Author Topic: Should I buy an oscilloscope ?  (Read 23875 times)

Offline prayag2010Topic starter

• Contributor
Should I buy an oscilloscope ?
« on: March 02, 2013, 05:08:20 pm »
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in electronics and I am looking forward to set up a workbench. But, I had a question;
Should I buy an oscilloscope ? It is too costly and I am not sure if I truly need it. Instead, should I buy two decent multimeters and other necessities ?

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Should I buy an oscilloscope ?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 05:13:48 pm »
It is too costly ...

Then don't buy one. An oscilloscope can be incredibly useful at times, but if you genuinely can't afford one, remember - hobbyists got by without them for decades before the price made them accessible. A lot of things can be done without an oscilloscope by applying a bit of cleverness.

That said - I don't know where you live, but if you look in the right places and have patience, you should not be surprised to find one for free or very close to it. It won't be a 350 MHz four-channel monster, but it will be an oscilloscope.
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Online mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2013, 06:02:23 pm »
Definitely yes - even an old, cheap/free analogue one is a lot better than nothing.
A scope IS a necessity for any non-trivial electronics work, and will help you learn.
Remember test gear generally holds value well.
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2013, 06:55:14 pm »
Definitely yes - even an old, cheap/free analogue one is a lot better than nothing.
A scope IS a necessity for any non-trivial electronics work, and will help you learn.
It is too costly...