Author Topic: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough  (Read 19711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ringmodulator

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2022, 02:06:45 pm »
How would be the steps to revert from a hacked 3055X-E back to the 3045X?

Chris
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3217
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #51 on: January 13, 2022, 03:45:45 pm »
How would be the steps to revert from a hacked 3055X-E back to the 3045X?

I have to make the reverse patch...
 

Offline Ringmodulator

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #52 on: January 13, 2022, 05:35:21 pm »
How would be the steps to revert from a hacked 3055X-E back to the 3045X?

I have to make the reverse patch...

Maybe, my question was not clear enough.

If I hack my 3045X to the 3055X-E with the modified 3055X-E firmware and for some reason want to revert to the 3045X, what are the steps?
Is it sufficient to simply install the normal (unmodified) 3045X firmware update?

Chris
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3217
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2022, 08:50:36 pm »
Maybe, my question was not clear enough.

Your question was clear, my answer seems not.

You can only flash a 3045X FW again if I change its ProdID previously. If not, the machine will reject the FW package.
 
The following users thanked this post: Ringmodulator

Offline Kleinstein

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14172
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #54 on: January 13, 2022, 09:27:34 pm »
If the hacked  3055 FW has the 3045 ID to run on the 3045, it could well work with just a normal firmware update to the original 3045. We don't know the details and thus the rather good question on how to get possibly back, just in case (e.g. if you want to sell the meter).
It may work with the original FW, or it may need a slightly patched one.

Another similar question is, if there is a future SDM3055 FW update, how to apply this to the hacked meter ?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28327
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #55 on: January 13, 2022, 09:44:44 pm »
If the hacked  3055 FW has the 3045 ID to run on the 3045, it could well work with just a normal firmware update to the original 3045. We don't know the details and thus the rather good question on how to get possibly back, just in case (e.g. if you want to sell the meter).
It may work with the original FW, or it may need a slightly patched one.

Another similar question is, if there is a future SDM3055 FW update, how to apply this to the hacked meter ?
Hopefully just install the new 3055X-E version:
https://www.siglent.com/download/firmware/?ProId=25
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3217
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #56 on: January 13, 2022, 09:49:30 pm »
If it is "hacked" you can only install 3055X-E FW as tautech said.

Edit: Here is the reversing instruction.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2022, 10:06:38 pm by tv84 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Pinkus, tautech, pcmihnea, Mortymore, Ringmodulator, Trader

Offline et328

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: fi
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2022, 04:00:54 am »
Hopefully just install the new 3055X-E version:
https://www.siglent.com/download/firmware/?ProId=25
That link is not working for me, first the page changes to int.siglent.com main page and then to www.siglenteu.com:(
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28327
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2022, 06:24:29 am »
Hopefully just install the new 3055X-E version:
https://www.siglent.com/download/firmware/?ProId=25
That link is not working for me, first the page changes to int.siglent.com main page and then to www.siglenteu.com:(
That's what some browsers do.  >:(
Go back to the int.siglent.com page and select the Chinese website from the globe pop down in the top right corner.
The current 3055X-E firmware is linked a page or 2 back in this thread and it downloads to your browsers download folder.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline et328

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: fi
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #59 on: January 14, 2022, 06:35:39 am »
That's what some browsers do.  >:(
Go back to the int.siglent.com page and select the Chinese website from the globe pop down in the top right corner.
The current 3055X-E firmware is linked a page or 2 back in this thread and it downloads to your browsers download folder.
Still doesn't work properly i.e. switch to Chinese. Your direct link for the firmware file does work. I have tried Edge, Chrome, Firefox all have the same issue.

But after some trying I noticed if I use the url below, I can get directly to the Chinese site and can browse there to the SDM3055X-E page and from there to the firmware page.
https://www.siglent.com/?l=1

 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28327
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #60 on: January 14, 2022, 07:05:55 am »
That's what some browsers do.  >:(
Go back to the int.siglent.com page and select the Chinese website from the globe pop down in the top right corner.
The current 3055X-E firmware is linked a page or 2 back in this thread and it downloads to your browsers download folder.
Still doesn't work properly i.e. switch to Chinese. Your direct link for the firmware file does work. I have tried Edge, Chrome, Firefox all have the same issue.
Works fine with Chrome here so must be browser settings redirecting you......a reason why I never let them auto translate but instead manually translate anything I can't read.
The Chinese Siglent website used to be notorious for redirecting you to an English version however none of them show the juicy new products that are coming our way.  :)

Quote
But after some trying I noticed if I use the url below, I can get directly to the Chinese site and can browse there to the SDM3055X-E page and from there to the firmware page.
https://www.siglent.com/?l=1
:-+
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline n3mmr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #61 on: January 14, 2022, 09:02:08 am »
If it is "hacked" you can only install 3055X-E FW as tautech said.

Edit: Here is the reversing instruction.

Thank you!

Can you give a one-liner explanation of what the patch does?
Could it be that it describes a set of criteria for its suitability?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 09:07:57 am by n3mmr »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28327
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #62 on: January 14, 2022, 09:34:17 am »
If it is "hacked" you can only install 3055X-E FW as tautech said.

Edit: Here is the reversing instruction.

Thank you!

Can you give a one-liner explanation of what the patch does?
Could it be that it describes a set of criteria for its suitability?
Yes, the FW version must match the HW and the OS checks if the FW version is the correct one. The patch fools the OS to believe the FW version is correct so it then goes on to load it.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline et328

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: fi
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #63 on: January 14, 2022, 09:39:57 am »
What about product id in the system info page? It still shows 3045. Were the .xml files uploaded here not the correct ones for tv84 to make a patch for it?
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 773
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #64 on: January 14, 2022, 09:43:59 am »
What about product id in the system info page? It still shows 3045. Were the .xml files uploaded here not the correct ones for tv84 to make a patch for it?
My XML files are probably useless, as if you open them, you will see no information about the model number, thus it has to be stored somewhere else.
 

Offline et328

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: fi
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #65 on: January 14, 2022, 09:47:03 am »
My XML files are probably useless, as if you open them, you will see no information about the model number, thus it has to be stored somewhere else.
I think tv84 asked for file named NSP_system_info.xml and that was not in your zip. How do you access your 3045's file system? (I haven't connected it to usb or network.)
 

Offline Ringmodulator

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #66 on: January 14, 2022, 10:01:02 am »
My XML files are probably useless, as if you open them, you will see no information about the model number, thus it has to be stored somewhere else.
I think tv84 asked for file named NSP_system_info.xml and that was not in your zip. How do you access your 3045's file system? (I haven't connected it to usb or network.)

See my post in the main SDM thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg3346192/#msg3346192

There is also the info on how to backup the calibration data.

Credit for the ADS file is due to tv84 :-+

Chris
« Last Edit: January 18, 2022, 11:22:12 am by Ringmodulator »
 
The following users thanked this post: et328

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 773
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #67 on: January 14, 2022, 04:07:30 pm »
OK, here are the files from the other directory including NSP_system_info.xml.
Though there is just a serial # in there (I changed the last numbers into '0' as probably not important).
This Zip also includes the calibration data. It shows that indeed the calibration borders are "2" and not "6", thus there should be no problem by using the 3055x-e firmware.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2022, 04:09:10 pm by Pinkus »
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3217
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #68 on: January 14, 2022, 04:13:20 pm »
OK, here are the files from the other directory including NSP_system_info.xml.
Though there is just a serial # in there (I changed the last numbers into '0' as probably not important).
This Zip also includes the calibration data. It shows that indeed the calibration borders are "2" and not "6", thus there should be no problem by using the 3055x-e firmware.

Exactly. Thanks for sharing.

So, the the model name needs to be changed in the NSP_trends_config_info.xml.

To be totally correct it would be good to see this file content in an official 3055X-E.
 

Offline dl6lr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 458
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #69 on: January 14, 2022, 04:23:25 pm »
That's what some browsers do.  >:(

No, the redirect is what the server sends. This may be based on UserAgent settings or similar, but it is never a browser decision. The browser decision is to either display the error or follow the redirect. You can clearly see this in my wget trace.
 

Offline pcmihnea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #70 on: January 14, 2022, 05:19:48 pm »
OK, here are the files from the other directory including NSP_system_info.xml.
Though there is just a serial # in there (I changed the last numbers into '0' as probably not important).
This Zip also includes the calibration data. It shows that indeed the calibration borders are "2" and not "6", thus there should be no problem by using the 3055x-e firmware.
How can you get filesystem access and/or telnet on the dmm?
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 773
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #71 on: January 14, 2022, 05:26:58 pm »
 
The following users thanked this post: pcmihnea, Wrenches of Death

Offline pcmihnea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #72 on: January 16, 2022, 09:57:24 pm »
All information are here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hacking-the-siglent-sdm3055/

I've tested post #14 from linked thread on a SDM3045X with latest v5.01.01.07R1, with a 4GB FAT32 clean USB stick, but couldn't get past step 2 - any TCP connection on standard telnet port 23 is refused, while on the other open ports (111, 732, 5025) they drop instantly.
Any hints are greatly appreciated.
 

Offline Ringmodulator

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #73 on: January 17, 2022, 06:18:53 am »
OK, here are the files from the other directory including NSP_system_info.xml.
Though there is just a serial # in there (I changed the last numbers into '0' as probably not important).
This Zip also includes the calibration data. It shows that indeed the calibration borders are "2" and not "6", thus there should be no problem by using the 3055x-e firmware.
How can you get filesystem access and/or telnet on the dmm?


See my post in the main SDM thread:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg3346192/#msg3346192

There is also the info on how to backup the calibration data.

Chris
 

Offline pcmihnea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Siglent SDM3045X - Enough is enough
« Reply #74 on: January 17, 2022, 08:53:17 am »
OK, here are the files from the other directory including NSP_system_info.xml.
Though there is just a serial # in there (I changed the last numbers into '0' as probably not important).
This Zip also includes the calibration data. It shows that indeed the calibration borders are "2" and not "6", thus there should be no problem by using the 3055x-e firmware.
How can you get filesystem access and/or telnet on the dmm?

See my post in the main SDM thread:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-new-bench-dmm-sdm3055/msg3346192/#msg3346192

There is also the info on how to backup the calibration data.

Chris


Ok, thanks.
Tried the attached FW file, but any flashing attempts results in 'update failed'... Are there any special steps to be taken for flashing - especially since the unit may see it as a version downgrade?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf