Author Topic: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).  (Read 1401 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« on: August 05, 2019, 10:58:41 pm »
Do you own a Digilent Analog Discovery 2?

I'm being a extremely forthcoming & asking a HUGE favor here but i'd love to confirm a problem with my AD2 is me being stupid & not the technology when using a 3rd Party Impedance Analyzer software. (This is Jaxbird's awesome Windows 7 offering of his impedance analyzing software).

For whatever reason, every time i connect the USB cable with program up & running to my AD2, the s/w Status (lower LHS) immediately updates and reports  "Disconnected". I have tested & tried 100s of arrangements over multiple Win 7 PCs & checked using all kinds of USB monitoring programs. My AD2 works perfectly well with Waveforms2015 but will not connect with the Impedance Analyzer s/w.

So, should you have a Win 7 machine & your AD2 & can 'donate' few spare minutes, please download, the 2 files that Jaxbird has made available free from his DropBox share at: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ylf9i87dac65q2k/AABA_Rqgm1r5Ql0MsNyM7ajta?dl=0&preview=ImpedanceAnalyzer_1.3.0.43.zip

(Note: If you want more info on this truly interesting project please check out https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ylf9i87dac65q2k/AABA_Rqgm1r5Ql0MsNyM7ajta?dl=0)

I've already built the project plugin module for the AD2 (which i have left unconnected/connected to see if the AD2 will USB with the s/w)  & laid a bucks out on parts so it's all a bit sad i cannot wake my AD2 up! Jaxbird has been helping me resolve issues via his YouTube Channel but to no avail:

So... if anyone can help me out would truly appreciate it!  :-+

 
« Last Edit: August 05, 2019, 11:01:24 pm by peteb2 »
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 12:56:25 am »
I don't have a Win 7 PC available to test, but on Win 10 the Impedance Analyzer shows, "Analog Discovery not available," before I connect the AD2. After I connect it, I hear the typical Windows notification indicating a USB device was attached, then the analyzer status shows, "Analog Discovery Disconnected." The green LED inside the AD2 blinks as if it is successfully connected, but it doesn't turn off when closing the application.

Sounds like the same result as yours.

The Audio Analyzer Suite 1.0.0.76 sees the AD2 just fine as does WaveForms. Both enable the blinking LED inside the AD2 when connected and disable it when shut down.
I TEA.
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2019, 01:36:56 am »
THANKS so much Bitseeker for your time.  :-+

YES! fantastic.... i really thought i was going nuts! Looks like we have what appears to be an USB driver issue of some kind. Being as that's handled by the 'ole FTDI chip (FT232HQ) chip on the AD2 and whatever's parked inside its EEPROM, anything could be happening. I have seen Digilent Support's comment on the need to consider using their Adept Runtime for USB management across many of their associated devices. Whether that affects a Linux written environment program (i think Jaxbird coded it in Linux) when then compiling a Win7 .exe i do not know. I am no programmer! Perhaps doing something at my end with Adept such that it sets up USB for AD2 prior to booting Impedance Analyzer needs to done. I might have a play...

 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2019, 01:53:43 am »
Well, jaxbird also made the Audio Analyzer Suite, which works just fine. :-//
I TEA.
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2019, 06:44:26 am »
Agreed, and that s/w is really quite something. I've not used it yet but tried it out with my AD2 without any issues other than having it already connected before booting the program.

I've spent a few minutes playing with a Adept & seeing if the Impedance Analyzer will recognize my AB2 as viable but no luck so far.
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2019, 12:57:22 am »
I can confirm that the software doesn't like AD2.
Works fine with AD1.

Attila @ Digilent made some remarks (https://forum.digilentinc.com/topic/17019-suggestion-for-improving-the-impedance-analyzer/) which might give some hints.
Don't know how to pass this information over to Jaxbird  :(

Did anybody run a virus checker against this software?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 01:00:40 am by modmix »
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2019, 01:02:31 am »
Hi peteb2,
I've already built the project plugin module for the AD2
I'm waiting for the pcb.
Do you have by any chance a BOM you are willing to share?
TIA
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2019, 02:13:26 am »
Awesome modmix, thanks. Have added another comment to the YT by TheStuffMade with a link to Atilla's comments (small concern over the Trojan.... best i do some housekeeping).  I made the board pictured above via EasyEDA simply because i HAD to bone up my skill set there & it all started out from knowing the 4053 so with an AD2, one thing lead to another. I've not shared the project yet as it's untested & could be a mess!. I have a BOM .csv for DigiKey and used DigiKey's online orderform process.... It's small list parked on my Dropbox... (how do i share it so i can post a link here)?....... ;)
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2019, 02:42:20 am »
I can confirm that the software doesn't like AD2.
Works fine with AD1.

Attila @ Digilent made some remarks (https://forum.digilentinc.com/topic/17019-suggestion-for-improving-the-impedance-analyzer/) which might give some hints.
Don't know how to pass this information over to Jaxbird  :(

Did anybody run a virus checker against this software?
Thanks.

I'm using 1.3.0.506 and Windows Defender and Malwarebytes are fine with it. It looks like Attila was using version 1.3.0.43, but that's all we know from that post. It could even be a false alarm. More history would be needed and/or verification of another copy of the same version.
I TEA.
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2019, 11:42:47 am »
I'm using 1.3.0.506 and Windows Defender and Malwarebytes are fine with it.
where did you find it?

It looks like Attila was using version 1.3.0.43, but that's all we know from that post. It could even be a false alarm. More history would be needed and/or verification of another copy of the same version.
my 1.3.0.43 behaves as described.
Looking forward to get 1.3.0.506  ;)
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2019, 11:46:07 am »
I have a BOM .csv for DigiKey and used DigiKey's online orderform process.... It's small list parked on my Dropbox...
that would be great  :)

(how do i share it so i can post a link here)?....... ;)
may be you can use "Attachments and other options" in the message editor ?...
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2019, 01:55:25 pm »
I'm using 1.3.0.506 and Windows Defender and Malwarebytes are fine with it.
where did you find it?

New releases are announced on TheStuffMade YouTube channel. In the description field of the video for each release is a link to the download for that version.

TheStuffMade = jaxbird's YouTube channel
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 01:57:05 pm by bitseeker »
I TEA.
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2019, 04:04:07 pm »
New releases are announced on TheStuffMade YouTube channel. In the description field of the video for each release is a link to the download for that version.
TheStuffMade = jaxbird's YouTube channel
don't see it on https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=thestuffmade
just: Impedance Analyzer v1.3.0.43 available for Download
 - is there a trick?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 08:28:14 pm by modmix »
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2019, 03:06:58 am »
The only YT post for IA present on TheStuffMade's YT channel is v1.3.0.43 from 2 months ago published Jun 1, 2019. (This is the project i've been following).

Should you download & unpack from his offered DropBox linked from the description field of the post the IA.exe (disregard the CONFIG File) & open it using a file viewer the likes of PSPad you'll see it tagged in the copyright area as being Ver 1.3.0.506 (in the ASCII dump)....

I don't believe this to be an update therefore at the time of this post.... (& it sure doesn't work with my AD2).
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 03:21:49 am by peteb2 »
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2019, 05:44:42 pm »
got it  ;)
ImpedanceAnalyzer.exe in the link to ImpedanceAnalyzer_1.3.0.43 is defacto according to strings in that file: 1.3.0.506.
Too bad... This file works with AD1, only.
Hope that jaxbird will follow Attila's advice (https://forum.digilentinc.com/topic/17019-suggestion-for-improving-the-impedance-analyzer/)
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2019, 09:49:53 pm »
Ah, OK. Sorry, I didn't remember all the details. I do remember jaxbird mentioning an update after some people had trouble installing a previous version. Perhaps that's what 506 is.
I TEA.
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2019, 11:22:46 pm »
.... for the AD1 makes an interesting situation because the YT vid at 0:08 reads **Note: requires Analog Discovery 1 or 2 plus latest Waveforms software installed**

I guess it's twofold, Jaxbird believed there to be no incompatibility existing between AD1 & AD2 and i went full steam ahead, dived in buying parts & making a board.

I guess it's a reminder that once & a while in all ventures we choose to participate in that we must do a pre-evaluation & be ready to accept that sometimes there's a chance things won't work out so are you have to ask yourself if you're OK with that kind of outcome. In this case i am. (i learned so much along the way anyway)! Maybe Jaxbird will do as Atilla suggests to open AD2 use meanwhile i'll keep a lookout an AD1 begging for a new home....   :) 
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 01:39:20 am by peteb2 »
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7852
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2019, 12:48:37 am »
...and I learned that it's a good idea to keep my AD1. I didn't think I'd need it since I had an AD2.
I TEA.
 

Offline modmix

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2019, 11:59:23 pm »
Jaxbird / TheStuffMade has put a new version into his box.
It stlll doesn't work with AD2 but gives a status line related to psu status.
812412-0
V+ line is at +5V at an AD1.
V+ line is at 0V at an AD2.
As attila said at Digilent forum (see above): "The AD1 and AD2 hardware are very similar. The API is identical. The only differences are in the power supplies configuration where AD2 voltages can be adjusted and user supplies vs auxiliary supply monitoring."
That might be the reaso why...

PS:
My comment on YT dispeared for reason unknown  |O
« Last Edit: August 17, 2019, 12:02:31 am by modmix »
 

Offline peteb2

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: nz
Re: Analog Discovery 2..... (asking a MASSIVE favour please).
« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2019, 04:19:48 am »
Confirmed. My AD2 remains a nogo under ver 1.3.0.45. I do not receive the red text message as in your image but there's an additional Status message however.... RetrievePowerSupply Status: Invalid node index which appears the instant the usual Status: Disconnected is made immediately upon plugging in USB. I have not pre-connected the external 5V.

I hope there's a solution. I've been hunting for an AD1 that isn't priced beyond my pocket to no avail. For now i'll continue to 'hang in there' as they say!



Jaxbird / TheStuffMade has put a new version into his box.
It stlll doesn't work with AD2 but gives a status line related to psu status.
(Attachment Link)
V+ line is at +5V at an AD1.
V+ line is at 0V at an AD2.
As attila said at Digilent forum (see above): "The AD1 and AD2 hardware are very similar. The API is identical. The only differences are in the power supplies configuration where AD2 voltages can be adjusted and user supplies vs auxiliary supply monitoring."
That might be the reaso why...

PS:
My comment on YT dispeared for reason unknown  |O
« Last Edit: August 20, 2019, 04:27:17 am by peteb2 »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf