Author Topic: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?  (Read 749 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rbooth84

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« on: February 10, 2020, 01:21:00 am »
I'm torn between getting the Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323 with the LAN Option. I can find all kinds of information on the Rigol DP832A but the Instek GPP-4323 seems to be lacking a lot of reviews.

Is the GPP-4323 worth getting over a DP832A?
 

Online maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2020, 03:03:03 am »
Looking at the GPP series I'd PERSONALLY go for the 3323 over the 4323. The third channel is only a selectable voltage but it offers up to 5V/5A and has a USB output for the channel. As someone who routinely uses a USB adapter on my supplies I think that's great. Also you just buy the DP832 and unlock all the options. If you want the silly UI you can add that too.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19839
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2020, 10:25:11 am »
Spec & feature wise (it is also a DC load) I'd go for the Instek but I have no hands-on experience with it. I disagree with maginnovision on the GPP4323; I think this is the best choice. The 3323 has a fixed output channel which isn't current limited. The GPP4323 has 4 channels with variable voltage and adjustable current limiting. All the models have a USB port which you can use as a fixed 5V power supply if you want to.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 11:17:58 am by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline rbooth84

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2020, 01:59:41 pm »
From everything I’m reading the GPP-4323 is better feature wise against the DP832. I will get that ordered this week.
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1707
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2020, 02:07:41 pm »
You could buy a DP832 and then use a 'magic' USB stick to convert it to a DP832A.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19839
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2020, 02:56:24 pm »
You could buy a DP832 and then use a 'magic' USB stick to convert it to a DP832A.
Still the GW Instek GPP-4323 offers a whole lot more bang-per-buck compared to the DP832. The price difference isn't that big anyway.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Online maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2020, 04:17:01 pm »
Spec & feature wise (it is also a DC load) I'd go for the Instek but I have no hands-on experience with it. I disagree with maginnovision on the GPP4323; I think this is the best choice. The 3323 has a fixed output channel which isn't current limited. The GPP4323 has 4 channels with variable voltage and adjustable current limiting. All the models have a USB port which you can use as a fixed 5V power supply if you want to.

I didn't look closely enough to see that it is only limited at 5A for 3rd channel. That can be a downside for some but for my specific use case I'd end up having to put 3/4 in series at 5V to get the current I need, and even then it could occasionally hit the current limit which is no good. That's just for me though, as this wouldn't be a primary lab supply for me.

From everything I’m reading the GPP-4323 is better feature wise against the DP832. I will get that ordered this week.

After you use it some let us know what you think.
 

Offline rbooth84

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2020, 04:42:42 pm »
I didn't look closely enough to see that it is only limited at 5A for 3rd channel. That can be a downside for some but for my specific use case I'd end up having to put 3/4 in series at 5V to get the current I need, and even then it could occasionally hit the current limit which is no good. That's just for me though, as this wouldn't be a primary lab supply for me.

What would you use as a primary lab supply?
 

Online maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832A or Instek GPP-4323?
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2020, 05:40:21 pm »
Where I diagnose and develop I use the Rigol DP832 with the Siglent SPD3303X as a standby and vref supply. Where I repair and build I use two R&S single channel supplies.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf