Author Topic: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X  (Read 125986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #225 on: June 15, 2016, 06:57:18 pm »
Tested the new EasyDMM:
Version Tested: V100R001B01D01P05
OS Used: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
VISA drivers: NI Visa Shared Components v.5.6.0
Meter/Firmware used: Siglent SDM3055 with P01.16R2.

Fixed (compared to EasySDM v1.1.1.2) :
+ Screen update problem in the upper part of the display
+ Change Histongrom --> Histogram

Not fixed (compared to EasySDM v1.1.1.2) :
Major (new)
- Pressing Shift/Local on the SDM3055 will show the reading on the actual display of the meter, however after doing this changing range (e.g. from DCV-->ACV) on EasyDMM leads to "Program Not Responding" so application hangs and needs to be killed. SDM3055 stays at connection status (Top Right) "Remote" and also does not respond anymore until EasyDMM is killed and then goes to connection status "Local".

Medium (new)
- Pressing Run/Stop on EasyDMM will set SDM3055 from trigger status (top left) "Immed Trig"  {green color}  to "Stopped" {red color} and the measurement reading is shown on the actual display of the meter. Pressing Run/Stop on EasyDMM again will show trigger status "Immed Trig" {white color} on SDM3055, so in white color instead of (previous) green color and also does NOT blank out the (previous) measurement reading on the actual display of the meter back to ".. ....." (like it was before pressing Run/Stop). (a work around is to switch the range and switch range back)
- The Rel On/Off on EasyDDM is shown on the 5th function key whereas this function is implemented and displayed on the 6th key of the SDM3055 meter (may be minor, but I find this annoying)
- The Range button on EasyDMM is only there for show there is no functionality. You cannot set "Manual" range like on the SDM3055 meter. You can however use the 1st function key in EasyDMM to select Auto or a specific range (e.g.2V, 20V etc) but not toggle between Manual and Auto. The + and - range buttons are also there for show and do not function as the SDM3055 meter.  (may be minor, but I find this annoying)

Minor / Cosmetic (new)
- Branding "Siglent" on the Top Left of EasyDMM is now blank instead of the nice Siglent Logo of the previous version (branding guys, I know that is important !!)
- Branding "SDM3055 Digital Multimeter" on the Top Left of EasyDMM next to the Siglent Logo is now blank instead the previous version

Minor / Cosmetic (already reported)
- Change 'Scaner' text above 'Temp' button on the picture to 'Scanner' (typo)
- Change UI colors on the screen to match those on the real SDM3055
- Change the Led color on the left from red to green (like on the real SDM3055)
- Change '2nd' button on the picture to 'Dual' (like on the real SDM3055)
- Add text "Display" above the "Math" button on the picture (like on the real SDM3055


Overall I am happy with the new version, but I hope the Shift/Local bug will be fixed soon.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2016, 09:46:16 am by flash2b »
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #226 on: June 15, 2016, 08:15:54 pm »
Thanks very much flash2b for your feedback and well written analysis of the latest EasySDM software.  :clap:

If I may I'd like to comment on these:
Quote
Minor / Cosmetic (new)
- Branding "Siglent" on the Top Left of EasyDMM is now blank instead of the nice Siglent Logo of the previous version (branding guys, I know that is important !!)
- Branding "SDM3055 Digital Multimeter" on the Top Left of EasyDMM next to the Siglent Logo is now blank instead the previous version
Siglent rebrand some of their equipment and I'd imagine the branding has been purposely omitted but I do agree as OEM of the SDM3055 the Siglent branding and model# should be included in Siglent supplied software.

It goes without saying that your comments will be considered by the software engineers.

Thanks.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #227 on: June 15, 2016, 08:43:51 pm »
The whole branding with this new version is gone and it now looks OEM. Previously the program icon was a Siglent logo (now, in my opinion, an ugly icon) and the "About EasyDMM" also does not mention Siglent anymore. Seems also they had this software on the shelf, since it is Copyrighted 2015.

I find the EasyDMM a good addition to the SDM3055 meter itself, being the latter the most important to be free of bugs.

There is however also a (small) bug in the continuity function (Meter/Firmware used: Siglent SDM3055 with P01.16R2).

To replicate the bug you need to:
1. Switch continuity mode
2. Make sure the beeper is set to on
3. Press the Threshold function key
4. Decrease or Increase the threshold ohm value
5. Now make a short with your probes
6. The beeper will not make any sound !!!!
7. Toggle beeper to off and on again
8. The beeper will make sound

The funny thing is that it works the same when you don't press the Threshold function key and then the beeper sound will stay on. So it looks like that pressing "Threshold" will mute the beeper which it should not do !
« Last Edit: June 15, 2016, 09:19:46 pm by flash2b »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #228 on: June 15, 2016, 08:51:36 pm »
There is however also a (small) bug in the continuity function (Meter/Firmware used: Siglent SDM3055 with P01.16R2).

To replicate the bug you need to:
1. Switch continuity mode
2. Make sure the beeper is set to on
3. Press the Threshold function key
4. Decrease or Increase the threshold ohm value
5. Now make a short with your probes
6. The beeper will not make any sound !!!!
7. Toggle beeper to off and on again
8. The beeper will make sound

The funny thing is that it works the same when you don't press the Threshold function key and then the beeper sound will stay on. So it looks like that pressing "Threshold" will mute the beeper which it should not do !
Does setting the Relative selector either Off or ON (with probes shorted or link between inputs) affect what you are seeing in any way?
« Last Edit: June 15, 2016, 09:44:28 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #229 on: June 15, 2016, 08:55:26 pm »
tautech, I have updated my analysis that you've quoted. It seems the Threshold function mutes the beeper. It is step 3 in my replication steps description. I've numbered the steps now to make it more clear. Step 3 shuts the sound of the beeper off.

If I go to Math --> Limits and repeat my continuity test, the beeper is making sound again (as it should) and is working fine. So it seems that it is only linked to the specific screen that contains the Threshold functionality.

What do you mean with "Relative Selector" ?

After performing the steps above, if you switch function (e.g. DCV) and go back to Continuity the screen shows the Beeper is "Off". This confirms that pressing "Threshold" always changes the beeper state, while it should keep the beeper state in tact.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2016, 09:11:17 pm by flash2b »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #230 on: June 15, 2016, 09:06:10 pm »
What do you mean with "Relative Selector"
Zero readings can be set Relative to whatever you are needing to measure.
For example readings in some modes wander with open probes and this apparent over-sensitivity can be nulled using the Relative setting which will adjust the zero to the point in time when it is engaged and whatever you are connected or not to at that time.

I'm just typing ATM and not at my 3055 so I'm ensuring we get as much info from you in order to replicate your findings.  ;)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #231 on: June 15, 2016, 09:12:43 pm »
Relative (Rel On/Off) is only available in Resistance 2W & 4W mode. Not in the continuity mode.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #232 on: June 15, 2016, 09:42:40 pm »
Relative (Rel On/Off) is only available in Resistance 2W & 4W mode. Not in the continuity mode.
Relative (Rel On/Off) is available in many/most measurement modes, OK not in Continuity.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #233 on: June 16, 2016, 07:39:07 am »
You are right and have rephrased it nicely.

If you or someone else on the EEVBlog can confirm my reported bug (beeper bug), that will be very helpful. The SDM3055 is really a nice meter and Siglent made a lot of progress to solve issues in the past.

 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #234 on: June 16, 2016, 07:58:04 am »
You are right and have rephrased it nicely.

If you or someone else on the EEVBlog can confirm my reported bug (beeper bug), that will be very helpful. The SDM3055 is really a nice meter and Siglent made a lot of progress to solve issues in the past.
Confirmed with my unit as you've described in reply #227 and BTW Tech support are aware of your findings.

Thanks for your efforts.  :-+
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #235 on: July 05, 2016, 09:25:49 am »
Did you get any feedback of the issue with EasyDMM and/or the Beeper Bug of the SDM3055 ???
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #236 on: July 05, 2016, 09:55:55 am »
Did you get any feedback of the issue with EasyDMM and/or the Beeper Bug of the SDM3055 ???
Yes, acknowledgments and comment that both would be addressed, other than that no more than I mentioned in my previous reply however from the FW page on the website:
Current Version: 1.01.01.15R1 | Published?2015-09-29

Which means a FW update is now well overdue......which of course this means Siglent are busy incorporating the suggestions that you have offered.  ;)
If you don't spot the new FW before I do I'll be posting a link to it here when it's released.

Even though Siglent are not apparently active on EEVblog I can assure watchers they have setup alerts for most of the threads on Siglent products and often are aware of problems by the time I've reported them.

Thanks all for your ongoing support.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3069
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #237 on: August 11, 2016, 09:11:20 am »
There is new member in Siglent DMM products.
New pruct is in X-instruments category.

SDM3045X.

Overall functionally like  SDM3055 but new SDM3045X is 60000 count, advertised as  4½ digit DMM   
- or is it better say 4 3/4 or 4 4/5  or even 4 5/6 as some manufacturer name 60000 count meter.. ( SDM3055 have 240000 and it is named as 5 1/2 digit)

If look what is Tektronix opinion, yes world is free for opinions:
 http://www.tek.com/document/whitepaper/understanding-handheld-dmm-specifications
then it can name least as 4 4/5 digit or more.
 

But if use other approach to digits:
Resolution digits Digits = log10 (counts)  and this give with 60000 count  roughly 4 3/4.
There is many meter what say 5 1/2 digit but markets have adopted and accepted these 200000 (199999) counts can name 5 1/2 digits, and also this is well explained. Confusion and different opinions for marketing "digits" start just after this... 1/3, 2/3, 3/4, 4/5, 4/6 and so on.....

There is one road away from this. Talk about counts as primary when talk about  resolution and secondary can tell how many digits if even need.


Data sheet pdf


Resolution is lower but relative to resolution difference true accuracy do not look bad, is it even better in some cases.
(SDM3055 one year DCV is listed as 0.015% and SDM3045X as 0.01%)

If look more carefully accuracy specifications, it need look percent + count total.
If measure 5V and it show exactly 5.0000V (full range 6V) error can be  0.01%(from display) + 6 count.
(one count in this range is 0.0001V)

max(%) 5.0005V + 6 count  so max  is  5.0011V (0.022% more)
min(%) 4.9995V - 6 count so min is 4.9989V  (0.022% less)


But wait a minute, what happend if I measure and display show exactly 10.000V
Now meter is in 60V range.  But, in this range specifications tell: 0.02%(from display) + 4 count.
(one count in this range is 0.001)

max(%) 10.002V + 4 count so max is 10.006V (0.06% more)
min(%)  9.998V - 4 count so min is 9.994V (0.06% less)

If these errors specified by number of counts are true random noise without including other type of errors then average can do some trick.

If you wonder these real % take your DMM specifications, read carefully  and do calculations.

Also this was just example and not at all like worst case finding. Worst cases are when you look just some border values.
Example just >6V or just >600mV.  These is not Siglent special, this kind of things are normal, independent of if meter is Fluke, Keithley, AVO,  HuiHai or Utrend.


« Last Edit: August 12, 2016, 07:05:55 am by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline Tjuurko

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMM SDM3055
« Reply #238 on: August 12, 2016, 06:29:01 am »
Overall functionally like  SDM3055 but new SDM3045X is 4½ digit. (60000 count when SDM3055 have 240000)
SDM3045X - 65999 count (60000 +10%)
SDM3055 - 239999 count (200000 +20%)
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045
« Reply #239 on: August 17, 2016, 10:21:07 am »
Counting starts from 0, so no need to subtract 1 from the maximum count.

The front of the SDM3045X looks slightly different as the SDM3055(A). The up, down and range button have different color and the top/bottom are triangular. Looks very similar as the SDG2000X series and new Rigol test gear.

I wonder which reference they put into the SDM3045X, anyone knows ?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #240 on: September 01, 2016, 08:40:16 am »
The front of the SDM3045X looks slightly different as the SDM3055(A). The up, down and range button have different color and the top/bottom are triangular.
It is, but only front panel colours and minor font differences and a different coloured button or two.

SDM3045X with SDM3055 below, both showing VDC


After a quick crash through the menus the only difference that was apparent in the UI was the lack of any filter in VDC. The VDC filter is present in the SDM3055 UI.

Interestingly there appears to be a different series of FW in the newer SDM3045X and that may account for the much faster booting in this new model.  :clap:

These new X series models have horns  >:D , no not really, but feet that extend over each end of the instrument and protect both front and rear BNC's, buttons and knobs, so much so that they could well be stored on a cupboard either end up or such when not in use.
The feet are medium hard rubber and screw fixed, 2 for each end. They have small recesses that accommodate the matching lugs of another X series instrument when stacked.

Stacking feet



I wonder which reference they put into the SDM3045X, anyone knows ?
At a glance it's the same inside as a SDM3055
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg637615/#msg637615

SDM3045X PCB


Edit
And BTW the SDM3045X has NO fan.
Added links for SDM3045X to the first post in this thread.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 10:19:14 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #241 on: September 01, 2016, 09:29:40 am »
Thanks for the pictures. (The reference is however located under the metal shielding, so still a 'secret')

The rubber feed are exactly the same as the Rigol DP832 and other Siglent X series equipment.

The ranges on the 3055 are much better equiped/balanced for daily use, eg. the weird 600V AND 1000V on the 3045X

3055: 200mV, 2V, 20V, 200V, 1000V
3045X: 600mV, 6V, 60V, 600V, 1000V

I like the look of the 3045X better.

Is the beeper bug also present in the 3045X ? What is the firmware version in the new machine? Is it really different or did they just use a faster processor/flash card?

I also wonder if Siglent is gonna release a 3055X model.... (and stop producing the 3055 and 3055A model, where the A model is just a regular 3055 with a GPIB USB dongle)
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 09:50:05 am by flash2b »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #242 on: September 01, 2016, 10:10:51 am »
Thanks for the pictures. (The reference is however located under the metal shielding, so still a 'secret')
No it's not, see the 3055 pic I linked:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg637615/#msg637615

Quote
I like the look of the 3045X better.
You might like the sound of it more.....NO fan.  :-+

Quote
Is the beeper bug also present in the 3045X ?
No, and if the Beeper is toggled off and on in a 3055 the bug goes away.

Quote
What is the firmware version in the new machine?
New FW
5.01.01.01

Current FW for the 3055 is 01.16R2

Quote
I also wonder if Siglent is gonna release a 3055X model...
There's every likelihood Siglent will update the 3055 to an X but there has to be some small changes in the case to mount the feet. Some other existing models are getting "facelifts" and another one will be announced in a few days.

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #243 on: September 01, 2016, 10:45:30 am »
I meant the reference of the 3045X is still a secret. Your 3045X pic has a big can over the reference.

So no chance on a 3065X ???
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #244 on: September 01, 2016, 10:56:18 am »
I meant the reference of the 3045X is still a secret. Your 3045X pic has a big can over the reference.
Doesn't Dave take a look at under the can in the 3055 teardown?
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-829-siglent-sdm3055-bench-multimeter-teardown/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #245 on: September 01, 2016, 11:02:44 am »
True, but I recon the 3045X has a different version/type/grade since the tolerance is also different compared to the 3055.

The 3055 has an MAX6325 1ppm/°C, Low-Noise, +2.5V Voltage References grade 'C' (best grade).
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 11:07:39 am by flash2b »
 

Offline SimonD

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 82
  • Country: 00
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #246 on: September 01, 2016, 06:07:54 pm »
My question is simple. Why someone should buy the 4 1/2 (3045) version when the difference between the 5 1/2 (3055) version is only a few Dollars or Euro. I think a new version to the upper level 6 1/2 digits (let say 3065) with some updated futures. It could be a better choice with the same price difference in the upper level.   ;) Enough competitive to Keysight 34461A.
Maybe in the near future ...
Also, Rigol have long time ago to present something new (TFT version for example) in Workbench DMM area ...
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16023
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #247 on: September 01, 2016, 09:15:05 pm »
My question is simple. Why someone should buy the 4 1/2 (3045) version when the difference between the 5 1/2 (3055) version is only a few Dollars or Euro.
$389 vs $469 is more than a few bucks for many.
There's many that don't require even 5 1/2 digits. Everyone needs different specs depending on whether you're a voltnut or not. While the units are not portable like a DMM,  their cost is no more than top end DMM's and the feature set is similar.

Quote
I think a new version to the upper level 6 1/2 digits (let say 3065) with some updated futures.
Then you get into a more competitive market segment where any market share for Siglent will be smaller.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #248 on: September 07, 2016, 01:18:02 pm »
We have done a short SDM3045X unboxing video where you can see also the booting speed.
We have units to test, let us know if you like to see anything special.



Ciao
Technical Support
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 602
Re: Siglent NEW Bench DMMs SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #249 on: September 08, 2016, 07:14:30 am »
The horns are nice if the SDM30xx are beeing used as portable devices but on a desk or shelf I do not like them.
I am wondering if you can mount the front bumper-horns rotated by 180° (=showing to the back), so they are out the way. It would be quite clever from Siglent and indeed it looks like they can become unscrewed and remounted again rotated.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2016, 07:17:16 am by Pinkus »
 
The following users thanked this post: rf-loop


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf