Author Topic: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X  (Read 169841 times)

dshorthill and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Calvin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: de
    • Calvin´s audio page
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #475 on: March 21, 2020, 10:10:51 pm »
Hi,

their SDM3065X hasn't been firmware updated since march '19 even though they know about and confirmed a major bug.
To see almost any other of their devices beeing updated on a speedy agenda is quite disappointing.
Hey Sigent ... if You're reading this ... get Your Flagship dmm finally updated !!!  It's long overdue.

regards
Calvin

..... it builds character!
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 20070
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #476 on: March 21, 2020, 10:33:37 pm »
Hi,

their SDM3065X hasn't been firmware updated since march '19 even though they know about and confirmed a major bug.
To see almost any other of their devices beeing updated on a speedy agenda is quite disappointing.
Hey Sigent ... if You're reading this ... get Your Flagship dmm finally updated !!!  It's long overdue.

regards
Calvin
Seen a beta so it's not far away.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Come visit us at EMEX 15th - 17th February. Hall 1 Stand 1002
https://www.emex.co.nz/
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #477 on: March 22, 2020, 12:11:23 pm »
...Seen a beta so it's not far away...
Is that something in sight because of the 3055 bugs ?
Since I am currently sitting on 3055 for many hours a day, I would definitely offer myself as a beta tester.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline Calvin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: de
    • Calvin´s audio page
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #478 on: March 22, 2020, 12:19:58 pm »
Hi,

let´s hope that this time it is indeed not far away ..... half a year ago it was already ´not far  away´also.  :-\

regards
Calvin
..... it builds character!
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #479 on: March 26, 2020, 12:33:17 pm »
New firmware for SDM3065X

Version V3.01.01.07
8.31 MB
https://int.siglent.com/upload_file/zip/firmware/A_multimeter/SDM3065X_3.01.01.07_EN.zip

Release notes
1. Add customer defined senor function
2. Add PT1000 thermistor
3. Add buzzer volume control function.
4. Added customer defined time base in the trend diagram
5. Added recording measurement data to external U disk
6. Fix some bugs: change the text size in the Dual display,
the screen saving setup will be lost after reboot, move
the CSV save function from the utility page to acquire
page.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #480 on: March 26, 2020, 12:54:53 pm »
Thank you for your attention.  :-+

That gives me hope that something will come soon for the 3055.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #481 on: March 26, 2020, 01:04:51 pm »
PT1000 was already available for the 3055.
(I have been using it for some time now, I personally prefer it much more than the stubborn thermocouple).

Then it would be interesting if you can also use the bug for the 3065X (which still exists on the 3055),
namely that when switching on with temperature measurement (sensor connected) the relay rattle and overload is displayed, have been eliminated.

A 3065X owner could test that.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline Calvin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: de
    • Calvin´s audio page
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #482 on: April 01, 2020, 06:28:27 am »
Hi,

just updated the firmware yesterday and   :rant: :wtf: :horse: :-- :-- :--
The major bug of loosing the data when switching to a different display is still there!
In other words switching the display from say trend chart to histogram all Your logged data is lost and logging starts new with every switch to a different display.
Come on Siglent You acknowledged that behaviour as a bug and You had half a year time to fix it!  :palm:
That is really disappointing  :--
I wonder if You´d be so kind to send me a SDM3055 till You fixed that bug?

regards
Calvin

..... it builds character!
 
The following users thanked this post: kado

Offline Calvin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: de
    • Calvin´s audio page
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #483 on: April 11, 2020, 03:55:51 pm »
Hi,

received a test firmware from Mr Rottach that finally fixes the logging prob of the SDM3065X.
Now I can switch between different displays and the logged data is kept.  :-+

regards
Calvin
..... it builds character!
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #484 on: April 11, 2020, 05:39:20 pm »
Test with your 3065 but please times, the behavior when switching on with the previously selected temperature measurement.
(Start Setup must of course be set to "last setting").

If you don't have a thermocouple, PT100 or 1000, you can also do this by selecting PT100 or 1000
and a fixed resistor in the real range of one of the two types.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2020, 05:41:10 pm by klausES »
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #485 on: April 12, 2020, 03:57:05 pm »
I think EasyDMM is due for an update, it is going on 3 years old.
[attachimg=1]
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #486 on: April 12, 2020, 07:23:50 pm »
Yes, you could do it if you have the time.  ^-^

On the other hand, (at least for me) there are absolutely no problems with the last EasyDmm version.
With a completely redesigned software, there is initially a small risk of new bugs.
It does everything flawlessly and still looks up to date in my opinion (not as outdated as the last EasyWave without X).  8)

First, please fix the firmware errors... is more important...  :P
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline pipe2null

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #487 on: April 13, 2020, 10:43:50 pm »
I'm a hobbiest working my way back to being an EE.  I got a degree decades ago, but did software professionally instead, so I'm extremely rusty, but working on it...  Heh.  I've been building up my home lab over the past year and I have a current project that might give me plausible justification for a ~6.5 digit bench DMM.  Ebay has some claimed "working and calibrated" HP/Agilent/Keysight older models for around $400 US, but I'm attempting to make sure new/used equipment I buy has LAN whenever possible.  Plus I'm still too rusty to adequately deal with a boat anchor at this time. 

Part of my current project (AKA plausible justification for test equipment purchase) is to build a "germicidal UV power" probe as simply and cheaply as possible, since it is not the intended goal of the project just the means to measure and verify to main project.  "Real" equipment for this type of measurement run around $2k to $4k to purchase or about $250/week for rental.  So, if a bench DMM will work, even a SDM3065X will end up being cheaper since I have no long-term use for measuring UV power.  If interested, the project I'm currently working towards is linked here, but I have since realized that measuring material reflectivity/absorbance/transmittance using a DIY test jig is also needed beyond just measured UV power from a bulb (when you don't have a spec sheet):
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/cheapest-way-to-check-if-a-uvc-bulb-is-as-advertised/msg3000790/#msg3000790
Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong thinking that a 6.5 digit DMM would work for my needs, or if I should be looking elsewhere (I don't want to hijack this thread).


A few questions about Siglent bench DMMs.

New firmware for SDM3065X

Version V3.01.01.07
[SNIP]
Release notes
1. Add customer defined senor function
[SNIP]
Does anyone have more info on the customer defined sensor function?  Is this a common feature of modern bench DMMs?  The photodiodes on digikey that are responsive to germicidal UV (~200nm to ~320nm) tend to be in nA territory, although my rusty EE skills may have misinterpreted.  So my thought is to shortcut building a full UV probe with instrumentation opamps/etc and just use an accurate-enough bench DMM with the raw photodiode + PS + optical filter if necessary for specific photodiode.  If the firmware of Siglent's DMM can calculate the actual result from coefficient * (measurement - offset), then that would be very nice to have.  If the idea in my head on how this feature might be used is wrong, feel free to correct me.   ;)

I'm curious about the scanner card option.  Does anyone here actually have a unit with scanner card that might comment on it?  AFAIK, the only drawback is the reduced number of measurement ranges when using SC channels, but you still have the full 6.5 digit accuracy within those ranges?  From my perhaps incorrect perspective/use, the SC option is equivalent to a large pile of individual high-accuracy DMMs that are all accessible via LAN.  Seems like a "cheap" way to dramatically increase the measurement capability of my lab.  Does firmware support using the front panel measurement "channel" while in scanner mode yet?  Would be useful to use front panel input for very low amp range UV sensor while monitoring UV bulb voltage and current using the wider ranged SC card channels.  Yes, it would be better to make a fully functional UV power probe and do all of this with a scope, but I'm attempting to minimize the effort for a short-term project.

I've seen the SDM3055 hacking thread, which seems as much about HW mods as FW.  I'm curious if anyone has "improved" an SDM3065X with practical results, as in more non-noise digits of precision, etc without HW mods?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 20070
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #488 on: April 14, 2020, 12:24:49 am »
@pipe2null
Maybe the SC1016 datasheet can answer some of your questions:
http://siglentna.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/SC1016_Datasheet_DS60030-E02A.pdf
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Come visit us at EMEX 15th - 17th February. Hall 1 Stand 1002
https://www.emex.co.nz/
 
The following users thanked this post: pipe2null

Offline pipe2null

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #489 on: April 14, 2020, 01:23:39 am »
I at least skimmed the RTFM prior to asking about the scanner card...   ;)
Measurement Function: Available Range
DCV/ACV/ FRQ: Auto, 200mV, 2V, 20V, 200V
DCI/ACI: 2A (fixed)
2W/4W: Auto, 200Ω, 2kΩ, 20kΩ, 200kΩ, 2MΩ(1MΩ for SDM3065X), 10MΩ, 100MΩ
CAP: Auto, 2nF, 20nF, 200nF, 2μF, 20μF, 200μF, 10000μF (2mF, 20mF, 100mF for SDM3065X)

So scanner card channels (1-12) lose the top 1000V range, but that's ok most of the time.  But only having a 2A (fixed) range for scanner card channels (13-16) is a bit of a bummer though.  The manual, and I think I saw posts from years back, give the impression it is "either" using front panel input with all measurement ranges available including 200uA range, "or" using scanner mode with 16 inputs with minor limitations to available ranges such as fixed 2A range, but not a combination of both.  I would think this is just a firmware limitation, although I admit this is a niche use.  Sometimes firmware changes don't make it into the documentation, so thought I'd ask about it if there's someone on the forum who has one.

I've looked around a bit, and it seems like the SDM3065X, possibly with scanner card option, is the best Bang-for-6.5Digit-Buck these days, at least for a new unit w/LAN?

 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 20070
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #490 on: April 14, 2020, 02:14:49 am »
I at least skimmed the RTFM prior to asking about the scanner card...   ;)
Measurement Function: Available Range
DCV/ACV/ FRQ: Auto, 200mV, 2V, 20V, 200V
DCI/ACI: 2A (fixed)
2W/4W: Auto, 200Ω, 2kΩ, 20kΩ, 200kΩ, 2MΩ(1MΩ for SDM3065X), 10MΩ, 100MΩ
CAP: Auto, 2nF, 20nF, 200nF, 2μF, 20μF, 200μF, 10000μF (2mF, 20mF, 100mF for SDM3065X)

So scanner card channels (1-12) lose the top 1000V range, but that's ok most of the time.  But only having a 2A (fixed) range for scanner card channels (13-16) is a bit of a bummer though.  The manual, and I think I saw posts from years back, give the impression it is "either" using front panel input with all measurement ranges available including 200uA range, "or" using scanner mode with 16 inputs with minor limitations to available ranges such as fixed 2A range, but not a combination of both.  I would think this is just a firmware limitation, although I admit this is a niche use.  Sometimes firmware changes don't make it into the documentation, so thought I'd ask about it if there's someone on the forum who has one.

I've looked around a bit, and it seems like the SDM3065X, possibly with scanner card option, is the best Bang-for-6.5Digit-Buck these days, at least for a new unit w/LAN?
I did own a SDM3065X with the SC but a customer wanted it !
The physical clearances on the SC are the limitations of its capabilities unfortunately as the relays for each of the 16 channels connect to the DMM measurement circuit for the DMM to do the actual measurement, not the SC.
It works in a similar way to the Dual measurement feature however the full system ratings are available in Dual mode.
Check the user manual for the measurement types available in Dual mode.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Come visit us at EMEX 15th - 17th February. Hall 1 Stand 1002
https://www.emex.co.nz/
 
The following users thanked this post: pipe2null

Offline pipe2null

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #491 on: April 14, 2020, 04:04:03 am »
...
I did own a SDM3065X with the SC but a customer wanted it !
...
I figured one had crossed your bench at some point, heh.  Those troublesome customers taking away your toys (for money)...  ;)  BTW, this will be the 3rd piece of equipment that  I ended up buying after a conversation with you.  You are indeed a professional-grade TEA enabler!  I'm currently looking for a US supplier for SDM3065X-SC with the least insane lead time, and hopefully an eevblog discount like Saelig has...   Thanks for the help!
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #492 on: April 14, 2020, 12:13:21 pm »
I've got an SDM3055-SC, and the behavior is as you have assumed.  When in scan mode, it uses the scan card inputs exclusively.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, pipe2null

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #493 on: April 14, 2020, 08:42:07 pm »
Tautech

Firmware bug, with the newly added PT1000 thermistor the SCPI command "CONF:TEMP RTD,PT1000" is missing

New firmware for SDM3065X

Version V3.01.01.07
8.31 MB
https://int.siglent.com/upload_file/zip/firmware/A_multimeter/SDM3065X_3.01.01.07_EN.zip

Release notes
1. Add customer defined senor function
2. Add PT1000 thermistor
3. Add buzzer volume control function.
4. Added customer defined time base in the trend diagram
5. Added recording measurement data to external U disk
6. Fix some bugs: change the text size in the Dual display,
the screen saving setup will be lost after reboot, move
the CSV save function from the utility page to acquire
page.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #494 on: April 14, 2020, 09:05:48 pm »
As I'm reading this ... forgot to say ...

Have finally been in direct written contact with Siglent for a few days now.
Siglent has multiple correspondence (asking for details on how exactly the errors occur)
three of "my" four errors on 3055 can successfully understand.

Now I think they're really working on it.  :-+
« Last Edit: April 14, 2020, 09:09:52 pm by klausES »
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline Back2Volts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #495 on: April 15, 2020, 02:05:28 pm »
I am considering getting one of these.    I am thinking where it would fit on my bench.   I have a Fluke 45 and a Fluke 8050A sitting on top, which would go away.   I wonder how the size of the SDM3055 relates to the Fluke 45.   Ideally I would like them stacked.   Does any one, by a chance has both of them?     
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 02:30:13 pm by Back2Volts »
 

Offline BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #496 on: April 15, 2020, 04:06:24 pm »
Fluke 45: 9.3 cm high, 21.6 cm wide, 28.6 cm deep (3.67 in high,8.5 in wide,11.27 in deep)

Siglent SDM3055: 282 mm × 260 mm × 105 mm

SDM3055 - taller, wider, but shorter.
 

Offline Back2Volts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #497 on: April 15, 2020, 04:16:08 pm »
Fluke 45: 9.3 cm high, 21.6 cm wide, 28.6 cm deep (3.67 in high,8.5 in wide,11.27 in deep)

Siglent SDM3055: 282 mm × 260 mm × 105 mm

SDM3055 - taller, wider, but shorter.

Is 260mm the width or the length?    Either way, the Fluke 45 would have to go over the SDM3055.   Somehow I had the idea that would be the other way around, but the Siglent is really bigger. 
 

Offline BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #498 on: April 15, 2020, 04:22:55 pm »
Is 260mm the width or the length?    Either way, the Fluke 45 would have to go over the SDM3055.   Somehow I had the idea that would be the other way around, but the Siglent is really bigger. 

Width.  The full side footprint from the outside edges of the handle is 10 inches, and back to front from tips of bumpers is 11.5 inches.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, Back2Volts

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Siglent Bench DMMs SDM3065X, SDM3055 and SDM3045X
« Reply #499 on: April 15, 2020, 09:46:32 pm »
At first I thought in the documentation they never adjusted the dimensions from the old version
with the short corners to the new one with the "X" corners,
but the specified dimensions are completely wrong regardless of "X" or old.

Perhaps translation errors that have never been corrected ?  :-//

I just measured my 3055 and many dimensions are far from those in the documentation.
If you want ? I have it in mm but not inches
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf