Author Topic: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply  (Read 73076 times)

Tatanka1961, stanm and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #225 on: July 02, 2020, 05:47:23 am »
There seems to be some kind of bug, if interface is changed to "TTL" it works, but after unit has been powered off and on again, unit doesn't respond to modbus queries anymore...
However, unit will start responding after one goes to the communication settings and to the interface menu option...
Try this updated firmware, now should be fixed...

 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline sequoia

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #226 on: July 02, 2020, 06:34:46 am »
Try this updated firmware, now should be fixed...

Thanks! Updated firmware fixed the issue.   I found the front USB somewhat inconvenient, but now can add rear USB connector (with an isolated USB to TTL adapter) using the header for the WiFi module...
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #227 on: July 02, 2020, 04:32:09 pm »
The Wifi connection doesn't seem to be working for me... Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?
To answer your question, at least I need to know what exactly you did, step by step.
In the meantime, I can only guess.

--- How to use WiFi ---

-- If WIFI still not configured

1. You need select WIFI interface in menu. exit menu (settings saved only after exit from menu)
2. Restart device (use Power button)
3. Now you will see red string: Server IP: ---.---.---.---
4. Run App (Note: both device must be in the same network)
5. In app click on sandwich, and in menu "Network distribution", it will wait for RD6006
6. After some time RD6006 will change the string to the yellow, which contains IP, and one more string "Connecting wifi...."
    If this not happens, search problems with network. (this is infinite loop, firmware just wait for the response from WIFI module).
7. in App click Next, end enter password, click confirm
8. Done, this steps need to make only once

-- If WIFI already configured

Run App first (it is working as a server), then start RD6006.
 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline jasonshepherd19

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #228 on: July 03, 2020, 12:39:15 am »
Okay, it's kind of hard to explain, but I'll try. When I power on the RD6006 the Server IP is already yellow without me doing anything. Then I try to connect to it in the app, and the RD6006 changes to "connecting wifi", but before it can actually connect it goes into the RD6006 main screen without connecting.
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #229 on: July 03, 2020, 08:31:45 am »
When I power on the RD6006 the Server IP is already yellow without me doing anything. Then I try to connect to it in the app, and the RD6006 changes to "connecting wifi", but before it can actually connect it goes into the RD6006 main screen without connecting.
So, your RD6006 WIFI already configured (assigned IP).
You no need click connect in the app at this moment, just app must be started!
Check that IP addresses is the same... otherwise reconfigure.
(in this screenshot can see that RD6006 can't connect to the server, cause I didn't run the App)



 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #230 on: July 03, 2020, 12:11:02 pm »
--- RD60062_V1.32.5.bin ---

+ Option "SkipExitIVSet" (prevents exit from edit mode for V-SET and I-SET when press ON/OFF button).
* Bugfixes

 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline AlexanderS

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: de
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #231 on: July 03, 2020, 01:41:29 pm »
Hi,

would it be possible to get a different mode for the wifi? It is a bit inconvenient, that the device wants to connect to the application. I would be better, if the device is the server and applications can connect to it. Or would it be easier to attach a esp-01 with esplink or something like that to the wifi header and use ttl mode? Is there anywhere a pinout of the wifi header?

Thank,
Alex 
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #232 on: July 03, 2020, 02:19:39 pm »
would it be possible to get a different mode for the wifi? It is a bit inconvenient, that the device wants to connect to the application. I would be better, if the device is the server and applications can connect to it.
Not!
Yes, I agree it is a strange logic...
I just assume that the developers did not want to implement WIFI scanning, setting the login and password.
---
Physically, this is possible.
But need write the firmware for the Wi-Fi module itself (all logic implemented there).
And, accordingly, another application.

Or would it be easier to attach a esp-01 with esplink or something like that to the wifi header and use ttl mode? Is there anywhere a pinout of the wifi header?
Yes you can use TTL mode. But the App will not work.
pinout can see on pcb.

 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline patman27

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 and RD6012 DC power supplies
« Reply #233 on: July 03, 2020, 09:35:12 pm »
Hi,

There are now 2 RD power supplies. The first one at 6A max and the new one at 12A. Abilities are very close.


I'm also curious about the practical differences between RD6006 and RD6012 for embedded design / hobbyist use.

Here are the specs I care about. According to the datasheet:
  • 👍🏼output current
  • 👍🏼output power
  • 👎🏼output current set & measure resolution
  • 👎🏼output voltage ripple

I have 2 questions:
  • Could the RD6012 current set & measure resolution be tweaked to match like the RD6006? Or is it hardwired that way to map the ADC to the gruntier current capacity?
  • For output at or below 6A (upper limit for RD6006) is there reason to believe ripple would be worse on the RD6012 than the RD6006? Re-read the datasheet. RD6012 is indeed 2.5x the output ripple @ 6A  :(

My full desire is to get the beefier "frontend" and upgrade the supply as needed.

- Patrick
« Last Edit: July 03, 2020, 09:41:28 pm by patman27 »
 
The following users thanked this post: onshi

Online thm_w

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2341
  • Country: ca
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 and RD6012 DC power supplies
« Reply #234 on: July 03, 2020, 11:58:30 pm »
I have 2 questions:
  • Could the RD6012 current set & measure resolution be tweaked to match like the RD6006? Or is it hardwired that way to map the ADC to the gruntier current capacity?
  • For output at or below 6A (upper limit for RD6006) is there reason to believe ripple would be worse on the RD6012 than the RD6006? Re-read the datasheet. RD6012 is indeed 2.5x the output ripple @ 6A  :(

My full desire is to get the beefier "frontend" and upgrade the supply as needed.

- Patrick

You are doing embedded design, there should be almost zero need for a 6A+ supply. If you need it you will know already (eg high power motors, etc.).
The ADC resolution is most likely hardwired, as you say, you have to map it to a wider range.
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #235 on: July 08, 2020, 06:43:56 pm »
Abour RD6006, You can see the results of my protocol reverse engineering here:
 https://github.com/msillano/RD6006-Super-power-supply
I am a little adjust the PDF, now it contains all registers.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2020, 07:23:08 am by UniSoft »
 
The following users thanked this post: jdev99, tppc

Offline myf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: fr
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #236 on: July 08, 2020, 07:46:52 pm »
Hi Unisoft, Hi everybody,

Is it possible to update this PSU device from my linux laptop or must I find a windows-PC in order to use the propriary Ruiden software for windows ?
I can't use the android software because my phone is under Ubuntu-touch !

I understand that common protocol uses a standard input/output way. But does it work for update software ?

Have a nice day !
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #237 on: July 08, 2020, 09:41:05 pm »
Hi Unisoft, Hi everybody,

Is it possible to update this PSU device from my linux laptop or must I find a windows-PC in order to use the propriary Ruiden software for windows ?
I can't use the android software because my phone is under Ubuntu-touch !

I understand that common protocol uses a standard input/output way. But does it work for update software ?

Have a nice day !
myf

You can try the below program, I made a device file for the RD6006/12.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/program-that-can-log-from-many-multimeters/msg2981004/#msg2981004
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #238 on: July 08, 2020, 10:47:27 pm »
Is it possible to update this PSU device from my linux laptop or must I find a windows-PC in order to use the propriary Ruiden software for windows ?
Windows only
 

Offline webhdx

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: pl
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #239 on: July 09, 2020, 09:34:30 am »
Anyone could send me WiFi module firmware? Bricked mine during experiments  ::)
 

Offline sequoia

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #240 on: July 11, 2020, 07:27:53 am »
Is it possible to update this PSU device from my linux laptop or must I find a windows-PC in order to use the propriary Ruiden software for windows ?

Did you mean updating the firmware from Linux? Quick search on github for RD6006 yielded Python script for updating firmware: https://github.com/tjko/riden-flashtool

There seems to be command line utility (Perl) as well: https://github.com/atu-guda/rd6006_op
And Python library for controlling these easily from Python scripts: https://github.com/Baldanos/rd6006



 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline diogoc

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: pt
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #241 on: July 16, 2020, 11:36:33 pm »
Anyone could send me WiFi module firmware? Bricked mine during experiments  ::)

I need it too. Anyone have a dump of the wifi firmware?
Thanks
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #242 on: July 19, 2020, 08:34:34 am »
Anyone have a dump of the wifi firmware?
attached... dumped with esptool.py
« Last Edit: August 06, 2020, 01:02:08 pm by UniSoft »
 
The following users thanked this post: diogoc

Offline Nandox7

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ie
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #243 on: July 25, 2020, 11:19:33 am »
UniSoft fantastic work.

Quick question about what can be change, would it be possible to change the behavior of the power button when you power it off?
At the moment it keeps pulsating that is quite annoying (at least for me), I'd mind having it staying lit but in a constant dim state not pulsating.

Cheers!


PS: I never understand why come companies don't provide ways for anyone to develop on top of their hardware they would benefit soo much from it.
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #244 on: July 25, 2020, 01:03:04 pm »
Quick question about what can be change, would it be possible to change the behavior of the power button when you power it off?
At the moment it keeps pulsating that is quite annoying (at least for me), I'd mind having it staying lit but in a constant dim state not pulsating.
Sure, possible...
 

Offline Mr.B

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Country: nz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #245 on: July 26, 2020, 12:24:42 am »
Agreed.
The pulsing green power LED is very annoying.

Thanks for the great work @UniSoft.
Time is the overseer of all things.
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #246 on: July 26, 2020, 11:17:58 am »
--- RD60062_V1.32.6.bin ---

+ Option "Power LED" (Setup the behavior of the power button LED in power off mode (Default-pulsating, 0%-off, etc...).
  (in modes 0% and 100% power consumption will be less (cause no need software generate PWM and can switch MCU in to the sleep mode)
* Bug fixes
 
The following users thanked this post: diogoc, thm_w, Mr.B, Cliff Matthews, jdev99, Jacon, elektrolitr

Offline Nandox7

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ie
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #247 on: July 27, 2020, 10:23:41 am »
Tested and approved.

Big thank you UniSoft!  :-+
 

Offline sequoia

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #248 on: July 27, 2020, 08:02:58 pm »
That "Power" button doesn't seem to really do anything but turn off LCD (and turn off output if it was on) ?

I recall unit consuming still about 1W even if "off"...
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #249 on: July 28, 2020, 07:51:02 am »
That "Power" button doesn't seem to really do anything but turn off LCD (and turn off output if it was on) ?
I recall unit consuming still about 1W even if "off"...
Yep, just turn off LCD, LEDs, Output, and also programmatically generates a pulsating PWM,
waiting for the Power button to be pressed, then restarts the controller (via software reset).
I think it is possible to slightly reduce consumption by turning off unnecessary peripherals,
switching unnecessary ports to analog mode, lowering the clock frequency (or maybe
even completely turning off the generator and switching to the internal RC generator).
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf