Author Topic: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD  (Read 338203 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline kripton2035

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2628
  • Country: fr
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #700 on: May 23, 2024, 09:03:08 am »
so it's the 2000xplus that is the lowest in price with the zone trigger feature
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline Electro Fan

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3247
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #701 on: May 23, 2024, 09:38:00 am »
I've had an SDS2000X HD sitting on a VESA stand right next to my computer at work for the last six months, and I've been very impressed with this scope. So much so that I decided to sell my own Rigol DS1054Z and buy myself an SDS1000X HD to have at home.

And after close to three months of waiting, it arrived yesterday! I haven't had that much time to play with it yet, but these are my impressions when compared to the SDS2000X HD I've become quite familiar with:

  • The 1000X HD UI is much smoother and way less laggy than on the 2000x HD! Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen, but is butter smooth on the 1000X HD.

… anyone else notice the laggy difference ?

… maybe there is something about 2000X HD processor hardware or OS or UI or FW or something else that makes it an early and different branch of the Siglent HD architecture tree (beyond original the color) that sets it apart from the latter introduced models?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2024, 09:43:17 am by Electro Fan »
 

Offline skander36

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 763
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #702 on: May 23, 2024, 11:29:48 am »
I've had an SDS2000X HD sitting on a VESA stand right next to my computer at work for the last six months, and I've been very impressed with this scope. So much so that I decided to sell my own Rigol DS1054Z and buy myself an SDS1000X HD to have at home.

And after close to three months of waiting, it arrived yesterday! I haven't had that much time to play with it yet, but these are my impressions when compared to the SDS2000X HD I've become quite familiar with:

  • The 1000X HD UI is much smoother and way less laggy than on the 2000x HD! Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen, but is butter smooth on the 1000X HD.

… anyone else notice the laggy difference ?

… maybe there is something about 2000X HD processor hardware or OS or UI or FW or something else that makes it an early and different branch of the Siglent HD architecture tree (beyond original the color) that sets it apart from the latter introduced models?

Maybe @2N3055 can test SDS800X-HD against his 2000X-HD. I think 800X should behave the same as 1000X-HD, although this is possible to have a different FPGA/CPU as it does not get the same updates and does not exhibit the same issues. 
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6671
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #703 on: May 23, 2024, 11:33:17 am »
Maybe @2N3055 can test SDS800X-HD against his 2000X-HD. I think 800X should behave the same as 1000X-HD, although this is possible to have a different FPGA/CPU as it does not get the same updates and does not exhibit the same issues.

And does the 3000X HD share the CPU & FPGA with the 2000X HD? If so, maybe Martin72 could compare his 800 vs. the 3000?
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #704 on: May 23, 2024, 11:37:54 am »
I've had an SDS2000X HD sitting on a VESA stand right next to my computer at work for the last six months, and I've been very impressed with this scope. So much so that I decided to sell my own Rigol DS1054Z and buy myself an SDS1000X HD to have at home.

And after close to three months of waiting, it arrived yesterday! I haven't had that much time to play with it yet, but these are my impressions when compared to the SDS2000X HD I've become quite familiar with:

  • The 1000X HD UI is much smoother and way less laggy than on the 2000x HD! Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen, but is butter smooth on the 1000X HD.

… anyone else notice the laggy difference ?

… maybe there is something about 2000X HD processor hardware or OS or UI or FW or something else that makes it an early and different branch of the Siglent HD architecture tree (beyond original the color) that sets it apart from the latter introduced models?

Maybe @2N3055 can test SDS800X-HD against his 2000X-HD. I think 800X should behave the same as 1000X-HD, although this is possible to have a different FPGA/CPU as it does not get the same updates and does not exhibit the same issues.

I don't have 1000xHD to compare to 800xHD directly, but 800 seems quite snappy. Comparison to 2000xHD? Some GUI features on 800 feel a bit faster.. Other stuff that is HW accelerated on 2000 is faster on it.

I actually use 2000xHD a lot, because I don't even know it's on...  Also it has excellent performance, and for low frequency and low level work it is actually better than my 6000 because it is 500MHz design...

I don't find it slow for normal use.
Only thing where you wait is entering Applications : Bode, Power.... Where it has to switch setup...
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #705 on: May 23, 2024, 11:40:12 am »
Maybe @2N3055 can test SDS800X-HD against his 2000X-HD. I think 800X should behave the same as 1000X-HD, although this is possible to have a different FPGA/CPU as it does not get the same updates and does not exhibit the same issues.

And does the 3000X HD share the CPU & FPGA with the 2000X HD? If so, maybe Martin72 could compare his 800 vs. the 3000?

No, no and no.
I keep repeating..

3000xHD is new platform. It has much faster processor than others. 1GB network, different ADCs (2x4GS/s) and FPGA capable of crunching so much more data.
 
The following users thanked this post: rf-loop, Performa01, ebastler, Martin72, moerm

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6671
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #706 on: May 23, 2024, 11:50:27 am »
3000xHD is new platform. It has much faster processor than others. 1GB network, different ADCs (2x4GS/s) and FPGA capable of crunching so much more data.

Thanks. I was aware of the ADC difference (which should not affect the UI) but not the FPGA and processor.

In which way does the FPGA "crunch more data"? The larger memory resides outside of the FPGA itself, I'd assume. Is it mainly allowing faster processing of triggers & decoding to support the increased sampling rates?
 

Offline skander36

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 763
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #707 on: May 23, 2024, 12:05:53 pm »
I've had an SDS2000X HD sitting on a VESA stand right next to my computer at work for the last six months, and I've been very impressed with this scope. So much so that I decided to sell my own Rigol DS1054Z and buy myself an SDS1000X HD to have at home.

And after close to three months of waiting, it arrived yesterday! I haven't had that much time to play with it yet, but these are my impressions when compared to the SDS2000X HD I've become quite familiar with:

  • The 1000X HD UI is much smoother and way less laggy than on the 2000x HD! Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen, but is butter smooth on the 1000X HD.

… anyone else notice the laggy difference ?

… maybe there is something about 2000X HD processor hardware or OS or UI or FW or something else that makes it an early and different branch of the Siglent HD architecture tree (beyond original the color) that sets it apart from the latter introduced models?

Maybe @2N3055 can test SDS800X-HD against his 2000X-HD. I think 800X should behave the same as 1000X-HD, although this is possible to have a different FPGA/CPU as it does not get the same updates and does not exhibit the same issues.

I don't have 1000xHD to compare to 800xHD directly, but 800 seems quite snappy. Comparison to 2000xHD? Some GUI features on 800 feel a bit faster.. Other stuff that is HW accelerated on 2000 is faster on it.

I actually use 2000xHD a lot, because I don't even know it's on...  Also it has excellent performance, and for low frequency and low level work it is actually better than my 6000 because it is 500MHz design...

I don't find it slow for normal use.
Only thing where you wait is entering Applications : Bode, Power.... Where it has to switch setup...

So you didn't notice this behavior observed by hansibull : " Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen"
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #708 on: May 23, 2024, 12:43:22 pm »
3000xHD is new platform. It has much faster processor than others. 1GB network, different ADCs (2x4GS/s) and FPGA capable of crunching so much more data.

Thanks. I was aware of the ADC difference (which should not affect the UI) but not the FPGA and processor.

In which way does the FPGA "crunch more data"? The larger memory resides outside of the FPGA itself, I'd assume. Is it mainly allowing faster processing of triggers & decoding to support the increased sampling rates?

Realtime 16GBytes/s instead 8GBytes/s for instance... Throughput is twice...
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #709 on: May 23, 2024, 12:48:36 pm »
So you didn't notice this behavior observed by hansibull : " Floating windows (like the Trigger Type menu) lag really badly when moving it around on the 2000X HD screen"

Huh....
Never moved Trigger Type menu around.  :-//
Will try..

My best explanation is that when I tried 2000 and 3000 side by side I noticed it was faster.
2000xHD do have some visible delays on some functions. But nothing I would call a problem.
But some people might have different expectations...
 
The following users thanked this post: skander36

Offline Performa01

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1680
  • Country: at
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #710 on: May 23, 2024, 12:56:24 pm »
I don't have an SDS1000 or 3000X HD, but the 800 UI-response feels pretty much on par with the SDS2000X HD, as I've stated in my review already.

The SDS2000X HD can get a bit sluggish in certain (rare) situations, but otherwise moving windows like the Trigger Type selection window is fast and smooth. I've just tried and could not find any lag.

For those observing a lag or otherwise strange behavior in the user interface, loading the factory defaults might cure the problem. Alternatively they could just walk through all the settings...

These instruments are fairly complex, and unexpected behavior can be caused by some leftover settings from last session, that are long forgotten by now. Candidates are especially the Acquisition settings and hidden math traces.




 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, Grandchuck

Offline skander36

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 763
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #711 on: May 23, 2024, 01:28:12 pm »
.. unexpected behavior can be caused by some leftover settings from last session, that are long forgotten by now. Candidates are especially the Acquisition settings and hidden math traces.
also observed this sometime on 1000X-HD ... reset to default solve the problem. very rare though ...
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6081
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #712 on: May 23, 2024, 08:35:45 pm »
If so, maybe Martin72 could compare his 800 vs. the 3000?
This has not been possible for a few days now.
I made someone very happy with the 800.
However, this will not change my planned Power Analyzer demo, because this option is the same for all models.

 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, egonotto, ebastler, KungFuJosh

Offline hansibull

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • Country: no
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #713 on: May 24, 2024, 07:53:17 pm »
I'm pretty sure I've read on this forum that the new 12-bit Silent scopes can control dedicated Siglent AWGs to perform bode plots.

I have an SDS1000X HD scope and an SDG2042X arbitrary waveform generator. I've connected the generator to the scope using a USB A to B cable, but when I press the Wave Gen button on the scope, I'm only getting a message saying that I need to connect a function generator module.

So is it actually possible for the scope to control a generator?
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #714 on: May 24, 2024, 08:03:41 pm »
I'm pretty sure I've read on this forum that the new 12-bit Silent scopes can control dedicated Siglent AWGs to perform bode plots.

I have an SDS1000X HD scope and an SDG2042X arbitrary waveform generator. I've connected the generator to the scope using a USB A to B cable, but when I press the Wave Gen button on the scope, I'm only getting a message saying that I need to connect a function generator module.

So is it actually possible for the scope to control a generator?

No need to use AWG button. That is really only to control AWG function of USB generator module.
You simply connect SDG2000X to scope and go in Bode plot, and there you select the AWG and go.
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, hansibull, KungFuJosh

Offline skander36

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 763
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #715 on: May 24, 2024, 08:34:18 pm »

So is it actually possible for the scope to control a generator?

AWG external generator can be used only for BODE plot and PSRR Analysis as those applications need to drive the AWG.
There is no reason for an external AWG to be controlled by the oscilloscope as the AWG has it's own interface and commands.
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 795
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #716 on: May 25, 2024, 11:54:39 am »
Hello,

my SDS3034X HD has now arrived. The SDS2104X HD had to make way for it, as I only have space for two scopes with a screen at my workstation.

Best regards
egonotto
 
The following users thanked this post: 2N3055, Mortymore, Grandchuck, KungFuJosh, Martin72

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6081
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #717 on: May 25, 2024, 01:27:56 pm »
Welcome to the probably very exclusive owners club.... ;)
Together with 2N3055 we are now three, we could play skat. 8)

Martin
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, 2N3055

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 795
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #718 on: May 25, 2024, 02:32:38 pm »
Hello,

my SDS3034X HD probably has the same trial count error as my SDS2104X HD. When using any serial decoder, the trial count of all serial options is lowered.

Best regards
egonotto
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6936
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #719 on: May 25, 2024, 02:46:56 pm »
Hello,

my SDS3034X HD probably has the same trial count error as my SDS2104X HD. When using any serial decoder, the trial count of all serial options is lowered.

Best regards
egonotto
Are you on the last FW V1.0.3.3 ?
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline rfindley

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
  • Embedded Systems Contractor
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #720 on: May 25, 2024, 02:52:33 pm »
my SDS3034X HD probably has the same trial count error as my SDS2104X HD. When using any serial decoder, the trial count of all serial options is lowered.

Oh, good to know that's how it works.  I initially thought it was 30 days, so I was afraid all of the trial options would expire before I had a chance to try them.  Althought I've had my scope for a few weeks now, I've only had enough spare time for a cursory examination so far.  But next week I'm going to start testing the boards I've been building, so I am looking forward to some true hands-on time.  I'm curious to try the power measurement feature.

Are you on the last FW V1.0.3.3 ?

Mine came with some slightly older FW, but I updated to 1.0.3.3.
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6081
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #721 on: May 25, 2024, 02:54:56 pm »
Quote
Mine came with some slightly older FW, but I updated to 1.0.3.3.

Same here..
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6081
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #722 on: May 25, 2024, 03:45:35 pm »
Tried SPL2016, works.
I was staring at the scope like a fool earlier, looking for the digital channels... |O
"Digital" button, oh there it is... ;D
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, david300m

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 795
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #723 on: May 25, 2024, 04:35:48 pm »
Hello,

yes is Software Version   4.8.9.1.0.3.3
All serial options have the same trial count 24.

Best regards
egonotto
 

Offline Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6081
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #724 on: May 25, 2024, 04:41:40 pm »
After using the LA license, it was only reduced by one day.
Then I used CAN FD and only this was also reduced by one day.
However:
If the trigger is still set to e.g. CAN-FD and you restart, this is regarded as usage and is deducted accordingly (made after the pictures, therefore not visible on them).
So always deactivate both (decoder and trigger) before shutting down/restarting the scope. ;)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2024, 04:44:55 pm by Martin72 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, egonotto, 2N3055


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf