Author Topic: Siglent SPD3303D review  (Read 73722 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2325
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #150 on: October 18, 2016, 08:02:39 pm »
Yes, the lock key is a limited version of the "limit" function which some of the Rigol power supplies have, see minute 18:46 in this video:

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer
 

Offline Salas

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: gr
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #151 on: October 21, 2016, 05:01:13 pm »
Panel keys lock is alright, does the job. The X series have a good enough UI by now too. I like the compact form factor and silent operation of our Siglent vs the Rigol. Also the relays for series. No need for wire jumpers to change modes. I am also happy with the after sales service.
A friend has the Rigol and its way too bulky and noisy for me, also the screen characters are small and many. A crowded display. All same color.
If Siglent could retro-fix the S series firmware for all digits selection to be changing with the rotary I would be happy. If they could be also adding set and out display sections like on the X it would be perfect. They are the same PSUs except there is also network in the X. That could mean a different controller chip inside though.
 

Offline leonerd

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #152 on: November 23, 2016, 02:18:10 pm »
With the new firmware, the display makes much more sense, and can set the set points independently of the measured output.

Oooh - is that the thing I was suggesting way back a year ago or so? Do you have any pictures you could show us of the new display form?

It is also worth noting that the 2.5/3.3/5V channel is overload protected, but the current limit is not adjustable. A pity, but you do have 2 other channels with full control.

Yeah - I'm really not sure I consider this to be a 3-channel power supply. It's more like 2-and-a-bit. CH3 is not a real channel.
 

Offline nidlaX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 647
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #153 on: March 16, 2017, 06:40:44 pm »
Has anyone noticed whether or not the fan speed will drop when you enable the output? I know that the fan speed varies according to the temperature of the main heatsink, but the fan speed on my unit always drops considerably when the output is enabled compared to when it's disabled.

It makes me wonder if there is a power rail issue.
 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 894
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #154 on: March 16, 2017, 06:49:48 pm »
Mine does the same. Perhaps the fan is powered straight from the rectified output to ease on the regulator? Haven't checked, though.
 

Offline nidlaX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 647
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #155 on: March 17, 2017, 06:19:43 am »
Mine does the same. Perhaps the fan is powered straight from the rectified output to ease on the regulator? Haven't checked, though.
Ok, that sounds plausible and I can accept it.

Another issue I've noticed is that my channel 2 is drawing 0.01 A or so when the output is enabled, but not connected to any load. Should I be concerned?

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 894
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #156 on: March 17, 2017, 10:29:43 am »
Another issue I've noticed is that my channel 2 is drawing 0.01 A or so when the output is enabled, but not connected to any load. Should I be concerned?

Are we talking the "D" or "S" model? If you have "D", then I definitely wouldn't worry about it, 0.01A being the one least significant digit count. I have the "S" model (1 mA resolution one) and both channels show (different) few mA of current values when enabled but unloaded after cold start. They then drop to few (sub 10) mA after some time, as the thing heats up. It's rather easy to check the manual whether yours still in specs or not (I don't have it on hand now).
 

Offline Helix70

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: au
  • VK4JNA
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #157 on: March 20, 2017, 01:02:56 am »
Anyone know a way to recover the SPD3303X after a failed firmware update bricks it? Nothing at all on power up now.

I tried the firmware update on advice from Siglent after having front panel lockups. It is under warranty, and Trio are fantastic, sending me a loaner while mine is being fixed, but would like to recover it if it is straight forward.
 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 894
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #158 on: March 20, 2017, 10:48:26 am »
Anyone know a way to recover the SPD3303X after a failed firmware update bricks it? Nothing at all on power up now.

I tried the firmware update on advice from Siglent after having front panel lockups. It is under warranty, and Trio are fantastic, sending me a loaner while mine is being fixed, but would like to recover it if it is straight forward.

IIRC, you put it in the bootloader mode by holding the rotary encoder pressed while powering up. Then you'll have to choose "bootloader mode" in the supplied software while uploading the firmware file.
 
The following users thanked this post: Helix70

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19412
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #159 on: March 20, 2017, 06:20:13 pm »
Anyone know a way to recover the SPD3303X after a failed firmware update bricks it? Nothing at all on power up now.

I tried the firmware update on advice from Siglent after having front panel lockups. It is under warranty, and Trio are fantastic, sending me a loaner while mine is being fixed, but would like to recover it if it is straight forward.

IIRC, you put it in the bootloader mode by holding the rotary encoder pressed while powering up. Then you'll have to choose "bootloader mode" in the supplied software while uploading the firmware file.
For one I updated recently, I had to install the EasyPower PC control utility and install the new FW via that. It seemed the only way mentioned to update the X series PSU's, The process was quite straightforward and painless enough. The X series PSU screen displayed an "updating" message while it was and IIRC another to restart the PSU when finished.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: Helix70

Offline mimmus78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #160 on: March 20, 2017, 07:07:25 pm »
Prematurely wear out? Not at all, I have others Agilent power supply and almost never used this Siglent one.
When he developed the problem was almost like new ... Now I learned to turn off the channel before changing voltage, but this is not always possible.

Anyway it should be a safety (for the circuit you are working on) to not ever jump like this. It doesn't even have acceleration implemented ...

It also has the USB tmc bug that was never solved. You get what you pay for.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2017, 07:10:01 pm by mimmus78 »
 

Offline Helix70

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: au
  • VK4JNA
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #161 on: March 21, 2017, 06:51:26 am »
Anyone know a way to recover the SPD3303X after a failed firmware update bricks it? Nothing at all on power up now.

I tried the firmware update on advice from Siglent after having front panel lockups. It is under warranty, and Trio are fantastic, sending me a loaner while mine is being fixed, but would like to recover it if it is straight forward.

IIRC, you put it in the bootloader mode by holding the rotary encoder pressed while powering up. Then you'll have to choose "bootloader mode" in the supplied software while uploading the firmware file.

Thanks, that worked. I also had to reinstall the NI-VISA drivers, mine had gotten corrupted somehow. FYI, don't do the update via a USB hub, or you may brick it. Direct connection worked. Now I can wait and see if the update fixed my panel lockups!
 

Offline nidlaX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 647
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #162 on: January 03, 2018, 11:42:04 am »
I'm sure anyone who cares has already figured it out, but it's quite trivial to upgrade the 3303D to the S version. Simply open the S version .ugf file in a hex editor (or maybe notepad) and change the 'SPD3303S' header to 'SPD3303D'. (EDIT: Ooops, I had that the other way around...  :-//)

Of greater interest is upgrading the S version to the X version firmware. After comparing some pictures, it looks like the D/S controller board is very similar to the X/X-E one. A quick look at the .ads format firmware for the X version suggests that it is indeed built on the same foundation as the D/S firmware, with 3303D and 3303S strings still intact. Unfortunately, the .ads format for the power supplies is not quite the same as the one used for the oscilloscopes, so more reversing is needed. Refer to this thread for more info: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ads-firmware-file-format/

As always, we would very much appreciate it if Siglent could simply backport some of the interface improvements to the 3303D/S and save us all a load of trouble. :-DD
« Last Edit: January 03, 2018, 08:06:13 pm by nidlaX »
 

Offline jimjam

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #163 on: June 08, 2020, 02:57:43 pm »
Of greater interest is upgrading the S version to the X version firmware. After comparing some pictures, it looks like the D/S controller board is very similar to the X/X-E one. A quick look at the .ads format firmware for the X version suggests that it is indeed built on the same foundation as the D/S firmware, with 3303D and 3303S strings still intact. Unfortunately, the .ads format for the power supplies is not quite the same as the one used for the oscilloscopes, so more reversing is needed. Refer to this thread for more info: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ads-firmware-file-format/

As always, we would very much appreciate it if Siglent could simply backport some of the interface improvements to the 3303D/S and save us all a load of trouble. :-DD
Did you find out more about this?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19412
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #164 on: June 08, 2020, 07:57:20 pm »
Of greater interest is upgrading the S version to the X version firmware. After comparing some pictures, it looks like the D/S controller board is very similar to the X/X-E one. A quick look at the .ads format firmware for the X version suggests that it is indeed built on the same foundation as the D/S firmware, with 3303D and 3303S strings still intact. Unfortunately, the .ads format for the power supplies is not quite the same as the one used for the oscilloscopes, so more reversing is needed. Refer to this thread for more info: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ads-firmware-file-format/

As always, we would very much appreciate it if Siglent could simply backport some of the interface improvements to the 3303D/S and save us all a load of trouble. :-DD
Did you find out more about this?
Not worth the effort as the X series PSU's use a LCD display vs LED for the old models.
My 2c is go for the later SPD3303X-E. They're the only ones I stock now.....so much more info on the home screen:
https://int.siglent.com/products-overview/spd3000x/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline jimjam

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • Country: au
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #165 on: June 08, 2020, 11:36:01 pm »
Not worth the effort as the X series PSU's use a LCD display vs LED for the old models.
My 2c is go for the later SPD3303X-E. They're the only ones I stock now.....so much more info on the home screen:
https://int.siglent.com/products-overview/spd3000x/
I already have SPD3303D and it has an LCD display
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19412
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SPD3303D review
« Reply #166 on: June 08, 2020, 11:55:11 pm »
Not worth the effort as the X series PSU's use a LCD display vs LED for the old models.
My 2c is go for the later SPD3303X-E. They're the only ones I stock now.....so much more info on the home screen:
https://int.siglent.com/products-overview/spd3000x/
I already have SPD3303D and it has an LCD display
Ah, OK.
Dunno what to suggest then for a display upgrade/hack.  :-//
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf