Author Topic: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators  (Read 16901 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« on: September 05, 2016, 10:22:23 am »
The next in the X series instruments range, a SDG1000X AWG has been released.
The range has 2 models with 30 or 60 MHz frequencies with Sine and Square waveforms to the maximum frequency of each model.



http://www.siglentamerica.com/pdxx.aspx?id=4705&T=2&tid=16

Datasheet
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Documents/DataSheet/SDG1000X_DataSheet_DS0201X_E01A.pdf

All Manuals and documentation:
http://www.siglentamerica.com/prodcut-wd.aspx?id=4705&tid=16&T=2

Models from $399

« Last Edit: May 09, 2017, 03:15:14 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Wuerstchenhund

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 2766
  • Country: gb
  • Country: gb
  • Occasionally active on the forum, available via PM
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2016, 12:35:51 pm »
Did I read that right, 16k sample memory?  :palm:

I know that the SDG1000 Series is supposed to be cheap but couldn't they spend the $1.50 or so it probably costs to make that to something a little bit more appropriate for 2016, like say 1M?
« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 12:37:45 pm by Wuerstchenhund »
Brexit n - The undefined being negotiated by the unprepared in order to get the unspecified for the uninformed.
 

Offline nowlan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 639
  • Country: au
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2016, 02:23:25 pm »
Did they drop the touch screen. I had hoped to see the the 2000 series cheaper dropping un-needed touch. Not sure its used for anything special.

Also the images are loading very slow on that siglent website, despite being 30kb?
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3059
  • Country: fi
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2016, 02:33:58 pm »
Did I read that right, 16k sample memory?  :palm:

I know that the SDG1000 Series is supposed to be cheap but couldn't they spend the $1.50 or so it probably costs to make that to something a little bit more appropriate for 2016, like say 1M?

This model have Fixed Arb memory lenght, Fixed clock. With 1M Arb whole memory to DAC, without jumping, take near 6.7ms. Max Arb repeating freq without jumping is around 150Hz.  Not problem but also not always nice when change freq etc and user can not easy know what detail it is now jumping over..
If it have adjustable lenght then max 1M or 10M or 100M...
« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 02:54:36 pm by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 459
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2016, 03:35:40 am »
Interesting that these appear to be a slightly lesser version of the SDG2000X series in just about everything except for square wave performance. Up to 60 MHz square waves on the SDG1062X.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2016, 03:52:42 am »
Interesting that these appear to be a slightly lesser version of the SDG2000X series in just about everything except for square wave performance. Up to 60 MHz square waves on the SDG1062X.
:)
Yes you might say that but also that they're an updated SDG1000 to X series status:
Bigger and higher resolution display
LAN added.
Same output amplitude on both channels.
Plus the many more inbuilt arb waveforms that were only available on the SDG2000X series.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1404
  • Country: no
  • Country: no
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2016, 09:17:52 am »
Better to go for the entry model in the SDS2000X series and "upgrade" it to 120 MHz.

The price difference is not that big after all, and the specs are so much better, so it's definitely worth!
 

Offline Orange

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: nl
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2016, 09:19:13 am »
Do the new Siglent X gens support the dBm setting on the amplitude ?

I cannot find this in the manuals, screen shots in the manual do not show this either.

 
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: it
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2016, 03:34:06 pm »
Here is a PDF file which shows the main differences between SDG2000X and SDG1000X

- 14bit Vs. 16bit
- Bandwidth
- DAC Sampling Rate
- Noise Floor
- Pulse Performances
- Arbitrary Performances

http://www.batterfly.com/PDF/Siglent/siglent-sdg2000x-sdg1000x.pdf

Bye
Technical Support
 

Offline smarteebit

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
  • Country: cn
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2016, 01:15:35 am »
Here is a PDF file which shows the main differences between SDG2000X and SDG1000X

- 14bit Vs. 16bit
- Bandwidth
- DAC Sampling Rate
- Noise Floor
- Pulse Performances
- Arbitrary Performances

http://www.batterfly.com/PDF/Siglent/siglent-sdg2000x-sdg1000x.pdf

Bye

Since SDG1000X is a update of SDG1000, I don't think comparing it with SDG2000X is fair. It makes more sense to show a table with the differences between SDG1000 and SDG1000X.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline Orange

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: nl
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2016, 07:09:59 am »
Do the new Siglent X gens support the dBm setting on the amplitude ?

I cannot find this in the manuals, screen shots in the manual do not show this either.
I guess not, better stick to Rigol then
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2016, 07:22:46 am »
Do the new Siglent X gens support the dBm setting on the amplitude ?

I cannot find this in the manuals, screen shots in the manual do not show this either.
I guess not, better stick to Rigol then
Sorry Orange, away from office ATM, I'll try to find this out for you.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: it
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2016, 07:36:07 am »
Here is the product evolution from the SDG1000 to the SDG1000X

- Main Specs
- Dual Channel
- Pulse
- Square
- Noise
- Software
- New Features

http://www.batterfly.com/PDF/Siglent/siglent-sdg1000-sdg1000x.pdf

Bye
Technical Support
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2016, 07:56:34 am »
Do the new Siglent X gens support the dBm setting on the amplitude ?

I cannot find this in the manuals, screen shots in the manual do not show this either.
I guess not, better stick to Rigol then
Sorry Orange, away from office ATM, I'll try to find this out for you.
I have very fast reply from Jexy at tech support and the answer is yes for 50  \$\Omega\$ output only.

Edit as promised
I got the same pic as simone.pignatti  has posted below from Jext at tech support.
But he also sent some more as attached
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 07:55:44 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: Orange

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: it
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2016, 07:57:50 am »
Do the new Siglent X gens support the dBm setting on the amplitude ?

I cannot find this in the manuals, screen shots in the manual do not show this either.
Yes it does
Technical Support
 
The following users thanked this post: Orange

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1404
  • Country: no
  • Country: no
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2016, 08:13:37 am »
At this moment Siglent signal generators outperform Rigol signal generators in the same price range.
So it is very easy to decide a purchase.
 

Offline Orange

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: nl
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2016, 04:44:58 pm »
Thanks guys for checking !

May I suggests that Siglent updates the user manual accordingly. They are not mentioning this dBm capability at all, also not in the SDG2000X


 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: it
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2016, 03:15:00 pm »
we have now units to test, please let us know if you like to see any special features


« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 03:16:49 pm by simone.pignatti »
Technical Support
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #18 on: October 26, 2016, 07:01:07 pm »
New FW for the SDG1000X series
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SDG1000X_P22.rar
11.7 Mb

AFAIKT the same features and improvements that have just been added in new FW to the SDG2000X series.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 362
  • Country: ee
  • Country: ee
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #19 on: October 26, 2016, 08:31:12 pm »
This is because most of the firmware contents are the same. They have the same root password too.
Files in zip are exactly one month old... may be they have different calendar.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2017, 06:58:27 pm »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2017, 09:22:10 pm »
Siglent are offering a promotion for SDG1032X with a reduction of $40 off RRP. Promo price $359.
http://www.siglent.com/ENs/qyxwxx.aspx?id=1968&sid=205

Product page:
http://www.siglent.com/ENs/pdxx.aspx?id=1463&T=2&tid=16
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3059
  • Country: fi
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #22 on: September 03, 2017, 08:35:31 am »
Previously there was questions about dBm level settings and mostly I can see only then 50ohm impedance in images and in messages.

SDG1000X series  (as also what ever brand and model) can not tell dBm for undefined Hi-Z load. Why - may some noob ask. Because dBm is POWER unit. How can set power if load is unknown (high-z).
So with this Hi-Z output setting dBm is disabled.  With all other output load settings dBm can use.

With defined loads, power level can set as dBm.
User can define load from 50ohm up to 100kohm.
Example if output freq is over 10MHz Hi-Z max Vpeak-peak is 10V (or 5Vpeak what is same) and internal source impedance is always 50ohm.

Now with 50ohm load this maximum Voltage is of course half, 5Vpeak-peak (2.5Vpeak) and this is 1.77 Vrms and to this 50 ohm load it give 62.5mW   what is 17.96 dBm  (all values bit rounded)

But then what happend if I set load impedance  to some other value.
Say example to 600ohm. 
This same maximum output level is now 12.49dBm.

With same setting, maximum level to 100kohm.
Now it give only -9.03dBm 

Yes it calculate right value for this load what user have told to generator.

Of course it can also manually calculate if want. Only what need think is this
GND -- [(G~ Ri 0ohm) -- (internal 50ohm) ---(SDGChxOut)] --- Rload -- GND
And G~ V is same what it tell for Hi-Z V level.

First calculate voltage across this Rload.

Using this voltage  calculate power  across Rload. 

For dBm calculus this AnalogDevices tool is quite good.
http://www.analog.com/en/design-center/interactive-design-tools/dbconvert.html

No need calculate (exept that calculations are fun and for young peoples also useful for better understanding things),
of course Siglent SDG´s do it for you
.

In this example image SDG1kX output is set for maximum level using dBm scale and load impedance 600 ohm
Commonly dBm is used for 50ohm system but there is lot of other impedances what we use in practice.
Also SDG2000X series load can set from 50ohm to 100kohm, just same.



Advantage over SDG2000X in SDG1000X is its new square/rectangle wave circuit. It can do full BW Square. (30MHz model 30MHz and 60MHz model 60MHz).

In this image example about SDG1kX 60MHz square. Measured using old HP boat anchor but this scope have real 50ohm input impedance instead of what can find in cheap machines as "50 ohm input".


Also in somewhere in web I have seen some total crap claims that SDG1000X flatness is not very good.
This is what I can see and also I have checked it using HP power meter and results are inline.



Sweep from 5MHz to 60MHz  with 4 different levels. (yes, under 1.001Vpeak-peak level flatness is not very perfect but, still quite good.
Edit Add: SA horizontal scale linear. SDG1000X frequency sweep linear.


ETA:
Because some user have asked.
When you go to set Output Load
(Utility >> Output Setup >> Load >>  you can here select HighZ or 50ohm. )
If you select 50ohm then you see cursor also apperas over 50ohm. Now you can adjust also other values 50 - 100kohm using adjusting knob or enter value using keyboard)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 05:59:40 am by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3059
  • Country: fi
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #23 on: September 03, 2017, 02:47:59 pm »
Here  Square from SDG1032X with its maximum 30MHz Square. (SDG1062X maximum is 60MHz Sqr what was displayed in previous image)
And for compare, Siglent SDG2042X with its maximum 25MHz Square.
This is why I told that SDG1000X series have special circuit for Sqr what SDG2000X series do not have albeit it is other way higher performace model.



SDG2042X 25MHz (max)



SDG1032X 30MHz (max)

Game over.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2017, 02:50:22 pm by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15659
  • Country: nz
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG1000X Waveform Generators
« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2017, 02:05:36 am »
New firmware for SDG1000X models:

Version: V1.01.01.22R5
12.3 Mb
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=6419&tid=15

Changelog
Only 1 listed item.  :-//
1.Supported system recovery from U-disk.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf