Author Topic: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X  (Read 158041 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #150 on: December 18, 2015, 04:28:44 pm »
Had a chance to play with the replacement meter last night and this morning.  Came with 11r1 FW, updated it to 15r1 first thing.  Initial impressions are quite good, but I wish I could adjust the display contrast some.  Mine seems too bright and the black background is a bit washed out and grayish.  Good visibility at side viewing angles however.

Some other initial thoughts;
- The bar-graph is too slow and slows down the display readout when active, so this function is not really useful as is.  I like really fast bar meters to emulate an analog needle.
- The fast/med/slow display rate is about perfect for me with the 15R1 FW (as long as the bar-graph is disabled, see above)
- The Ethernet icon should disappear if your disable the LAN in the I/O settings.
- Love the trend chart and histogram, will need to play this this more today.
- Very good overall feel/look, great buttons.  Intuitive layout and UI (Agilent did a good job here).
- DC accuracy is good, well within spec but reads ever so slightly low (~20uV on the 20V scale, or 2 counts out) compared to my voltage ref and Fluke 189 (which agrees with my voltage ref).

AD584LH Ref          SDM3055
2.49986                 2.4997
5.00151                 5.0013
7.50077                 7.500[56]
10.00201               10.0018

At 20deg C, meter powered on overnight.

Only had a short time to play with it, will update if I find anything else later.  So far I like it.


*** Edit: Update ***
I take back what I said about the washed out and grayish display, turns out its not due to too much brightness or lack of contrast. On the standard numeric display, the background is a dark gray and not black.  On the trend chart the background is black and you can see the dark gray bordering the trend chart box.

The slight error in DC accuracy was due to the temperature drift in my reference.  I played with cooling and warming the reference and can see the drift plain as day on the trend chart.  Once at the cal temp, the meter is spot on.

I have not tested the continuity speed on older FW, but on 15R1 the continuity beep is very fast.  I suspect the continuity speed was also improved with the display speed on the new FW.





« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 05:19:14 pm by kj7e »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #151 on: December 18, 2015, 07:06:14 pm »
Had a chance to play with the replacement meter last night and this morning.  Came with 11r1 FW, updated it to 15r1 first thing.  Initial impressions are quite good, but I wish I could adjust the display contrast some.  Mine seems too bright and the black background is a bit washed out and grayish.  Good visibility at side viewing angles however.

Some other initial thoughts;
- The bar-graph is too slow and slows down the display readout when active, so this function is not really useful as is.  I like really fast bar meters to emulate an analog needle.
- The fast/med/slow display rate is about perfect for me with the 15R1 FW (as long as the bar-graph is disabled, see above)
- The Ethernet icon should disappear if your disable the LAN in the I/O settings.
- Love the trend chart and histogram, will need to play this this more today.
- Very good overall feel/look, great buttons.  Intuitive layout and UI (Agilent did a good job here).
- DC accuracy is good, well within spec but reads ever so slightly low (~20uV on the 20V scale, or 2 counts out) compared to my voltage ref and Fluke 189 (which agrees with my voltage ref).

AD584LH Ref          SDM3055
2.49986                 2.4997
5.00151                 5.0013
7.50077                 7.500[56]
10.00201               10.0018

At 20deg C, meter powered on overnight.

Only had a short time to play with it, will update if I find anything else later.  So far I like it.
Good to hear you got the replacement unit quickly.

Re the LAN indicator.
Yes, it's on all the time.
Did you see part of it shows red but when connected to a LAN this indicator then assumes just one colour?
This active LAN indicator is a recent addition to all Siglent LAN capable products.

Now, at a glance one can identify if you have an active LAN connection or not, and one might wonder why you'd want to turn off ALL indication of the instrument's LAN connection state?

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #152 on: December 18, 2015, 07:11:40 pm »
Im fine with the red x on the LAN icon if the LAN is enabled and there is no link.  What I would prefer is the LAN icon to disappear from the screen (like the USB icon does) if the LAN is disabled in the I/O setting. 
 

Offline Muttley Snickers

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2111
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #153 on: December 18, 2015, 07:36:03 pm »
Very nice and honest preliminary review kj7e and very much appreciated.... :-+

I wanted a stand alone graphing meter mainly for extended duration logging and as history shows I have been more than tempted on a number of occasions to swing towards the SDM-3055, glad now that I waited until others had established it's place in the pecking order and I'm still in need of a mains powered bench unit for field work.

To fill the void I have a 289 on the way and should have it early this coming week, l love the 189s and will never part with these, just a great meter.

Keep the information coming If you can as we are yet to see how these go over time, unfortunately with the exchange rate down here they are no longer a cheap alternative meter for a hobbyist and professionals that can claim them as part of the business generally dont mind spending a bit more for established equipment.

Many thanks and seasons greetings.

Muttley

« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 07:39:30 pm by Muttley Snickers »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #154 on: December 18, 2015, 07:43:09 pm »
Im fine with the red x on the LAN icon if the LAN is enabled and there is no link.  What I would prefer is the LAN icon to disappear from the screen (like the USB icon does) if the LAN is disabled in the I/O setting.
I get that, yes the USB icon only shows when a connection is made BUT only when a memory stick is connected to the front panel USB, not for rear panel USB to PC connections.
Should this be changed to indicate BOTH front AND rear USB connection?


AFAIK you're the first (on EEVblog) to have asked for this and I do understand everyone each have their preferences for how they like their instrument to behave.
I do see your point however, there is a LAN ON/OFF toggle in the UI and when OFF one might expect the LAN indicator to disappear.

Anyway..... Noted. Will forward to Siglent.


Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #155 on: December 18, 2015, 07:51:00 pm »
Thanks Muttley,  I also have a 289, its a few years newer than my 189 but the 189 seems to have drifted less than the 289. Both killer handheld DMMs for sure.  I have a UNI-T un171b on order as well, just wants something not as valuable to toss around.  I had a HP 34401a 10 years ago, paid $250 for it and it was like new (surplus Gov contract deal).  Like a fool I sold it when I moved to a new job and state.  I dont need a 6.5 digit .0035% DMM, and its just a hobby for me, so the SDM3055 should work out well.

I've warmed my room up a few deg, it seems the meter and voltage ref are now within one digit, cant ask for much more than that.  One thing I forgot to mention above, the fan is not a bother at all, very quiet.
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #156 on: December 18, 2015, 08:04:44 pm »
Im fine with the red x on the LAN icon if the LAN is enabled and there is no link.  What I would prefer is the LAN icon to disappear from the screen (like the USB icon does) if the LAN is disabled in the I/O setting.
I get that, yes the USB icon only shows when a connection is made BUT only when a memory stick is connected to the front panel USB, not for rear panel USB to PC connections.
Should this be changed to indicate BOTH front AND rear USB connection?


AFAIK you're the first (on EEVblog) to have asked for this and I do understand everyone each have their preferences for how they like their instrument to behave.
I do see your point however, there is a LAN ON/OFF toggle in the UI and when OFF one might expect the LAN indicator to disappear.

Anyway..... Noted. Will forward to Siglent.

Since the rear USB was intended for the GPIB dongle, I think the USB icon should only display with the front USB port.  The LAN icon is not a big deal, just something I noticed and thought would be a nice touch up item.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 08:06:35 pm by kj7e »
 

Offline Muttley Snickers

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2111
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #157 on: December 18, 2015, 08:11:48 pm »
I thought that the GPIB dongle was an A/ front port interface and the B/ rear port was only for the pc, that was the indication given earlier in the thread.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #158 on: December 18, 2015, 08:17:21 pm »
Im fine with the red x on the LAN icon if the LAN is enabled and there is no link.  What I would prefer is the LAN icon to disappear from the screen (like the USB icon does) if the LAN is disabled in the I/O setting.
I get that, yes the USB icon only shows when a connection is made BUT only when a memory stick is connected to the front panel USB, not for rear panel USB to PC connections.
Should this be changed to indicate BOTH front AND rear USB connection?


AFAIK you're the first (on EEVblog) to have asked for this and I do understand everyone each have their preferences for how they like their instrument to behave.
I do see your point however, there is a LAN ON/OFF toggle in the UI and when OFF one might expect the LAN indicator to disappear.

Anyway..... Noted. Will forward to Siglent.

Since the rear USB was intended for the GPIB dongle, I think the USB icon should only display with the front USB port.  Its not a big deal, just something I noticed and thought would be a nice touch up item.
Not only GPIB.
EasyDMM software can be used via LAN and USB connection and instrument control can be achieved with EasyDMM using either connection. If FW was to be modified as you suggest I see no reason why a rear USB connection indication could not be added too.

Do you not agree?
I thought that the GPIB dongle was an A/ front port interface and the B/ rear port was only for the pc, that was the indication given earlier in the thread.
Quite right Pete, just checked my GPIB dongle, it has a tethered USB A cable and therefore must be used in the front panel USB.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #159 on: December 18, 2015, 08:21:41 pm »
^ Sounds fair enough to me.
 

Offline Muttley Snickers

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2111
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #160 on: December 18, 2015, 08:34:31 pm »
Thanks tautech, that picture of the dongle on the Siglent site which is linked earlier in the thread does not show an intergrated cable affixed and gives the impression that the dongle has either an A or B USB receptacle.

I always imagined that it was exactly the same as the Keysight GPIB dongle.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #161 on: December 18, 2015, 08:52:39 pm »
Thanks tautech, that picture of the dongle on the Siglent site which is linked earlier in the thread does not show an intergrated cable affixed and gives the impression that the dongle has either an A or B USB receptacle.

I always imagined that it was exactly the same as the Keysight GPIB dongle.
Quite so Muttley.

I've added to a report to Siglent that the GPIB adapter need have USB B type connection for use with the rear USB B so to keep the front panel USB A connection available for USB memory sticks and such.

Even if the GPIB adapter had an USB A socket instead of the USB A tethered cable then the supplied Siglent USB A to B universal cable could be used with the rear USB B connection and then free the front USB A connector while GPIB is in use.

Edit
Further explanation.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 10:58:02 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #162 on: December 18, 2015, 09:06:54 pm »
Very nice!  Even though the display is limited to 5.5 digits at 240,000 counts, you can extract extra resolution via the histogram.

Here I am measuring my 2.49986v reference, the display is limited 2.4998v but by setting the span and center for the histogram I'm able to see the average reading is really closer to 2.499831v.  Of course this is well beyond the rated accuracy and stability of the internal reference, but that's still cool.  I figure that's within .0012%.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 09:37:45 pm by kj7e »
 

Offline Muttley Snickers

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2111
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #163 on: December 18, 2015, 10:56:04 pm »
Just so people know and don't have to go searching for information these are the pictures below of both USB-GPIB interfaces since the release of the product excluding the onboard GPIB which was never released, the first Batronix picture appears to be the current and correct adapter provided with the SDM-3055A, the second image is from the Siglent US site and may not be correct as far as I can tell, the main Siglent site shows either no picture at all, conflicting images or the incorrect one depending on which route you take.

I don't know anything about their USB-GPIB interfaces for the scopes, it could be either one.

« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 11:09:31 pm by Muttley Snickers »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #164 on: December 18, 2015, 11:17:55 pm »
Just so people know and don't have to go searching for information these are the pictures below of both USB-GPIB interfaces since the release of the product excluding the onboard GPIB which was never released, the first Batronix picture is the current and correct adapter provided with the SDM-3055A, the second image is from the Siglent US site and is not correct as far as I can tell, the main Siglent site shows either no picture at all, conflicting images or the incorrect one depending on which route you take.

I don't know anything about their USB-GPIB interfaces for the scopes, it could be either one.
Thanks Muttley.

All Siglent products that are GPIB capable use this same GPIB adapter, it is an Accessory for most products although the SDM3055 range are the only Siglent products at this time offered with or without it: 3055S or 3055A.

http://www.siglentamerica.com/prodcut-fjxx.aspx?fjid=403&id=1369&tid=1&T=2
RRP is US$155 + taxes if any.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 01:15:26 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2108
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #165 on: December 19, 2015, 04:08:27 am »
Very nice!  Even though the display is limited to 5.5 digits at 240,000 counts, you can extract extra resolution via the histogram.

Here I am measuring my 2.49986v reference, the display is limited 2.4998v but by setting the span and center for the histogram I'm able to see the average reading is really closer to 2.499831v.  Of course this is well beyond the rated accuracy and stability of the internal reference, but that's still cool.  I figure that's within .0012%.

That is cool; can you extract more precision via LAN/SCPI commands?
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #166 on: December 19, 2015, 05:30:15 pm »
^ Alank2, Im not sure.

Update to my first impressions found here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg824341/#msg824341

I take back what I said about the washed out and grayish display, turns out its not due to too much brightness or lack of contrast. On the standard numeric display, the background is a dark gray and not black.  On the trend chart the background is black and you can see the dark gray bordering the trend chart box.

The slight (but very well with in spec) error in DC accuracy was due to the temperature drift in my reference.  I played with cooling and warming the reference and can see the drift plain as day on the trend chart.  Once at the cal temp, the meter is spot on.

I have not tested the continuity speed on older FW, but on 15R1 the continuity beep is very fast.  I suspect the continuity speed was also improved with the display speed on the new FW.

Feature request, it would be handy to have a way to quickly zero out the highlighted digits when adjusting settings such as the span or center voltages rather than having to use the up and down.  Maybe by pressing the center OK button would set the highlighted digit to zero.

 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #167 on: December 28, 2015, 09:20:16 pm »
New DMMCheck Plus just showed up in the mail today  :-+

           DMMCheck     SDM3055
VDC     5.0000          4.99998
VAC     4.999            4.9991
Hz       100.004800   100.00, 9.9995ms (100.00500Hz)
mAAC  1.0003          0.9997
mADC  1.0003          1.00023
Ohm    99.981          99.975
Ohm    999.79          999.75
kOhm  10.0008        10.0003
kOhm  100.034        100.038
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 827
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #168 on: January 19, 2016, 01:21:48 am »
I was reading where DR. Frank was doing some power on stability/warm-up time testes on the Keysight 34465a and 34470a, so I though I do a quick test on the SDM3055 (although not nearly as accurate as DR. Frank's).  Using the 5v DMMCheck Plus reference, powered on for several hours at 23deg C,  I powered on the SDM3055 and immediately switched to the trend chart with a manual vertical.  Here is the trend after 30min,  you can see it SDM3055 settled down in about 6 min and only drifted about 25uV.  Span = 200uV full scale.

Start up = 5.000030v
After 6min = 5.000005v
After 38min = 5.000005v

I noticed from early on, the MAX6325C reference has a very good TC.
 

Offline Elrod

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #169 on: February 13, 2016, 01:49:41 pm »
Has anyone heard anything about another firmware update for the SDM3055?  It's been quite a while.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #170 on: February 13, 2016, 07:06:51 pm »
Has anyone heard anything about another firmware update for the SDM3055?  It's been quite a while.
Yes, last one was 2015-09-29 and the next one will be due soon. Do you have any specific problems you are needing fixed?
The Siglent FW team are on Chinese New Year break ATM and are due back next week so we might know if there's been progress soon.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Elrod

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #171 on: February 14, 2016, 02:38:46 pm »
The specific issue is placing the meter in Continuity mode and then shutting it down.  When I turn it back on it will go crazy beeping and clicking with random digits on display.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #172 on: February 15, 2016, 09:22:28 am »
The specific issue is placing the meter in Continuity mode and then shutting it down.  When I turn it back on it will go crazy beeping and clicking with random digits on display.
Yes, confirmed on my demo unit.
FW 15R1 with power on set to "Last".
Power on set to "Factory" does not replicate this bug.

Reported to Siglent.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #173 on: February 18, 2016, 08:46:27 am »
The specific issue is placing the meter in Continuity mode and then shutting it down.  When I turn it back on it will go crazy beeping and clicking with random digits on display.
I'm told by Siglent this issue has been resolved in the Beta of the next FW, so hopefully not too much longer to wait guys.

I'll let you all know when it's released or keep an eye out for it on the the Siglent FW page:
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj.aspx?id=15
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19192
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #174 on: February 20, 2016, 07:46:41 am »
See member mojoe's comments on the accuracy comparison between the 2 SDM3055 units that he owns:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/siglent-sdm3055-comparison/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf