Author Topic: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen  (Read 42006 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #150 on: March 26, 2024, 10:16:12 am »
Hallo, bin neu im Forum und habe auch das Problem mit dem eingefrorenem Startbildschirm
Hello freeky
welcome here.
This forum is a global one, so english will help. :)

Here's freekies post:
"Hello, I'm new here and I face the same problem with the stuck bootscreen."

I can imagine tautech posting you a private note.
(Möglicherweise bekommst Du von tautech eine private Nachricht.)
freeky has already sent a PM that he/her needs to translates and send again along with his/her email address.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: Peter_O

Offline lordheavy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #151 on: April 15, 2024, 12:59:45 pm »
Hi, i have a similar issue with a Siglent 1202X-E, it is stuck on boot with the logo, i plugged  an usb key to see if it is detected, and it is. I tried to do the reset with the 'math' button with no luck.

Any more help appreciated. Thanks.
 

Online KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1788
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #152 on: April 15, 2024, 02:04:25 pm »
Hi, i have a similar issue with a Siglent 1202X-E, it is stuck on boot with the logo, i plugged  an usb key to see if it is detected, and it is. I tried to do the reset with the 'math' button with no luck.

Any more help appreciated. Thanks.

Did you disconnect everything besides the power cable? Including any probes or network or usb cables?
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Offline calvinlove0

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #153 on: April 17, 2024, 03:41:19 pm »
I'm also stuck at the boot screen with my SDM3055 :/

...save me Tautech...you're my only hope.
 

Offline martin1959

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: de
    • Tele-Commies
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #154 on: May 24, 2024, 11:02:33 am »
Today I tried updating my SDM3055 from firmware V1.01.01.27R2 to V1.02.01.27R2.
The update progress meter went up to 90% and then a new screen showed "Update succeeded!".
The update instructions asked to press the "Done" softkey, but there was no softkey indicated. So I waited 5 minutes and then powered off.

Unfortunately now the unit is stuck during boot. Can you help me?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2024, 12:34:14 pm by martin1959 »
 

Offline martin1959

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: de
    • Tele-Commies
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #155 on: May 31, 2024, 09:18:09 am »
I have received outstanding support from tautech, who provided me with the SDM3055 boot recovery package and guided me through the process.

My SDM3055 is up and running again, thanks to tautech.  :-+ :-+ :-+
 

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #156 on: May 31, 2024, 10:07:10 pm »
Sadly, my 3055 is also stuck on the boot screen... and as far as I can tell, it doesn't even try to read the USB. Using 4GM, FAT32, and 4k cluster drives from several manufacturers and nothing. No help at all. At this point, it is an expensive paper-weight, as the out-of-warranty repair cost is $385.

I'll be looking at a different manufacturer to replace it.

Ken
 

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #157 on: May 31, 2024, 10:22:34 pm »
I'm VERY curious about the SSD trick :) My USB also looks like it is completely not functional.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #158 on: May 31, 2024, 10:40:55 pm »
I'm VERY curious about the SSD trick :) My USB also looks like it is completely not functional.
You have been told by email the recommended recovery process.

It is very unfortunate the firmware has never been updated to at least support the quite simple USB recovery method.
For the SD card recovery you are now forced to do on this old unit not supporting USB recovery the costs are to open the unit, recover it and perform a recalibration.

As this unit has never had more recent firmware installed unfortunately this the reality you now face.

PLEASE UPDATE FIRMWARE !
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #159 on: May 31, 2024, 10:46:32 pm »
> You have been told by email the recommended recovery process.

And I appreciate it. Unfortunately, it didn't work, but I am grateful you took the time.

> For the SD card recovery you are now forced to do on this old unit not supporting USB recovery the costs are to open the unit, recover it and perform a recalibration.

Yes, it is unfortunate that Siglent didn't ship this simple, obvious feature from the beginning. Be that as it may, we are here now and my option is this one (SD card, re-calibrate) or purchase a completely different meter (I won't buy another Siglent at the moment) so I'll give this a try.

If anyone can let me know the process, that would be awesome.

Ken
 

Online bdunham7

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7955
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #160 on: May 31, 2024, 10:51:12 pm »
For the SD card recovery you are now forced to do on this old unit not supporting USB recovery the costs are to open the unit, recover it and perform a recalibration.

Are the calibration procedures available?  IDK where the OP is located, but this might be a small project for me if I can calibrate it.
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #161 on: May 31, 2024, 11:04:07 pm »
Thanks to Tautech for emailing me the instructions. The calibration is going to be an issue, but it beats paying $385 :)

Ken
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #162 on: May 31, 2024, 11:08:04 pm »
For the SD card recovery you are now forced to do on this old unit not supporting USB recovery the costs are to open the unit, recover it and perform a recalibration.

Are the calibration procedures available? 
Yes, later FW versions provide for a manual User cal to finely tweak values.
Defpom shows how:



Later simpler process:
« Last Edit: May 31, 2024, 11:09:46 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Online bdunham7

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7955
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #163 on: May 31, 2024, 11:17:53 pm »
Yes, later FW versions provide for a manual User cal to finely tweak values.
Defpom shows how:

Is that going to help if the unit has lost its factory cal constants, as in the present case?
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #164 on: May 31, 2024, 11:26:58 pm »
Yes, later FW versions provide for a manual User cal to finely tweak values.
Defpom shows how:

Is that going to help if the unit has lost its factory cal constants, as in the present case?
Certainly if they have standards to test against....once recovery and installation of latest FW is completed.

Note, this is only a problem for the oldest units with early firmware that doesn't support USB recovery that does not affect calibration.

In these cases a boot freeze recovery must be addressed with our SD card recovery package and its risk of losing Cal in early units.
So we warn about this and recommend one of the Siglent branches undertake SD card recovery, install the latest firmware and recalibrate the unit.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #165 on: June 01, 2024, 04:10:03 am »
I'm just curious (I'm going to do it anyway) is it a "risk" of losing calibration? Or are we definitely going to lose calibration?

Thanks!
Ken
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #166 on: June 01, 2024, 04:21:30 am »
I'm just curious (I'm going to do it anyway) is it a "risk" of losing calibration? Or are we definitely going to lose calibration?

Thanks!
Ken
From the email I sent you:
The risk of loss of calibration is high however it still might be accurate enough to meet your needs.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline soulhuntre

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #167 on: June 01, 2024, 04:40:23 am »
> The risk of loss of calibration is high however it still might be accurate enough to meet your needs.

I totally get that. I was asking a different question - but I gather that your use of the phrase "risk of ____ is high" means there is a small chance that the calibration might survive :)

I only need about 3 digits for the next few weeks, so I think it will be enough to get me through until I can replace the meter. I'll do it, then check against my Fluke handheld to get me by.

Ken
 

Offline lightt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: tr
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #168 on: June 11, 2024, 07:17:31 pm »
Hello everyone,

First of all, I am embarrassed that I discovered this forum so late. My 3055 is stuck on the boot screen, it has been serviced once before for the same fault but the problem has repeated.
I hope that tautech help me also.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28757
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #169 on: June 11, 2024, 07:41:12 pm »
Hello everyone,

First of all, I am embarrassed that I discovered this forum so late. My 3055 is stuck on the boot screen, it has been serviced once before for the same fault but the problem has repeated.
I hope that tautech help me also.
PM sent.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline lightt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: tr
Re: Siglent SDM3055 - stuck on boot screen
« Reply #170 on: June 13, 2024, 06:27:58 am »
Thanks for your help.

I already send an email to you. My 3055 returned to work again.

As I said that in my email, I tried many USB drive and found one of them work.

Below everybody see the chipgenius results of this drive


********************************************
Device Type:        Mass Storage Device

Protocal Version: USB 2.00
Current Speed: High Speed
Max Current: 500mA

USB Device ID: VID = 090C PID = 1000

Device Revision: 1100

Manufacturer: SMI
Product Model: USB DISK
Product Revision: 1100

Controller Vendor: SMI
Controller Part-Number: SM3257ENBA - ISP 141027-BA-
Flash ID code:      45DE9892 - SanDisk SDTNRCAMA-008G - 1CE/Single Channel [TLC-8K] -> Total Capacity = 8GB

Tools on web:       http://dl.mydigit.net/special/up/smi.html
******************************************************************************
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf