Author Topic: Siglent sds1104x-e build quality  (Read 1526 times)

Online derreeTopic starter

• Contributor
Siglent sds1104x-e build quality
« on: August 16, 2020, 07:10:37 pm »
Hi everyone.

I am studying the entry-level market of DSOs to buy my first private scope.

Almost everything I want and need comes together in the Siglent sds1104x-e.
Almost every review goes through the performance of the device, and Davids teardown
has shown the (for me at least) solid looking construction of the scope.

In comparison to the low-end contenders, aka Rigol ds1054z and GWinstek GDS-1104B, the physical build quality was never really commented.

So my question is, how is the physical quality of the Siglent 1104x-e, and how is it compared to the rivaling products from Rigol and GWinstek?
Especially, how do the rotary encoders and buttons feel? How are the bnc-connectors mechanically connected to the chassis, are they snug?

Thanks in advance

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent sds1104x-e build quality
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2020, 08:34:53 pm »
BNC's are fastened to the chassis with nuts so to provide robust mounting and reduce the chance of microphonics.
Dave did a video testing a few scopes for microphonics and the Siglent fared quite well.

Here I've had just 1 warranty claim for SDS1104X-E of the many dozens sold and that was for a fan that intermittently squealed. Siglent replaced it no worries.

Encoders are quite OK however the multipurpose one is not detented so requires care with use in that you need use it a particular way to make precise selections. Those in a menu list can also be selected by the dedicated menu button which negates use of the encoder.
In my view a larger knob on this encoder would help immensely with better control however too large might obscure the encoder 'active' LED that lights to indicate when to use the encoder.