Author Topic: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD  (Read 417459 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline skander36

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #800 on: June 14, 2024, 02:39:41 pm »
Just a short update. Batronix corrected their statement and they said they will receive it by the end of June. They were really friendly. Siglent.eu didn't respond at all.
You should try with Batterfly. They are at least at the level of Batronix at quality of service. I had many acquisitions from they and never regret (also with Batronix but on Batterfly the scope is on stock).
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, Martin72, rosenrot

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #801 on: June 14, 2024, 02:43:07 pm »
Nevertheless, I would first ask if they really still have it in stock.
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, 2N3055, rosenrot

Offline rosenrot

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: at
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #802 on: June 14, 2024, 02:48:01 pm »
Nevertheless, I would first ask if they really still have it in stock.

Definitely worthwhile for anyone who wants to make sure not to wait until end of July. Batronix changed their stock indicator now to 11-21 days so the online indicator might not always be accurate.

 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, Martin72

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #803 on: June 17, 2024, 05:58:53 am »
Hello,

once again, my SDS3034X HD is showing nonsensical readings. It only works again after switching it off and on again.

Best regards
egonotto

PS: If you compare the noise values with LeCroy HDO4034A and HDO6034B, and take into account that my SDS3034X HD has a bandwidth of 420 MHz, which should then have 4.05 mV RMS noise, the SDS3000X HD is in the same class as the LeCroy devices mentioned in terms of noise.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2024, 06:14:11 am by egonotto »
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, Martin72

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #804 on: June 18, 2024, 09:57:09 am »
Hello,

I'm surprised that the noise from SDS3034X HD is so dependent on the setting.
Once 40 Mpts and 4 Gpts/s and once 20 Mpts and 2 Gpts/s

The measurements with __ were taken later.
In the case of 20 Mpts, the values are over 20 % worse.

In the case of 1 mV/div, the difference is not so great, is only 10 %.

Best regards
egonotto

« Last Edit: June 18, 2024, 10:14:32 am by egonotto »
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72, rfindley

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #805 on: June 18, 2024, 08:55:05 pm »
Hi egonotto,
I will try to recreate this and the previous scenario on my scope over the next few days.
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, rfindley

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #806 on: June 19, 2024, 11:34:05 pm »
Hello,

for the first time I see green on the SDS3034X HD at Batronix. They now have it in stock. The SDS804X HD and SDS1104X HD are also in stock

Best regards
egonotto
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72, Ulrich.G

Offline Ulrich.G

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #807 on: June 20, 2024, 06:22:02 am »
Hello,

after the last firmware update of my SDS2000x HD, it seems to me that the startup time of the scope has increased by a few seconds. Its now around 1Min 10seconds. Can any of you happy SDS3000x HD owners tell how long the SDS3000x HD takes to boot up?
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 07:59:50 am by Ulrich.G »
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6993
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #808 on: June 20, 2024, 07:07:03 am »
I didn't measure them systematically, but they all seem to be roughly the same, few seconds here and there, except SDS800xHD that is faster than them all... I guess less stuff to load...
 
The following users thanked this post: Ulrich.G

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #809 on: June 20, 2024, 07:11:43 am »
Hello,

58 s for my SDS3000X HD.

Best regards
egonotto

PS: In terms of boot time, the R&S RTA4000 came out on top with less than 15 seconds.
 
The following users thanked this post: Ulrich.G

Offline Ulrich.G

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #810 on: June 20, 2024, 07:54:09 am »
PS: In terms of boot time, the R&S RTA4000 came out on top with less than 15 seconds.

That's pretty fast!
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #811 on: June 20, 2024, 08:22:00 am »
Hello,

again segmented memory. If you turn on the digital channels, you get fewer segments.
If the segment size is 10 kpts, there are 16319 segments for four channels, if the digital channels are also switched on, there are only 12223 segments. With segment size 1 Mpts you have 159 and 95 segments.
If you calculate with 12 bits for the analog channels and a total of 16 bits for the digital channels, you can get by with 1 GB.

Best regards
egonotto
PS: I just had another case where the voltage measurements are extremely wrong. After turning it off and on again, it's ok again.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 08:31:28 am by egonotto »
 

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #812 on: June 21, 2024, 10:41:11 pm »
Hello,

I have the impression, that the noise decreases slightly after the message "CALIBRATION_COMPLETED".

Best regards
egonotto
 

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #813 on: June 21, 2024, 10:50:35 pm »
The message appears almost exactly 10 minutes after booting.
And is a double-edged sword in my eyes.
On the one hand you could ask yourself how, after 10 minutes I can use the scope, then it would be the longest boot time ever.
On the other hand, the fact is that the values of a scope according to the data sheet are usually collected after a certain warm-up time.
We don't know exactly how long this takes.
20 minutes...half an hour...longer...
With the SDS3000X HD, you know it from this message.
That's why I'm still wondering whether it should remain or not be displayed at all so as not to confuse people.
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #814 on: June 21, 2024, 11:11:58 pm »
Hello,

I would even like it to be visible somewhere after booting that the CALIBRATION has not yet been completed. When the message "CALIBRATION_COMPLETED" appears, the traces disappear for a short time.

Best regards
egonotto
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #815 on: June 23, 2024, 08:04:55 pm »
A few impressions....
This refutes the data sheet regarding the bandwidth specification when 2 identical channels are active, it is 750Mhz, not 800Mhz.
Risetime is impressively low, the higher bandwidth naturally has an effect on the overshoot.
More pictures:
Intrinsic noise at 1V/1MOhm/full bandwidth, as well as various other settings, plus an FFT of the bodnarpulser, 10Mhz center, 100kHz span, flattop.

"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, Electro Fan, egonotto, KungFuJosh

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #816 on: June 23, 2024, 09:24:43 pm »
Hello,

what I don't understand is that at 500 uV 50 Ohm 20 MHz ERES hardly shows any effect.

It would be interesting to see how the SDS804X HD performs at 20 MHz and 500 uV.

Best regards
egonotto
« Last Edit: June 23, 2024, 09:35:12 pm by egonotto »
 

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #817 on: June 23, 2024, 09:34:57 pm »
Hi,

I don't remember the bandwidth reductions for the different ERES modes, but if they are above or just below the 20MHz filter, the effect is almost zero.
You can test this by not putting a filter in front of it, i.e. fulll bandwidth in the channel setting and then using ERES.
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #818 on: June 23, 2024, 09:41:30 pm »
Hello,

with ERES 4, the bandwidth is 3.4 MHz. This should be clearly noticeable.
I would expect well below 20 uV. But I don't get that, more like 27 uV

Best regards
egonotto

« Last Edit: June 23, 2024, 09:45:54 pm by egonotto »
 

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #819 on: June 23, 2024, 09:54:57 pm »
Quote
I would expect well below 20 uV.

Why ?

Quote
But I don't get that, more like 27 uV

Would a 7µV difference at 500µV/div still be recognizable?
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #820 on: June 23, 2024, 10:44:57 pm »
Hello,

because of my experience with the Rigol DHO1000.

With Hires and a bandwith 12.5 MHz the noise is about 18 uV.

Best regards
egonotto
 

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6303
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #821 on: June 24, 2024, 05:24:38 am »
Hi,
The DHO 1000 does not have a 1Ghz front end either.
"Comparison is the end of happiness and the beginning of dissatisfaction."
(Kierkegaard)
Siglent SDS800X HD Deep Review
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6993
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #822 on: June 24, 2024, 07:26:03 pm »
In Siglent xHD family, for lowest noise  sweet spot is SDS2000X HD.
While still being 500MHz.
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, egonotto, famalex, KungFuJosh, Martin72, Ulrich.G

Online egonotto

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #823 on: June 24, 2024, 11:21:49 pm »
Hello,

Mine has a little more noise. At a bandwidth of 20 MHz, my DHO1074 is better and it should also have a 500 MHz front end from the HDO4000.
(From zrq (Reply #1236 in Rigol HDO1000 and HDO4000 thread): "Note that the possibility to hack a DHO1000 for the 50 Ohm input (only for ranges <=100 mV/div and with some offset issues), all software features on DHO4000 and >500 MHz BW has been proven on my 1074")

best regards
egonotto
« Last Edit: June 24, 2024, 11:28:37 pm by egonotto »
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6993
  • Country: hr
Re: Siglent SDS3000X HD and upgraded SDS1000X HD
« Reply #824 on: June 25, 2024, 06:19:57 am »
Hello,

Mine has a little more noise. At a bandwidth of 20 MHz, my DHO1074 is better and it should also have a 500 MHz front end from the HDO4000.
(From zrq (Reply #1236 in Rigol HDO1000 and HDO4000 thread): "Note that the possibility to hack a DHO1000 for the 50 Ohm input (only for ranges <=100 mV/div and with some offset issues), all software features on DHO4000 and >500 MHz BW has been proven on my 1074")

best regards
egonotto

If BNC is not covered with shield it can snatch some signal from thin air...

As was already established, If you need only basic math, and lowest possible noise, DHO800 does best job for least money.
DHO4000 really has no additional features (capabilities) in addition to DHO800, except BW active probe interface and more decodes.

Fact is, people complained so much that previous generation Rigol scopes have lots of noise that Rigol took it seriously.
So seriously, in fact, that they seem to think other stuff is not so important anymore.  ^-^
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf