End project to work on.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2015, 11:23:10 am by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca

Offline TiNTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
« Reply #226 on: March 16, 2015, 05:02:55 pm »
ManateeMafia

Thanks. Can you drop your B13 as well? :)

I finally decided to make overall page with all files/data/firmwares for all Keithley gear in one place.
Will see how that goes.
You will likely to loose calibration, but I don't remember 100%. Just save 24C16 I2C ROM contents, all calibration of 2001 reside in there, as well as serial number.

I was wondering how much would be cost of front panel plastic for 2400 (part number 2400-313A), since mine 2400 have it quite busted up. Can you ask them about it as well? No need PCBA , just plastic with VFD panel plastic. It's  more topic for my 2400, which is somehow gone.  :o

YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Let's share T&M documentation? Upload! No upload limits for firmwares, photos, files.

Offline ManateeMafia