Author Topic: Rigol DS1054Z  (Read 3327 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Rigol DS1054Z
« on: January 23, 2020, 10:04:42 pm »
Good afternoon.

My Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope after doing the hack was not working to store the captures either in the internal memory or in the usb.
I appreciate your collaboration
 

Online Adrian_Arg.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: ar
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 11:03:11 pm »
hola, proba revertir el hack y si te funciona el usb, pero lo raro es que cuando lo liberas el usb no tiene nada que ver. cuando conectas el usb te lo detecta?
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1813
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2020, 08:39:38 am »
Good afternoon.

My Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope after doing the hack was not working to store the captures either in the internal memory or in the usb.
I appreciate your collaboration


1. Update the FW.
2. Re-format the USB disk.
3. Next time use a more explicit thread title. Your problem has nothing to do with the "hack".
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2020, 07:46:07 pm »
Buenas tardes.

Pues descargue el firmware pero no detecta la memoria usb para instalarlo
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2020, 07:48:59 pm »

good afternoon.
How would the process be
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1813
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2020, 09:05:16 pm »
Change USB disk for another one (max 4 GB). Format it in linux instead of Windows.
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2020, 02:08:43 pm »
Ya probe las opciones anteriores y no me ha funcionado no he podido restaurar el firmware del mi osciloscopio. Tal vez hay una forma de hacerlo mediante el computador
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1813
  • Country: pt
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2020, 02:37:49 pm »
No, there are no other ways beside using a USB disk.

Remember, this is an english forum so you should write in english.
 

Online MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1863
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2020, 02:52:30 pm »
In order to upgrade the firmware:

  You need a USB flash drive that is less than or equal 4GB.
  It also must be formatted as FAT32.
  (These requirements also apply for doing screen captures.)

  Copy the "DS1000ZUpdate.GEL" file to the flash drive.
  You can NOT revert to older firmware versions.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2020, 02:58:35 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11219
  • Country: 00
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2020, 05:53:34 pm »
You can NOT revert to older firmware versions.

Sure you can! You just need to hack the ".gel" file and put a newer version number in it.  :popcorn:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dsxxxx-gel-firmware-file-format/msg1477188/#msg1477188
 

Online MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1863
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2020, 07:15:22 pm »
You can NOT revert to older firmware versions.

Sure you can! You just need to hack the ".gel" file and put a newer version number in it.  :popcorn:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dsxxxx-gel-firmware-file-format/msg1477188/#msg1477188

i.e.  You are falsely incrementing the minor version number in order to trick the scope.
Plus all the trouble to re-calculate the CRC and modify the .gel file.

Yes.  You can fool the scope into installing an older version of the firmware.
But, that is not exactly the same as reverting to that version.

Not a trivial task.  I have always regarded it as a desperate undertaking.  Not for a novice.

You don't just grab an old .gel file and install it.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2020, 07:20:48 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3657
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2020, 07:30:47 am »
To clarify, I think the discussion about the firmware update is a red herring. The most likely reason for not being able to store screenshots is that something is wrong with the USB stick. So re-format the stick, and/or try another one.

To my knowledge, there is no option to store screenshots in internal memory, and there never has been one.
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11219
  • Country: 00
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2020, 07:40:36 am »
To clarify, I think the discussion about the firmware update is a red herring. The most likely reason for not being able to store screenshots is that something is wrong with the USB stick. So re-format the stick, and/or try another one.

Yes. It's nothing to do with the firmware

(or whether the 'scope is hacked or not).

 

Online MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1863
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2020, 03:42:19 pm »
It is not clear to me whether he is trying to do a screen_capture or trying
to STORE and RECALL a waveform to an internal or external file.

If the later, he should be able to STORE a waveform to the internal disk.
I don't actual remember if I have ever tried it.  A rarely needed function for me.
I imagine the scope would need to be in STOP (i.e. Not RUN and capturing data).

Has anyone ever tried this?  What are the requirements/procedure to save to an internal file?
Chapter 14 in the User Guide.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2020, 03:45:07 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3657
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2020, 04:07:37 pm »
It is not clear to me whether he is trying to do a screen_capture or trying
to STORE and RECALL a waveform to an internal or external file.

If the later, he should be able to STORE a waveform to the internal disk.
I don't actual remember if I have ever tried it.  A rarely needed function for me.
I imagine the scope would need to be in STOP (i.e. Not RUN and capturing data).

Has anyone ever tried this?  What are the requirements/procedure to save to an internal file?
Chapter 14 in the User Guide.

Chapter 14 in the user guide seems to state clearly that only Setup data can be stored in internal memory. For all other things you can store (screenshot pictures, waveforms, CSV), it only mentions storing them in external (i.e. USB) memory. I am referring to the August 2015 edition, pages 14-2 and 14-3.
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2020, 04:26:53 pm »

Good morning I continue with the failure of my oscilloscope to save the captures this happened to me after doing the hack.

You can realize that you do not leave or save in the internal memory / or in the USB the option to save or new file is disabled
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3657
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2020, 04:45:40 pm »
It looks like your scope did not recognize the USB stick you plugged in. (I believe it should show a USB icon in the lower right of the screen if it does see a stick; but am not in front of my scope right now.)

It also looks, in your second screenshot, like you selected the internal store.
And then selected some format to save (screenshot? can't quite read that in the menu bar) which can only be saved on the external store.

Did you read the posts above?
Did you try with a different, freshly formatted USB stick?
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2020, 04:57:50 pm »

If I already tried several USB 4gb / 8GB formatted but nothing
 

Online MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1863
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2020, 05:03:32 pm »
The USB Flash drive needs to be smaller the 4GB.
The one I use is 128MB. (That's MegaByte).
Are they formatted as FAT32?

Here is my scope with drive that is recognized.  (Icon in the lower right corner)
If I'm not mistaken, the scope also pops-up a message if the USB drive is recognized.

[attachimg=1]
« Last Edit: January 30, 2020, 05:08:04 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2020, 05:11:19 pm »
Correctly. The USB symbol should appear on detection.

[attach=1]

The USB stick looks very crooked (maybe just the perspective of the picture?).

Be careful with such massive sticks with a long handle.
The leverage effect on the solder joints of the socket are enormous.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2020, 05:13:33 pm by klausES »
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6657
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2020, 05:12:35 pm »
The USB Flash drive needs to be smaller the 4GB.

The most reliable drives I have for my DS1054Z are 8GB Kingston ones..
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2020, 05:19:53 pm »
16 GB sticks (FAT32) also work perfectly with mine.

I would definitely try another stick instead.
This could be broken. Maybe an internal contact problem.

Maybe I missed it ... the question whether FAT32 has been answered in the meantime?
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7093
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2020, 05:22:11 pm »
Same here, > 4GB stick works, formatted in FAT32, and remembered had problem with cheap/bad quality ones and went straight to trash can.

Only use branded/good one, and no fake of course.

Offline grizewald

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 515
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2020, 05:23:48 pm »
After becoming increasingly frustrated with trying to find a USB memory that my DS1054Z liked, I switched to using DSRemote to capture screen shots instead. See: https://www.teuniz.net/DSRemote/

  Lord of Sealand
 

Offline ghayer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: co
Re: Rigol DS1054Z
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2020, 09:39:44 pm »
of course, the usb symbol should appear to know that the usb memory is connected but it does not already test several and with none but before doing the hack if it worked for me.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf