Author Topic: Siglent SDS2000X Plus - Bugs / Missing Features / Feature Requests  (Read 151097 times)

Offline hj

• Contributor
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus - Bugs / Missing Features / Feature Requests
« Reply #500 on: September 19, 2021, 09:54:31 am »
Hi all you scope veterans, greetings from a digital scope newby,

not only based on all the comments in this forum I made a purchase decision some months ago and got me a 2104x (and missed the MSO bundle offer :palm:).
It turned out that one of the German Siglent box movers is right around the corner so I could pick it up the same day, anyway...

I'd like to know your opinion on this because I have no experience wether this is significant or neglectable:
YT user 'elektronik' showed this when he reviewed a 1204x-e I believe. Trigger on a sine wave and scale it out (800mVpp with 100mV/div). Now switch to fine scale and increase the vertical step by step until the waveform moves out of screen and take a single shot on each step. Now reduce the resolution and inspect the peaks. You will notice that up to a certain point the waveform (in my case 94mV/) is still captured without clipping. Does that mean the scope doesn't give full 8 bit resolution within the vertical graticules? Shouldn't the signal clip when it is moved right out of the last graticule? Is this normal DSO behaviour or Siglent special?

Some more comments/questions towards Siglent:

1) If I set bus encoding to ASCII, why are values up to 0x1f not shown in their short form (or at least hex, guess everybody can do a 'man ascii'), whats the point of displaying '[]'? Bonus question: Why can't the bus table show both ASCII and hex (or any other numerical encoded) values simultaneously?

2) Please cherry-pick the axis label code from the X5k series, printf("%4.04f") is seriously distracting.

Other than that, I appreciate your support and improving the scope and UI.

Joachim
« Last Edit: September 19, 2021, 11:25:43 am by hj »

Offline hj

• Contributor