Author Topic: Are USB logic analysers typically single-shot only?!  (Read 11233 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Are USB logic analysers typically single-shot only?!
« Reply #25 on: October 26, 2015, 08:45:35 pm »
Why not get a (used) MSO which works?

Because I think the PC connectivity is important for a logic analyzer (heck, the 24" screen for all those digital signals and a mouse with a scroll wheel blow away a standalone unit immediately, before all of the extra analysis options are considered); because bench space is limited here, and because I have other projects in mind which call for a PC-connected 100MHz 4-channel DAC. Nevertheless, thanks for the suggestion -- it's worth a look, maybe I can find a really cheap "throwaway" MSO that'll tide me over in the mean time.

Look for a used HP 1660. Seriously.

Offline Electro Fan

• Super Contributor
« Last Edit: October 27, 2015, 07:12:34 am by Electro Fan »

Offline Dubbie

• Supporter
« Reply #27 on: October 27, 2015, 09:52:45 am »
Or you could just solve your problem with a spare gpio or three. Just set them high when whatever axis is > threshold. It seems like you need to think outside the box a little here.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

Offline rs20Topic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: October 27, 2015, 10:31:25 am »
Or you could just solve your problem with a spare gpio or three. Just set them high when whatever axis is > threshold. It seems like you need to think outside the box a little here.

I want a tool to effectively solve current and future problems, not a hack to get me past the next little hurdle. I recently bought a drill press and I massively regret the time I wasted carefully lining up hand-held drills in the time before I got the drill press; by analogy I want to understand the best tools for the job and the responses on this thread have been wonderfully helpful to this end.