Author Topic: Siglent SDS2000X Plus  (Read 732425 times)

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus
« Reply #1850 on: August 20, 2020, 02:48:06 pm »
Here we go again... :palm:

Try to do the same for the same amount of $$$.
HW cost cannot be the problem there. You can buy board with beefy ARM for ~$100, add display for $50, so only $150 (and that's probably overestimating) more for much better display, scaling and UI performance.

I didn't understand your point "A perfect sinewave looks like a stair case" in this context?
It's quite jarring once you have seen it  :-\
But I don't think they can fix it, except by cutting that area like on MSO5k.
Once you see it, it cannot be UNSEEN!  I think it is easy to fix, just show the menu over the waveform, then make it configurable how long the menu stays on screen.

Offline thinkfat

• Supporter
  • This is just a hobby I spend too much time on.
    • Matthias' Hackerstübchen
« Reply #1851 on: August 20, 2020, 05:48:56 pm »
I didn't understand your point "A perfect sinewave looks like a stair case" in this context?
It's quite jarring once you have seen it  :-\
But I don't think they can fix it, except by cutting that area like on MSO5k.

Well, they'd have to run the waveform through a proper filter after decimation, before displaying it. It really isn't a big problem, polyphase resampling filters can be done cheaply in an FPGA and they have one attached directly to the CPU. But I guess they chose the smallest one available and there's not resources left. Nevertheless, I'm pretty sure you'd be able to code a decently fast filter just using the NEON SIMD extensions.

Does anyone know the maximum clock speed of the application CPU? Might be possible to infer which device they have used exactly.
Everybody likes gadgets. Until they try to make them.

Offline Elasia

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #1852 on: August 20, 2020, 05:51:53 pm »