Author Topic: Rigol MSO 5000 hardware/software revisions  (Read 66169 times)

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Rigol MSO 5000 hardware/software revisions
« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2019, 08:33:46 pm »
I´ve asked them (rigol service) directly, if my scope are with the mods equal to those with 01.01 and they answered "yes".
But still the "old" hardware state will be shown.
I think, they modify all the scopes which were already produced(and not shipped to the sellers), simultaneously totally new produced doesn´t need the mods anymore and this will be marked by the 01.01 state.
It means your scope shows as HW 01.00?

Online Martin72

• Super Contributor
  • Testfield Technician
« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2019, 08:57:47 pm »
Yes and I have a possible explanation why the number doesn´t change.
For example the reduced fan noise : They must have the mod done on the pcb, because the fan is still the same as before (Sunon, 2-wire).
Same for the display.
Open it, doing whatever they must do for the mods - But:
Wherever the hardware version number is stored in, I couldn´t imagine that they will change it by re-programming/exchanging the affected parts.
Just modify/exchange the hardware that will be need.

Edit:

Therefore I asked rigol for exchange the delivery note - It´s title is "Repair" and this is 1) not correct, 2) irritating.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2019, 09:03:29 pm by Martin72 »

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2019, 09:34:32 pm »
Yes and I have a possible explanation why the number doesn´t change.
For example the reduced fan noise : They must have the mod done on the pcb, because the fan is still the same as before (Sunon, 2-wire).
Same for the display.
Open it, doing whatever they must do for the mods - But:
Wherever the hardware version number is stored in, I couldn´t imagine that they will change it by re-programming/exchanging the affected parts.