Author Topic: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs  (Read 239224 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1769
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #725 on: June 24, 2020, 09:18:02 pm »
Are you guys running the 01.16 firmware now?  I'm on 01.14 - should I upgrade it?

Why not?  :-//
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #726 on: June 24, 2020, 09:30:39 pm »
Basically I'm asking, have others had a good experience with 01.16 or are there any issues with it. :)
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1769
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #727 on: June 24, 2020, 09:36:24 pm »
Basically I'm asking, have others had a good experience with 01.16 or are there any issues with it. :)

Has less issues than 01.14.
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #728 on: June 25, 2020, 12:35:15 am »
The firmware upgrade instructions are quite dodgy at best.

I even found this which isn't much better.

https://www.bitsammler.de/downloads/Manuals/RIGOL/DP832/How%20to%20update%20DP800.pdf

#1  - Start the unit with the USB stick plugged in or not?  or turn it on, press help, THEN plug it in?

#2 - After main update, what does "move USB flash" mean?  Remove it?  Does the help help m4 m2 m1 update without need of the USB stick?

#3 - What is the warning in the official Rigol instructions about bricking it if you install twice all about?  I don't want that.

Is it so hard to have simple clear concise instructions!
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #729 on: June 25, 2020, 01:29:07 am »
I got it.

It was picky about the USB stick though.

#1 - find a USB stick it likes, plug them in until it recognizes one.
#2 - unplug it and copy GEL file to it.
#3 - turn dp832 off, turn it on, when seeing the rigol graphic press and hold HELP.
#4 - it will prompt to plug in stick, plug it in.
#5 - it will do the update.  At the end it says to power cycle, but if you wait, it will reboot itself.
#6 - I had to set mine back to English language.
#6 - now you can press help help and do the power boards.  first m4, m2, m1 and then m4, m2, m2.
#7 - reboot the whole thing.
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1708
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #730 on: June 25, 2020, 12:08:19 pm »
If a DP832 has been told it's a DP832A using the magic USB stick, will applying an official GEL file update result in the PSU staying as a DP832A?
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #731 on: June 25, 2020, 12:10:49 pm »
I keep seeing this mentioned, do you mean that features are unlocked on the DP832, or do you mean something that makes it think it is a DP832A instead?  I'm not familiar with that.

edit : Is it that with a specific usb stick "magic stick" you can use the set model command?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2020, 12:34:15 pm by alank2 »
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1769
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #732 on: June 25, 2020, 12:57:57 pm »
If a DP832 has been told it's a DP832A using the magic USB stick, will applying an official GEL file update result in the PSU staying as a DP832A?

Sure.
 
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf_Sr

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1708
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #733 on: June 25, 2020, 02:24:36 pm »
I keep seeing this mentioned, do you mean that features are unlocked on the DP832, or do you mean something that makes it think it is a DP832A instead?  I'm not familiar with that.

edit : Is it that with a specific usb stick "magic stick" you can use the set model command?
Read the thread starting at page 10.  You can make a 'magic' USB stick and then issue a SCPI command (while the 'magic' USB stick is plugged in) that tells a DP832 that it's a DP832A; after that, all the features of a DP832A are unlocked and the SysInfo reports that it's a DP832A.  It's highly likely that this is how the Rigol factory decides what PSU is what version.  You can't change to a model that is not the same hardware e.g you can't change from DP831 to DP832A.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #734 on: June 25, 2020, 02:35:07 pm »
What differences are there if you have a DP832 that is already unlocked?

Just the font and displays?
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: by
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #735 on: July 16, 2020, 08:33:27 am »
Are you guys running the 01.16 firmware now?  I'm on 01.14 - should I upgrade it?
You should know that there are two firmware 01.16. Early received from support and late officially released. Judging by the forum earlier it was better. But I haven't tested it myself.
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: by
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #736 on: July 16, 2020, 08:34:43 am »
File:
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #737 on: July 16, 2020, 12:07:19 pm »
What was the difference(s)?
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: by
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #738 on: July 16, 2020, 01:08:54 pm »
 
The following users thanked this post: alank2

Offline Mecanix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Country: cc
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #739 on: July 17, 2020, 02:14:35 am »
Managed to get my hands on a DP832 and calibrated two channels so far and getting -low mV on those. Tried 3 times and getting same results. Not touching/calibrating the remaining one (CH3) as I need this one to work in case the CH1 & CH2 are ruined. Using a DM3058E as ref/source and the SCPI procedures & table found earlier in this thread.

CH1 0V/OFF == -46.3mV after calibration
CH2 0V/OFF == -151.1mV after calibration  :wtf:
CH3 0V/OFF ==  0mv (untouched factory calibration)

Used to be all 0mV before calibration. Are those two channels' ADCs fried and do I need to get myself another DP832? Easy repair maybe??

Any advice (help!) welcome
 

Offline TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 817
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #740 on: July 17, 2020, 02:40:05 am »
@Mecanix:

You may want to have a look here, the peculiar behaviour of the DP832 when calibrating the low end of the voltage range, is dealt with there to some degree. It should be possible to get the offset sorted with this information, yet, as it seems, only by means of an automated calibration.
 
The following users thanked this post: Mecanix

Offline Mecanix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Country: cc
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #741 on: July 17, 2020, 03:03:47 am »
That's great, thanks. I'll sure have a look and see if I can at least understand what went really wrong at the first place; unlikely I'll have a go at further modification until I've understood first. The unit appears to be destined to go back to factory for repair/re-calibration, from the look of things (-151.1mV... yikes lol).

Quick question, if you know;  when I get back into Utility > ManualCal > CallItems: only a handful of them registered (7?) although I was referred to a 35 points table. What went wrong? Tried Board's ADC calibration from the gui and that also fails. What exactly blew up? anyone knows?

EDIT: quick shout out to the folks who've contributed in the thread TurboTom shared (and who've contributed too), that fixed the wicked offset on the CH2. All what's needed now is to attack CH1 with a tighter custom points/set and all good to go, I think, dunno lol

Certainly better than -151.1mV where stuff would have seriously blown-up if left on the PSU, even when the channel are switched to OFF. Scary stuff. Do NOT attempt this 'diy cal' if you can't program/script logic yourself, and/or don't have one (or two) days to waste (I'm almost 7hrs in this and only half done lol). Recommend sending off your unit to the factory and be done with it.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2020, 05:00:37 am by Mecanix »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf