Author Topic: Rigol DS2072 Review  (Read 41925 times)

Offline JimmySteTopic starter

• Contributor
Rigol DS2072 Review
« on: August 09, 2012, 08:20:17 am »
Hi all...
Due to the total lack of reviews of the DS2000 series of scopes online I thought I would give reviewing a crack... :)

/*Background
I'm currently a student studying Electrical Engineering and approaching the pointy end of my course,
I thought it was high time to "graduate" from my father's 20MHz analogue scope and get my own...
I started out looking online at the Rigol DS1052, also discovering the DS2072 but unwilling to spend the dough...
Knowing that the DS1052 was very liked in reviews, on this forum and I'd used them at university, all be the 200MHz version.
So I was tossing up between the Rigol and the Atten ADS1062CAL... I liked the Atten because of it's larger screen, having experienced that menus covered almost half of the screen.
I eventually pulled the trigger Olympic pun... :) and got the Atten, got home, turned it on... and it had a faulty power supply :( not to dissimilar to the issue playfsx on the formums has/had with their scope...

Called up the shop and took it back, they connected it up to a Rigol DG4102 and the interference continued...
So they were quite apologetic and were willing to replace it with another Atten, until I asked what they thought about the DS2072 and if they were willing to let me play with one...
First impression WOW, not just for me but the shop owner, it was the first time either of us has seen one operating, the quality of the display make the Atten's look like dirt...
And as they say the rest is history...

/*Review - I think...
The Rigol DS2072 is a 2 channel DSO 2GSa/s clocking in at 70MHz, I got mine here in Australia at www.eyou.com.au for $839 + GST
They were a delight to buy from, as can be seen by the comments above...

It came double boxed with a English user manual, 2x 300MHz passive 1-10x probes, Australian power cable, USB cable and a CD