Author Topic: Rigol DS1202Z-E entry level scope (200MHz, 2 channel)  (Read 49959 times)

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Rigol DS1202Z-E entry level scope (200MHz, 2 channel)
« Reply #125 on: June 14, 2020, 10:54:39 am »
Reg, this thread may be of interest to you:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/show-us-your-square-wave/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #126 on: June 14, 2020, 02:28:31 pm »
I have gotten *very* annoyed by the 5% overshoot on my Instek MSO2204EA.  So I asked Rigol for a step response from the DS1202Z-E.  The *next* day I got this:

(Attachment Link)

I immediately ordered one.  I made a similar request to Tektronix in late April, but still have no step response on a 3 series.  I bought a Keysight MSOX3104T but returned it when it had a 7% overshoot.  An RTM3104 demo arrived with 3% overshoot but completely useless FFT.   The sales guy suggested a FW update which resulted in a 10% overshoot.  Restoring the original FW version did not correct that.  And R&S doesn't want to talk about it.

A *very* good old school Tek analog step response from a DSO for $300 was a complete no brainer.

Methinks Rigol will eat someone else's lunch soon.

Once it arrives I'll do a head to head of the Instek MSO2204EA, Rigol DS1202Z-E and an Owon XDS-2102A.

Reg
Are you comparing apples to apples?  Same source and same probe?  The Rigol picture you received for sure is not using your setup from your lab

Online rhb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #127 on: June 14, 2020, 07:18:46 pm »
You do *not* measure the step response with a probe.  You do it with a 50 ohm source with a 50 ohm thru termination if the scope doesn't have a 50 ohm input.