Author Topic: Non Contact Voltage Measurement E.g. Fluke T6  (Read 2534 times)

Offline mheruianTopic starter

• Contributor
Non Contact Voltage Measurement E.g. Fluke T6
« on: May 25, 2018, 12:38:23 am »
Hi Folks,

Total Newbie here, not too geek to understand deep electronics, been researching for ages about measuring voltage safely and ended up seeing non-contact voltage sensor (they call them chicken sticks) so cheap but so far I only see them as detector of AC voltage and unable to measure AC voltage - why is that?

Then i tried to search a cheap module sensor (e.g. like those ultrasonic sensors for arduino/uC) but I can't find any. Then I ended up just searching how chicken sticks work (e.g. capacitive voltage divider, cvt, etc.) and would like to try them as last resort because that'll be trial and error for me.

Then I found Fluke T6 tester that works perfectly for what I expect to see. Can I ask if there is already a same diy tester same as this fluke tester, because I've searching for a lot of days with this but I can't (I know fluke testers are too accurate and hi-end top of the line tester, but as a new electronic hobbyist, I want my small projects something to be at least on a grade level?

Offline joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
Re: Non Contact Voltage Measurement E.g. Fluke T6
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2018, 01:19:07 am »
There are a few threads for the T6 if you use the search.    I've been trying different things with it and like the concept.   I thought about trying to role my own design to improve on it.   There are several patents and I would suggest you start there with your research.    If you are looking for some simple circuit to pull this off for $10 in parts, I don't think you will find it. 

Offline SG-1

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2018, 01:58:38 am »
The Fluke T6 is the first of this kind.  The non-contact accuracy is 6%.  Gets better when you use one probe for reference, ground.