Author Topic: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack  (Read 17506 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jnz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 530
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #75 on: September 15, 2020, 10:27:46 pm »
I'm either VERY STUPID.... Or Siglent has somehow prevented the options "modifications" on the 1.3.5R10 firmwares.

Pretty sure it's one of those two.

I was able to get the 500Mhz bandwidth option working using SCPI command for bandwidth. No issue. So looking at Python code, I have the right SCOPEID and MODEL and HASHKEY, but the options are SERIAL and MODEL.

I've tried: every generator, every upper and lower key on the front end and via SCPI using LCSLI OPTION,key (including option,key and OPTION,KEY and spaces vs comas), I've 10x confirmed my serial number on the back of the device on the and sys info and via SCPI, serial and lower, I took the one 0 and made it an O, reboots.

I can find no indication of anything I've missed. I have 28-30 "Remaining" on all options. Oddly, I have no front end option for Logic Analyzer at all, I'll ignore that for now.

Anything I might be missing!?

EDIT: MOSTLY SOLVED.

Key take aways...

* There are at least 5 different keygens and 3 of them DO NOT WORK for the SDS2000X+. You want the one with "'AWG', 'WIFI', 'MSO', 'FLX', 'CFD', 'I2S', '1553', 'PWA'" options. Not the ones with PA, 16LA, etc. Notice these keygens do NOT use the SERIAL at all. 

* I could not get any keys to work on the 2000X+ using SCPI, all worked with front end using lowercase.

* I did "AWG" (frequency generator, previously FG) last, and this was a problem. When you go into the options screen it shows FG in the drop down, but it's not really selected. If you save AWG/FG for last, you may be stuck with no way to drop that down to select it, and no way to hit the install key. WORKAROUND: Hook up a keyboard, type the key in, and hit ENTER, TAB, ENTER, TAB, over and over. It worked after about 6 times or so for me. You might clear your key and need to enter it again, IDK, worked for me.

* For being a meticulous bunch of engineering types you guys REALLY SUCK at versioning and comments in your keygen code. Seriously. Put a comment in with at least what model you think this works for.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2020, 12:13:28 am by jnz »
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 395
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #76 on: September 15, 2020, 11:13:36 pm »

But on the long run, dont we shoot our self in the foot..
Will the scope manufators make software uppgrading imposibol  on new models becouse of this hacking.. They will come up with somthing like verification tru the web or somthing else to make it harder..

just woundering... :o

Got a rigol MSO4025 thats fully hacked so saved a load of money there.  8)

So spend the $ you saved on more equipment, that will keep the manufactures happy  ;D

Best,
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline jnz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 530
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #77 on: September 16, 2020, 12:16:29 am »
Can anyone confirm the LOGIC ANALYZER SPL16 hardware needs a key on the S2000X+?

According to the links for siglent-spl2016-plus-16-channel-logic-probe-module-with-license-key it does, but I can see no option for it, and of the keygens (that work) there seems to be no license option. For the keygens that DO NOT work, there is a LA16.

I haven't had a second to hook it up, so I assume when I do it's just going to work. But it's a little wierd they want to sell you a software license when there is no where to enter it... No?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19678
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #78 on: September 16, 2020, 02:05:17 am »
Can anyone confirm the LOGIC ANALYZER SPL16 hardware needs a key on the S2000X+?

According to the links for siglent-spl2016-plus-16-channel-logic-probe-module-with-license-key it does, but I can see no option for it, and of the keygens (that work) there seems to be no license option. For the keygens that DO NOT work, there is a LA16.

I haven't had a second to hook it up, so I assume when I do it's just going to work. But it's a little wierd they want to sell you a software license when there is no where to enter it... No?
Option page:
https://siglentna.com/product/16-digital-channelssoftware/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5006
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #79 on: September 16, 2020, 02:30:18 pm »
Can anyone confirm the LOGIC ANALYZER SPL16 hardware needs a key on the S2000X+?

According to the links for siglent-spl2016-plus-16-channel-logic-probe-module-with-license-key it does, but I can see no option for it, and of the keygens (that work) there seems to be no license option. For the keygens that DO NOT work, there is a LA16.

I haven't had a second to hook it up, so I assume when I do it's just going to work. But it's a little wierd they want to sell you a software license when there is no where to enter it... No?

Yes, there is a software key to purchase on top of the hardware itself. That software key can be hacked.
 

Offline jnz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 530
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #80 on: September 16, 2020, 04:08:52 pm »
Can anyone confirm the LOGIC ANALYZER SPL16 hardware needs a key on the S2000X+?

According to the links for siglent-spl2016-plus-16-channel-logic-probe-module-with-license-key it does, but I can see no option for it, and of the keygens (that work) there seems to be no license option. For the keygens that DO NOT work, there is a LA16.

I haven't had a second to hook it up, so I assume when I do it's just going to work. But it's a little wierd they want to sell you a software license when there is no where to enter it... No?
Option page:
https://siglentna.com/product/16-digital-channelssoftware/

Yea. Saw that... BUT... I have no 16LA or LogicAnalyzer or etc in my options page. And the keygens with 16LA that base off the serial number DO NOT seem to work at all. I could change the code that does work (the one that uses device code + model for bandwidth and options) but I've also had no luck with SCPI commands.

If it wasn't working would it allow digital as a "channel"? Because it currently does.
 

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1543
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #81 on: September 16, 2020, 08:42:18 pm »
Hi,

Quote
I have no 16LA or LogicAnalyzer or etc in my options page

But you got the MSO (Mixed Signal Oscilloscope) option, that´s it.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2020, 08:49:35 pm by Martin72 »
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, jnz

Offline jnz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 530
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #82 on: September 16, 2020, 09:47:35 pm »
OOOOOOOOOOooohhhhh..... I'm dumb.

Thanks guys.
 

Offline tom.holzwurm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #83 on: September 19, 2020, 07:37:45 pm »
Is there nobody who could assist to my question:  a connector diagram resp. a layout of the ( PCI? ) plug. I wouldn't need a sophisticated probe as I'm analyzing only slow logic.
Would there be a need for protection circuits ?
Thanks in advance,
Regards
Tom
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 09:44:33 pm by tom.holzwurm »
 

Offline LootMaster

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #84 on: October 18, 2020, 08:45:24 pm »
Hey I want this scope.

I wanna upgrade from a sds2352X-E t another "350 MHz upgrade".

Is it all fine and dandy?

1399$ + the LA hardware only and I'm good to go beat some MSO5074 boys???
 

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1543
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #85 on: October 18, 2020, 09:15:39 pm »
Hi,
Apart from the fact that this is not the topic for that question here(have a look at my threadlist in the signature):

"To beat some MSO5074 boys" shouldn´t be an argument for buying the siglent... ;)

Offline LootMaster

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #86 on: October 18, 2020, 09:36:17 pm »
Seems to me by the title that this is relevant for me.

Can you confirm or deny your positive experience?

Me and Siglent will smooth things if ever... :-DD

I'm good to go beat some MSO5074 boys at their own game ?
 

Offline jemangedeslolos

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #87 on: October 18, 2020, 09:41:30 pm »
 :palm:
 

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1543
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #88 on: October 19, 2020, 07:10:27 pm »
 :palm:

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5006
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #89 on: October 20, 2020, 12:57:38 pm »
 :palm:
 

Offline tom.holzwurm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #90 on: October 20, 2020, 09:45:02 pm »
Is there nobody who could assist to my question:  a connector diagram resp. a layout of the ( PCI? ) plug. I wouldn't need a sophisticated probe as I'm analyzing only slow logic.
Would there be a need for protection circuits ?
Thanks in advance,
Regards
Tom
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 655
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #91 on: October 20, 2020, 10:28:48 pm »
 :palm:
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19678
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #92 on: October 20, 2020, 11:03:01 pm »
Is there nobody who could assist to my question:  a connector diagram resp. a layout of the ( PCI? ) plug. I wouldn't need a sophisticated probe as I'm analyzing only slow logic.
Would there be a need for protection circuits ?
Thanks in advance,
Regards
Tom
Wrong thread.

Start reading for a few pages from here Tom:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sds2000x-plus-coming/msg3020534/#msg3020534
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1532
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #93 on: October 23, 2020, 05:34:15 pm »
For the record: the SDS5000X seems to use always the scope ID and never the serial number. Option string is "SENT" for SENT (not so surprising) and "PWA" for PA. No idea about Manchester ("Manch") though. There doesn't seem to be a way to enter the code anyway.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 

Offline sdouble

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #94 on: October 25, 2020, 12:15:55 pm »
I recently bought 2 units for the lab.I could find some time last Friday to hack them.
it worked well for the 1st unit. I also unlock the second one. Things happened to work flawlessly too but right after the process, the scope simply turned off and never turned on again.
Did anybody face such an issue ?
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 655
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #95 on: October 25, 2020, 04:55:36 pm »
I recently bought 2 units for the lab.I could find some time last Friday to hack them.
it worked well for the 1st unit. I also unlock the second one. Things happened to work flawlessly too but right after the process, the scope simply turned off and never turned on again.
Did anybody face such an issue ?

might be just a doa unit.. if you didnt do anything internally with the OS and was just keys through the UI that wouldnt have caused that

hard call to say if you should even open it up and try the uart port.. if it seems completely dead you are probly better off getting an exchange
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19678
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #96 on: October 25, 2020, 07:17:36 pm »
I recently bought 2 units for the lab.I could find some time last Friday to hack them.
it worked well for the 1st unit. I also unlock the second one. Things happened to work flawlessly too but right after the process, the scope simply turned off and never turned on again.
:wtf:
Quote
Did anybody face such an issue ?
Never, not with 100's of Siglent units.

Check the silly stuff first like mains cable and rear mains fuse before filing a warranty claim with your supplier.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline sdouble

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #97 on: October 25, 2020, 09:51:42 pm »
I did exchange my mains cables. I did check the power socket too... no green light.
Good thing is that 1 of the 2 is working.
 

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1543
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #98 on: October 25, 2020, 10:09:04 pm »
Quote
Good thing is that 1 of the 2 is working.

LOL  :-DD

I think, the second unit was made on monday* , the hack won´t done the harm to it.

*) German speech for a unit which is going faulty very early

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1532
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus Hack
« Reply #99 on: November 12, 2020, 03:45:21 pm »
I just wonder: there still seems to be the FW bug that you can't enter the key for the last option in the list (which should be "Manch" now) if all the other options are enabled. Or to be more exact: you can't select the option type as the combobox is grayed out and stuck to "FG".
Somewhere someone talked about a workaround about hitting Tab several times on an USB keyboard but that didn't work for me or I didn't get the idea correctly.
Also the LCISL SCPI command doesn't seem to work (responds with OK whatever you send there, but the option is not enabled).
Is there any working way to enable the last option?
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf