Author Topic: Silgent SDS1102X vs Owon MSO8102T  (Read 10098 times)

Offline __exitTopic starter

Silgent SDS1102X vs Owon MSO8102T
« on: December 24, 2016, 09:16:54 pm »
I am completely new to electronics and I am looking for an oscilloscope mostly for education, for small projects, house electronics, car electronics, some inspection and reverse engineering.
I plan on taking free online courses, doing beginner projects, following along with diligent's class and other examples online.

I want an oscilliscope that will cover most lab topics for courses as well as allow me to continue as a hobby and practical use. I am thinking that a higher end entry level scope is probably right for me so I can get prolonged use.

I have considered pc based vs non-pc based, after watching a eevblog video decided to go with standalone unit because quality is too variable in USB land and often the manufacturers listed ratings don't match product's ability.

I am aware of the following:
* 5-10x mhz = sampling otherwise marketing and not accurate
* higher mhz means wider range of circuits/technologies its useful for
* probes matter and can scale the ticks of the oscilloscope measurements / div
and some other begginer stuff that i've learned from watching eevblog videos and reading beginner guides.

I watched some videos about sds1000x series (sds1202x) video and rigol1054z videos from eevblog.
I am not sure if i need 4 channels or not and until I understand everything better I do not want to hack an oscilloscope because I want my warrantee, so that means a 50MHz instead of 100MHz. It seems to me like the siglent sds1102x is a better scope given this criteria; especially given SDS1012x currently has a free decoder option.

While I was looking around on Amazon I happened to notice the Owon MSO8102T (with logic analyzer, normally ~$800).

I bought both (SDS1102X and MSO8102T) @ ~$400 to lock in the price, but I don't know which I should keep.

Suggestions?