Author Topic: R&S RTC1002  (Read 20228 times)

Offline MiveraTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
R&S RTC1002
« on: September 17, 2019, 07:12:08 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm new to oscilloscopes and decided to pull the trigger on a new R&S RTC1002 after quite a bit of research. There isn't much info on these available on the internet yet. I was torn between this and a Keysight 1000X. I know the Rigol's are cheaper, but I suppose you can say I have a bias towards German engineering. A couple of the things I liked about the RTC1002 over the Keysight was:

1: The LAN port for remote viewing/control on a big screen. Who cares about screen size if you can do that? Not available on the 2 channel Keysight.

2: The component tester.

3: The ability to upgrade to 300mhz.

4: The fast boot up time

5: Made in the Czech Republic in R&S's own quality controlled factory rather than a 3rd party Chinese factory like the Keysight

There's a promotion on now to get the unit fully loaded for only $1900. Which is around $2000 cheaper than if I was to upgrade to all the same features later. It was tempting, but I'm not sure if I need 300mhz, or the MSO feature right now. I do like the signal generator feature, however its only $195 purchased alone. So I will probably order that.

If anyone else has any comments or feedback on this unit please share.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2019, 07:17:07 pm by Mivera »

Offline Hydrawerk

• Super Contributor
Re: R&S RTC1002
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2019, 09:32:59 pm »
These scopes are based on some old Hameg models from 2011 or so.
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2019, 09:42:26 pm »
Yes I read that they bought out Hameg in 2005. They seemed to have a reputation of building quality scopes. I can imagine all manufacturer's latest scopes are improved versions of previous models. Unless of course they just got into the business with a first model.