Author Topic: Rigol DG800 SCPI, VISA, MATLAB  (Read 316 times)

Offline gossamer

• Contributor
Rigol DG800 SCPI, VISA, MATLAB
« on: May 29, 2019, 06:44:01 am »
I am trying to send generated waveform from Matlab to DG800 and play it as an arbitrary waveform. Documentation is bit cryptic (because I am a newbie in SCPI automation) ..

After installing NI-VISA drivers on my computer I am able to connect to the DG800 and query *IDN?

Now the fun begins. I dont have a clue where to start from there and DG800 programming guide is completely useless for beginners .. there are no explanation on the sequences of the commands to load the function into the memory and output it on one of the channels..

I would appreciate if someone could give me an example on how to send and play the data points via SCPI

What I have now, but for some reason it just selects the "Sinc" function and plays that:

Code: [Select]
fprintf(obj1,'%s\r\n','*RST;*CLS;*OPC?');
fprintf(obj1,'%s\r\n',':SOUR1:APPL:ARB 500');
fprintf(obj1,'%s\r\n',':SOUR1:DATA VOLATILE,-0.5, 0.8, 1.2, 0.7, 0.4');
fprintf(obj1,'%s\r\n','OUTP1 ON');

|O

Offline gossamer

• Contributor
Re: Rigol DG800 SCPI, VISA, MATLAB
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2019, 07:03:42 am »
I was able to resolve this.
I used the Rigol waveform generator application (Ultrastation). I generated some random curve using few points and sent it over to the DG800 via USB NI-VISA driver.
Before that, of course, I installed this sniffer https://desowin.org/usbpcap/index.html and enabled tracing on the usb controller.
After sending the waveform with Ultrastation, I opened the dump file in Wireshark and voila, protocol was there. Its not really in the nicely readable format, but its easy to connect the dots (pun intended). ::)

The following users thanked this post: thm_w

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2019, 08:19:18 am »
I was able to resolve this.