Author Topic: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers  (Read 249428 times)

jjoonathan and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18346
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1075 on: June 02, 2020, 08:41:17 pm »
Real stock SVA1032X running FW .2.7 after Factory Reset. Open ports.
And yes Reset sets screenshot to Inverted and Points back to 201.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut

Online tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1076 on: June 02, 2020, 08:44:23 pm »
Real stock SVA1032X running FW .2.7 after Factory Reset. Open ports.
And yes Reset sets screenshot to Inverted and Points back to 201.

Just like mine  :phew:
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18346
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1077 on: June 02, 2020, 08:51:59 pm »
Real stock SVA1032X running FW .2.7 after Factory Reset. Open ports.
And yes Reset sets screenshot to Inverted and Points back to 201.

Just like mine  :phew:
Remind us all what it started life as ?  :popcorn:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline RellikJM

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1078 on: June 03, 2020, 06:05:23 am »
Remind us all what it started life as ?  :popcorn:

Please do as I'm looking at a SSA3021X Plus and I like the idea that it will be able to perform VNA functions after loading "modified" firmware and performing a calibration.
 

Online tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1079 on: June 03, 2020, 07:43:38 am »
[ Specified attachment is not available ]
Remind us all what it started life as ?  :popcorn:

SSA3021X-Plus, which now works as a SVA1032X with options.

999613-1

999615-2
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 07:46:45 am by tubularnut »
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, Pieh0, Elasia

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1080 on: June 03, 2020, 12:12:55 pm »
I've up/sidegraded mine from a SSA3021X Plus to an SVA1032X Plus too, and from all the other VNA and other test equipment I have, using the same calibration standard, they all line up so I know it's as accurate as my standards are.

They're from a cheap SMA calibration kit, so sure, they're not going to be perfect at 3.2GHz, but for 2.4GHz, which is where I use it most, it's good enough.

Thanks for all the information in this thread :)
 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut

Offline jemangedeslolos

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1081 on: June 03, 2020, 12:23:35 pm »
Do you have a recommendation for a cheap but decent quality calibration kit?
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1082 on: June 03, 2020, 12:32:42 pm »
I've up/sidegraded mine from a SSA3021X Plus to an SVA1032X Plus too, and from all the other VNA and other test equipment I have, using the same calibration standard, they all line up so I know it's as accurate as my standards are.

They're from a cheap SMA calibration kit, so sure, they're not going to be perfect at 3.2GHz, but for 2.4GHz, which is where I use it most, it's good enough.

Thanks for all the information in this thread :)

Nice.. so what we have been seeing isnt crazy, once i figure out how to stuff factory cals with our own cals then that should get them working like the real SVA models and less wonky
 

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1083 on: June 03, 2020, 12:36:58 pm »
Do you have a recommendation for a cheap but decent quality calibration kit?

I got this a few years ago. Basically any cheap calibration kit will work, and for amateur/hobby use, it's accurate enough.

After all, if you were wanting 0.01db levels of accuracy, you would have emptied your wallet for a fully specced keysight VNA where spending over £1000 on a calibration kit is nothing :).

https://www.hamradio.co.uk/accessories-antenna-analysers/adonis/minivna-sma-calibration-kit-pd-5649.php



« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 12:43:13 pm by Pieh0 »
 
The following users thanked this post: jemangedeslolos

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1084 on: June 03, 2020, 12:41:13 pm »
I've up/sidegraded mine from a SSA3021X Plus to an SVA1032X Plus too, and from all the other VNA and other test equipment I have, using the same calibration standard, they all line up so I know it's as accurate as my standards are.

They're from a cheap SMA calibration kit, so sure, they're not going to be perfect at 3.2GHz, but for 2.4GHz, which is where I use it most, it's good enough.

Thanks for all the information in this thread :)

Nice.. so what we have been seeing isnt crazy, once i figure out how to stuff factory cals with our own cals then that should get them working like the real SVA models and less wonky
I'm not sure you and others looking at this right.

With a VNA, you calibrate it before you use it. It's not a case of calibrate it once and leave it until next year when it's cal date comes up.

That's why you can get cal kits, because you need them as much as you need probes for a scope :).

Now sure, you can save the calibration and run off that, but you have to assume that nothing has drifted sufficiently to throw out your measurements, and calibration only takes a minute.

Remember, the ambient temperature, humidity and a ton of other factors can change a VNA measurement, and that wouldn't have been accounted for in a saved calibration.
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1085 on: June 03, 2020, 12:56:26 pm »
I've up/sidegraded mine from a SSA3021X Plus to an SVA1032X Plus too, and from all the other VNA and other test equipment I have, using the same calibration standard, they all line up so I know it's as accurate as my standards are.

They're from a cheap SMA calibration kit, so sure, they're not going to be perfect at 3.2GHz, but for 2.4GHz, which is where I use it most, it's good enough.

Thanks for all the information in this thread :)

Nice.. so what we have been seeing isnt crazy, once i figure out how to stuff factory cals with our own cals then that should get them working like the real SVA models and less wonky
I'm not sure you and others looking at this right.

With a VNA, you calibrate it before you use it. It's not a case of calibrate it once and leave it until next year when it's cal date comes up.

That's why you can get cal kits, because you need them as much as you need probes for a scope :).

Now sure, you can save the calibration and run off that, but you have to assume that nothing has drifted sufficiently to throw out your measurements, and calibration only takes a minute.

Remember, the ambient temperature, humidity and a ton of other factors can change a VNA measurement, and that wouldn't have been accounted for in a saved calibration.

Right.. im talking about full replication of what the SVA1032X does and looks from factory..

This is what our screens should be looking like out of the box

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sva1015x-1-5ghz-spectrum-vector-network-analyzer-(coming)/msg3086871/#msg3086871

That takes two parts, one, a user with a known value cal kit, two how to stuff that particular cal file and were to put it so it then behaves as it would from factory

The end goal is full replication of a factory SVA in all its behaviours and screens out of the box + any enhancements

And now that you did it and know what you are doing have confirmed it actually does work for VNA and more than likely is all there

If you can, it would be good if you could go through the entire feature set of the SVA and confirm if it is all working as expected, any bugs, etc

I can hack it but never have done much with SVA before so thats why all the odd ball questions on just what it should be doing


Edit: Further this whole SVA thing going on is just a free bonus to me... i was expecting to hack just a SSA... that changed when i opened it up and people gawked at the connections to be a SVA ;p
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 12:59:24 pm by Elasia »
 

Online tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1086 on: June 03, 2020, 01:13:24 pm »

This is what our screens should be looking like out of the box

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sva1015x-1-5ghz-spectrum-vector-network-analyzer-(coming)/msg3086871/#msg3086871


Mine already looks like that? Open port, no cal applied.

 

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1087 on: June 03, 2020, 01:20:31 pm »
No idea what mine would have looked like on a smith chart as I calibrate before use, but I just turned it on and had a look and this is what I got, so I've got no idea if it saved the previous calibration, only thing I can do it so use a 75ohm load and do a restart to see what happens.

There's going to be variations in each build, so using someone elses cal file is likely to be less accurate than buying a cheap kit off banggood.

Currently i've tested it against my N1201SA Vector antenna analyser and the LTDZ "VNA" and the results are basically the same, but that's to be somewhat expected when using the same standard to cal them against, but at least it shows that it's working to at least the same level as the other kit I've got.

I generally don't use smith charts as i've never had a proper VNA before, but at least this gives me the change to learn how to use them :)
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1088 on: June 03, 2020, 02:12:06 pm »
Yeah, thats actually interesting because the two of you got and looks like tau's calibrated one that but noreply and mine look uncalibrated
 

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1089 on: June 03, 2020, 06:41:43 pm »
Well I just tried to calibrate against a 75ohm load, restarted and it kept that calibration, so as I though, the reason why mine was showing up is because I calibrated it from the start, never thought to try using it without doing it.

Good news though is that it's easy to calibrate and takes a minute, so you just need a kit to do it with, and like I said, the cheap ones are mostly ok for the majority of stuff you're going to use it on. :)

 
The following users thanked this post: jemangedeslolos

Offline techneut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1090 on: June 03, 2020, 09:08:08 pm »
My SSA/SVA looks completely different.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 09:22:54 pm by techneut »
 

Online tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1091 on: June 03, 2020, 09:25:08 pm »
Ouch!!
 

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1092 on: June 03, 2020, 09:50:26 pm »
My SSA/SVA looks completely different.

I'm guessing that's without any form of calibration at all?

 

Offline jemangedeslolos

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Country: fr
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1093 on: June 03, 2020, 09:55:14 pm »
My SSA/SVA looks completely different.

tv84 brain when a new Siglent device is released
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, tv84, Pieh0, Elasia

Offline techneut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1094 on: June 04, 2020, 12:01:42 am »
After calibration
 

Offline techneut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1095 on: June 04, 2020, 12:12:13 am »
En S11 after cal
 

Offline noreply

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1096 on: June 04, 2020, 03:48:12 am »
Is there a control to dim the SVA1032x  'LCD display' (not the reticule display - which has a control)??

Trying to make some videos - but the screen is 'too bright' for my setup - would be nice to turn it down a little if possible  :-\


 

Offline noreply

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1097 on: June 04, 2020, 03:54:05 am »
Been lurking about YT to find some DIY TEM Cell stuff

Found something interesting ...




And for a beginners guide this was great ...

Ignoring the 'sales pitch' - this is a great guide to get to know your device (if not allready)





« Last Edit: June 04, 2020, 03:56:35 am by noreply »
 

Offline Pieh0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1098 on: June 04, 2020, 10:02:00 am »
Is there a control to dim the SVA1032x  'LCD display' (not the reticule display - which has a control)??

Trying to make some videos - but the screen is 'too bright' for my setup - would be nice to turn it down a little if possible  :-\

You could use VNC Viewer and do a screen capture from that.
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1099 on: June 04, 2020, 11:19:33 am »
My SSA/SVA looks completely different.

Did you have something connected to TG aka Port 1?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf