Author Topic: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?  (Read 853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SDMillerTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
My goal is to make a string of automated measurements to calibrate the amplitude of a sine wave against the output of an RMS circuit. I can get it all talking and I get my measurements. On the scope I see the measurement as 20.0221kHz, but VISA reports 'C1:PAVA FREQ', '2.00E+05.'

Question: Is there a way to get the full 4 digits of precision that I see on the scope out of pyVISA?  I can deal with the format but with it rounding off like that it's making my test look better than it is.

 

Offline alm

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2881
  • Country: 00
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2023, 09:26:32 pm »
This has nothing to do with PyVisa: PyVisa is just relaying what the scope sent back. You'll need to read the scope manual and see if the output format for measurements is configurable, or otherwise complain to Siglent.

Offline SDMillerTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2023, 11:13:19 pm »
I've read the manual from Siglent. I don't see anything that looks like a measurement configuration but thought perhaps I was overlooking it. That was really my question, does anyone know if it can be done and if so how? It's not obvious from the manual but I'm not a VISA or Siglent expert.
 

Offline abeyer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: us
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2023, 12:34:57 am »
Tried this?:
Code: [Select]
:FORM:DATA CUST,6
 

Offline SDMillerTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2023, 12:51:11 am »
I hadn't, thanks for the suggestion. Tried it on my scope via Siglent's EasyScope and it accepts it as a command with no error but unfortunately the output is still rounded to the 3 digits. I also tried reading back the one of  the custom params just in case it stored it there but no luck. Attached just in case I'm doing something wrong I can't see.


 >>>:FORM:DATA CUST,6
>>>C1:PAVA? Freq
C1:PAVA FREQ,2.16E+05Hz
>>>C1:PAVA? CUST, 6
>>>C1:PAVA? 6
>>>C1:PAVA? CUST6
 

Offline noisyee

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: cn
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2023, 06:51:59 am »
What FW version do you use?
I tried mine SDS1204X-E with latest V6.1.37R10, it works fine.
Code: [Select]
>>>FORM:DATA CUSTom,3
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,1.00E+03Hz
>>>FORM:DATA CUSTom,7
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,1.000000E+03Hz
Wait a second...
Okay, I got it. It's a bug :-DD
Code: [Select]
>>>FORM:DATA CUST,3
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,1.000000E+03Hz
>>>FORM:DATA CUST,5
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,1.000000E+03Hz
The short form of CUSTom doesn't work |O
Code: [Select]
>>>FORM:DATA CUSTom,6
>>>:FORMat:DATA?
FORM:DATA CUSTOM,6
>>>FORM:DATA CUST,3
>>>:FORMat:DATA?
FORM:DATA CUSTOM,6
 
The following users thanked this post: Svgeesus, SDMiller

Offline SDMillerTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2023, 03:40:26 pm »
Thanks a ton for sticking with this. It was a combination of the CUSTom and that I was running older FW. Upgraded to 1.37R10 and now I'm seeing exactly what you're seeing. That's what I needed!

>>>:FORMat:DATA?
FORM:DATA CUSTOM,7
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,3.003000E+04Hz
>>>FORM:DATA CUSTom,6
>>>:FORMat:DATA?
FORM:DATA CUSTOM,6
>>>C1:PAVA? FREQ
C1:PAVA FREQ,3.00300E+04Hz

Simon
 

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: SDS1104X-E using PyVisa. Can I get more sigfigs/precision?
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2023, 02:13:52 pm »
My goal is to make a string of automated measurements to calibrate the amplitude of a sine wave against the output of an RMS circuit. I can get it all talking and I get my measurements. On the scope I see the measurement as 20.0221kHz, but VISA reports 'C1:PAVA FREQ', '2.00E+05.'...

Doesn't 2.00E+05 represent 200kHz, or am I having a brain fart in my old age?  ;D
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf