Author Topic: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers  (Read 270805 times)

raidisk and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1250 on: August 26, 2020, 02:50:11 pm »
Take a deep breath and wait for @Elasia.

Are you sure you have your serial port well connected and configured? Verify all once again.

I've tryied with 2 computers , 2 terminals all native serials.Puty and hercules show the the same ==it :( do not know :(

Sure, but what about the the SSA pins? Are they correct?
 
The following users thanked this post: iulisan

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1251 on: August 26, 2020, 02:57:52 pm »
I've tested with a printer so it was ok .Reverse tx with rx , no luck with my beautiful machine :(
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1603
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1252 on: August 26, 2020, 03:01:35 pm »
What do you mean with native serial?  RS232?  Doesn't the UART in-out pins work at 3.3V levels?
 
The following users thanked this post: iulisan

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1253 on: August 26, 2020, 03:13:19 pm »
What do you mean with native serial?  RS232?  Doesn't the UART in-out pins work at 3.3V levels?

Ok , so I put GND ,RX, TX DIRECTRLY TO RS232 INTO A computer , I was wrong ?
 

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1254 on: August 26, 2020, 04:12:12 pm »
What do you mean with native serial?  RS232?  Doesn't the UART in-out pins work at 3.3V levels?

Ok , so I put GND ,RX, TX DIRECTRLY TO RS232 INTO A computer , I was wrong ?

Done.I am into maschine .Thank you for the info. Still working.It seems tha he is talking to me :)
 
The following users thanked this post: Elasia

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 627
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1255 on: August 26, 2020, 04:13:08 pm »
Not all computers work, my own main machine garbled it completely actually so that does happen

1. Check your pinouts and post pics of your pinouts to both sides labeled
2. Check 115200 8N1 is set
3. Sanity check your terminal uart does indeed actually work
4. Use a different computer if uart works but still cant read the device

If you have a scope that can decode uart, attach it to the lines, you can confirm that it is indeed actually putting out correct data

Doing all of this should lead you to finding the issue
 
The following users thanked this post: iulisan

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1256 on: August 26, 2020, 05:38:14 pm »
Not all computers work, my own main machine garbled it completely actually so that does happen

1. Check your pinouts and post pics of your pinouts to both sides labeled
2. Check 115200 8N1 is set
3. Sanity check your terminal uart does indeed actually work
4. Use a different computer if uart works but still cant read the device

If you have a scope that can decode uart, attach it to the lines, you can confirm that it is indeed actually putting out correct data

Doing all of this should lead you to finding the issue

I manage to make him alive ! the problem was the interface : so I put a ttl to translate from SSA to computer.And now I will start again with the update. Thank you all my friends. you are so smart, thank you.
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1257 on: August 29, 2020, 12:37:30 am »
Not all computers work, my own main machine garbled it completely actually so that does happen

1. Check your pinouts and post pics of your pinouts to both sides labeled
2. Check 115200 8N1 is set
3. Sanity check your terminal uart does indeed actually work
4. Use a different computer if uart works but still cant read the device

If you have a scope that can decode uart, attach it to the lines, you can confirm that it is indeed actually putting out correct data

Doing all of this should lead you to finding the issue

I manage to make him alive ! the problem was the interface : so I put a ttl to translate from SSA to computer.And now I will start again with the update. Thank you all my friends. you are so smart, thank you.
Good to see you rescued your SSA. nice work  :clap:
 
The following users thanked this post: iulisan

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1258 on: August 29, 2020, 02:40:05 pm »
Hello my smart friends.I will conclude :

ALL GOOD ! Thank you friends , so :

1-I WILL NEVER DO THAT AGAIN , I ALMOST CALL 112.
2-ALL OF YOU THINK THAT YOU CAN DO IT BY YOUR SELF PLEASE BE AWARE OF WHAT YOU ARE DOING !!!
3-I regret NOTHING , I had alternatives if I fail : I failed .
4-Always have a backup of what you did.
5-First attempt : fail !
6-Call my friends over here and tell them my problem.All good.
7-I removed all warranty to make him talk to PC ( I do not trust just removed the plastic on the back , I solder rx,tx,GND )
8-Call a friend that I way smarter than me : TEAMVIEW.
9-64 minutes later you can see the result.

Bottom line : DO NOT TRY IF YOU ARE NOT SURE WHAT YOU ARE DOING !!!

I would like to thank my friends who helped me : Elasia , tv84 , Precut , TK .

PLEASE BE CAREFUL WITH THE UPDATE.

My friends , I thank you.
 

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1259 on: August 29, 2020, 03:31:42 pm »
Please be carefull !!!

Again thank you my smart friends.
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1260 on: August 29, 2020, 06:16:45 pm »
Good news iulisan, glad you've got your SSA3021X Plus working again and upgraded too :-+

I'm not especially gifted in all this, but have successfully upgraded my SDS2120X Plus (this went well) and more recently the SDG2042X (some difficultly since I am using a MAC) with the help of folks here. Now considering the SSA3021X Plus, which seems at another level of difficulty.

Is it possible to upgrade the SSA3021X Plus without having to go thru all the issues you've encountered, especially having to get inside the instrument and use the UART?

Best,
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline iulisan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ro
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1261 on: August 30, 2020, 02:00:50 am »
Good news iulisan, glad you've got your SSA3021X Plus working again and upgraded too :-+

I'm not especially gifted in all this, but have successfully upgraded my SDS2120X Plus (this went well) and more recently the SDG2042X (some difficultly since I am using a MAC) with the help of folks here. Now considering the SSA3021X Plus, which seems at another level of difficulty.

Is it possible to upgrade the SSA3021X Plus without having to go thru all the issues you've encountered, especially having to get inside the instrument and use the UART?

Best,

Hi there my friend , of course you can do it without having to do what I have done specially IF YOU KNOW what you are doing ! I really do not know what went wrong but since it is my machine I risk it all.It was all planned since I bought it and even when it was in plan to buy it :) As I said I will never try it again :) Good luck.
 

Offline nike75

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: bg
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1262 on: August 31, 2020, 06:53:34 pm »
Hello all,

Another successfully crossflashed SSA+  :-+
Huge thanks to all forum members who actively helped the success of the process and escpecially TurboTom and tv84!

For now, the instrument is in pro-mode, but I will try to finish the case.
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1263 on: September 02, 2020, 01:06:29 pm »
I took the plunge and tried the cross to the SVA1032 from a new SSA3021X Plus following the details from #963. Long story short is the Model Number changed to SSA3021X Plus, but only SA and MA are highlighted under Mode, VNA and DTF are not highlighted. Under SA use the top frequency range is still 2.1GHz. Still only the TG is Permanent.

System Info

SW1    2.2.1.2.5
SW2    20191022-5
SW3    000000D4
HW      00.00.00

The SSA has SW version 2.2.1.2.3r1 initially and after a failed attempt at the cross I updated the SSA FM to 2.2.1.2.5

Any suggestions on what to try and help is appreciated.

Best
« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 01:23:02 pm by mawyatt »
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 627
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1264 on: September 02, 2020, 01:43:48 pm »
I took the plunge and tried the cross to the SVA1032 from a new SSA3021X Plus following the details from #963. Long story short is the Model Number changed to SSA3021X Plus, but only SA and MA are highlighted under Mode, VNA and DTF are not highlighted. Under SA use the top frequency range is still 2.1GHz. Still only the TG is Permanent.

System Info

SW1    2.2.1.2.5
SW2    20191022-5
SW3    000000D4
HW      00.00.00

The SSA has SW version 2.2.1.2.3r1 initially and after a failed attempt at the cross I updated the SSA FM to 2.2.1.2.5

Any suggestions on what to try and help is appreciated.

Best

Follow this updated process that someone compiled from our various back and forth

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/msg3180754/#msg3180754
 
The following users thanked this post: mawyatt

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1265 on: September 02, 2020, 02:43:44 pm »
I took the plunge and tried the cross to the SVA1032 from a new SSA3021X Plus following the details from #963. Long story short is the Model Number changed to SSA3021X Plus, but only SA and MA are highlighted under Mode, VNA and DTF are not highlighted. Under SA use the top frequency range is still 2.1GHz. Still only the TG is Permanent.

System Info

SW1    2.2.1.2.5
SW2    20191022-5
SW3    000000D4
HW      00.00.00

The SSA has SW version 2.2.1.2.3r1 initially and after a failed attempt at the cross I updated the SSA FM to 2.2.1.2.5

Any suggestions on what to try and help is appreciated.

Best

Follow this updated process that someone compiled from our various back and forth

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/msg3180754/#msg3180754

Hello,

I couldn't get telnet access using the SSA file, had to use the SVA file. I think the SSA3021X Plus partially thinks it's a SVA now. In telnet I don't see /usr/bin/siglent/ecomb_p & or /usr/bin/siglent/ecomb &

/usr/bin/siglent # ls
Aladdin         firmdata1       startup_app.sh  vnc_test
config          lib             startup_ftp.sh  vncserver
config_eth0.sh  lighttpd.conf   startup_vnc.sh  vsftpd
drivers         log             usr
firmdata0       php.ini         vdma_vnc.sh



Here's the startup_app.sh file

export QT_QPA_PLATFORM=linuxfb:fb=/dev/fb0:size=1024x600:mmsize=223x125:rotatio
export QT_QPA_GENERIC_PLUGINS=evdevtouch:/dev/input/event0                     
export QT_QPA_EVDEV_TOUCHSCREEN_PARAMETERS=/dev/input/event0                   
                                                                               
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/bin/siglent:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH                       
export LANG=en_US.utf8                                                         
                                                                               
                                                                               
mount -o remount,rw /usr/bin/siglent                                           
if [ -d /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup/app ]; then                               
        cp -rpf /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup/app/* /usr/bin/siglent/           
        echo "cp -pf /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup/app/* /usr/bin/siglent/"     
        sync                                                                   
        rm /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup/app -r                                 
        sync                                                                   
fi                                                                             
                                                                               
/usr/bin/siglent/config_eth0.sh                                               
                                                                               
/usr/bin/siglent/Aladdin &                                                     
                                                                               
mount -o remount,ro /usr/bin/siglent
     

And the NSP_config_upgrade_info.xml file

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>^M
<nsp_upgrade_info_root>^M
        <device>^M
                <upgrade_static_id>11403</upgrade_static_id>^M
                <upgrade_start_id>11400</upgrade_start_id>^M
                <upgrade_end_id>11499</upgrade_end_id>^M
        </device>^M
</nsp_upgrade_info_root>        ^M
                ^M


Not sure why the ecomb file is not there, I originally did the file name change with mv /usr/bin/siglent/ecomb_p /usr/bin/siglent/ecomb and the name change was successful. Then I proceeded down the list and changed the id from 11405 to 11403 which was also successful.

Any help is greatly appreciated, and thanks for the response.

Best,
« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 02:48:30 pm by mawyatt »
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1266 on: September 02, 2020, 02:56:34 pm »
You have a SVA running. To do a final validation, flash the latest stock SVA1032X FW again.

If it's successfull, you definitely have a SVA1032X in your hands. In that case, do the final NSP_config file replacement and the model designation will become SVA1032X (see here).
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1267 on: September 02, 2020, 03:10:19 pm »
Just did the flash with SVA1032X V2.2.1.2.8 and the result is still the same, under Mode the VNA is not highlighted, nor is DTF.

I didn't follow up with the model designation yet since it shouldn't help.

Best,

« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 03:31:39 pm by mawyatt »
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1268 on: September 02, 2020, 03:35:14 pm »
You didn't read the thread correctly.

The crossflashing, in itself, doesn't provide the option licensing. Not even the BW upgrade.

You now have a SVA. For those questions that you refer to, you need to license the SVA options.
 
The following users thanked this post: mawyatt

Offline Emo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: nl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1269 on: September 02, 2020, 04:16:33 pm »
As your SA was originally delivered with

Quote
The SSA has SW version 2.2.1.2.3r1 initially

Once you have it up and running your HW may be missing the connection between the tracking generator and the input. So if your VNA results shows abnormal graphs and it cannot be calibrated you will have to open up your box and insert a short SMA jumper(approx 5 cm/2 inch needed with 90o connectors

Eric
 
The following users thanked this post: Relaxe, mawyatt

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1270 on: September 02, 2020, 04:41:25 pm »
I see the second part on #1224, and going to thru with this procedure.

In step 3 I get this

cp -R /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup /usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/SA-backup
cp: can't create directory '/usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/SA-backup': Read-only file system

Assume I must make the system RW compatible but don't want to mess this step up. I tried mount -o remount,rw /usr/bin/siglent but didn't help and suspect I'll need to make the root RW compatible but wanted to ask first and maybe get proper command. Went ahead and used mount -o remount,rw /usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/ which allowed the backup commands to work. So moving ahead slowly ::)

Best,

 


« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 05:04:44 pm by mawyatt »
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1271 on: September 02, 2020, 04:44:51 pm »
As your SA was originally delivered with

Quote
The SSA has SW version 2.2.1.2.3r1 initially

Once you have it up and running your HW may be missing the connection between the tracking generator and the input. So if your VNA results shows abnormal graphs and it cannot be calibrated you will have to open up your box and insert a short SMA jumper(approx 5 cm/2 inch needed with 90o connectors

Eric

Hi Eric,

Yes I read this post about the "missing" cable, hopefully mine will have the cable installed as I don't have any SMA short right angled cables or connectors laying around.

Now just trying to get past the inability to create the backup in step 3 from post #1224.

Best,
« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 04:47:33 pm by mawyatt »
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Offline mawyatt

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1272 on: September 02, 2020, 05:53:49 pm »
Good news, looks like the SSA3021X Plus has been transformed into the SVA1032X  :phew:

It appears the SMA cable is installed also :)

Thanks to to Elasia, tv84 and Emo for all the help :clap:

Best,
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19420
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1273 on: September 02, 2020, 09:37:29 pm »
Good news, looks like the SSA3021X Plus has been transformed into the SVA1032X  :phew:

It appears the SMA cable is installed also
I'm not so sure.

Best as I can see mawyatt's settings and after a Preset to clear mine here's what a real SVA1032X looks like in the same Smith chart mode. FW = latest dot 8 version.



Maybe rig up a 50 ohm resistor on a cable and LF sweep it in Smith R+jX mode and see if it returns a result near the center of the display.  :popcorn:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1603
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1274 on: September 02, 2020, 09:43:05 pm »
Good news, looks like the SSA3021X Plus has been transformed into the SVA1032X  :phew:

It appears the SMA cable is installed also :)

Thanks to to Elasia, tv84 and Emo for all the help :clap:

Best,
I think the trace you are seeing is the result of the missing cable
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf