Author Topic: Should I keep my current DSO?  (Read 8298 times)

Offline brainwashTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • Hack Correlation
Should I keep my current DSO?
« on: November 05, 2012, 10:44:58 pm »
Hi all, newbie here.
The question might seem stupid but bear with me.
I have an older (90s) Gould oscilloscope with 100 MHz bandwidth and 200 megasamples/s. It's somewhat of a limited edition since I cannot find any info on it, but I have on its lower end brothers. Lower end means limited in analog bandwidth, but functionally identical. I think it has about 1k capture size, not sure though. It does basic math (peak to peak, rms, rise/fall time, etc) but triggering is the most basic you can get.
On the upside it has pretty good accuracy on both the vertical and horizontal scale. Calibration signal is ok for various stuff. Oh, and it has an integrated plotter and CRT display.

I can get a new scope (but preferably under 400E) that I can declare as an expense on my company. This means it would essentially be one third cheaper or so. I could probably sell the old one for around 150-200E, but I might get also stuck with it. The reason for this is that I would like to make this decision by the end of the year, tax season is coming.

To summarize the question: should I keep my old scope or buy a newer (Chinese) model and hope to sell the old one?

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Should I keep my current DSO?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 01:03:30 am »
A modern low end DSO will be a decent step up.
Deep memory, FFT, advanced trigger, colour screen, smaller form factor etc.
I can't see what use you'd have for this one if you get a new modern DSO.

Dave.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 01:24:28 am »