Author Topic: Fluke 789  (Read 2610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Fluke 789
« on: February 19, 2021, 06:43:41 pm »
Anyone has Fluke 789 Service Manual? Thanks
 

Offline Arhigos

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: gr
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2021, 09:35:37 am »
 

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2021, 12:48:43 pm »
Thank you very much, but i looking for a service manual, i hope inside this manual I will find the 789 IR port CPL commands. Thanks again
 

Offline Arhigos

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: gr
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2021, 12:07:14 am »
here is link for remote interface commands and communication specifications (789 and 189 using same protocol)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxD05xrbn-k6dnpZcmhTZ2hMREU/edit
 

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2021, 01:13:58 am »
Thank you very much Arhigos. The 789 is a test device half multimeter and half loop calibrator. Then, the half multimeter part respond in the same way to the 189 commands, but the loop calibration part has is own commands ( I believe) and not so popular than multimeters commands. If one of you has an idea in which document may the information explicit, I’ll appreciate the data indeed thanks a lot. Regards.   
 

Offline Arhigos

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: gr
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2021, 01:57:14 am »
i don't think that possible to adjust current output thru ir  :(
 

Offline boggis the cat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Country: nz
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2021, 06:07:04 am »
Anyone has Fluke 789 Service Manual? Thanks
The calibration manual (and supplement) cover adjustment:
https://www.fluke.com/en/product/calibration-tools/ma-loop-calibrators/fluke-789
Select "Resources" > "Manuals".

There isn't a service manual publicly available, however these instruments tend to be board-swap level 'repair' nowadays.
 

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2021, 10:25:05 am »
Thank you Boggis, my 789 is full functional. The 789 is part multimeter and part loop calibrator. I’m looking for the IR port CPL protocol commands for the 789 loop calibrator part, 4-20 mA current source and device simulation. The traditional 87 IV IR remote CPL protocol commands do no work in the loop calibrator part of the 789. May be the service manual give me some information.
 

Offline Arhigos

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: gr
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2021, 12:31:58 pm »
You may be right, Arhigos. I need just one thing: a command of “Min-Max” pressed button, with the 789 in ‘Output mA” mode. If not implemented, well, the 789 is an amazing meter anyway. Thank you Arhigos.

Yeah, i know what you talking about. 189 has SF <1-10> command to emulate buttons, which doesn't work on 789. I think because both 787 and 789 got serial interface only for calibration purposes and not for remote control.

725 might support remote control and 754 definitely will do remote procedures as well as generating as-found as-left tests
 

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2021, 03:05:03 pm »
That’s right, 725 a 754 are fully suitable for remote control. Anyway if somebody knows something about 789 CPL commands will be appreciate.
 

Offline boggis the cat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Country: nz
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2021, 05:56:11 am »
That’s right, 725 a 754 are fully suitable for remote control. Anyway if somebody knows something about 789 CPL commands will be appreciate.
The codes are 'Fluke confidential'.  They also vary depending upon the firmware, with "1.xx" differing from "2.xx".

I figured out most of the codes for the firmware 1.01 units years ago by finding a partial MET/CAL procedure somewhere.  I could not figure out how the firmware 2.xx units worked because it's less obvious.

Unfortunately, this information is all effectively under NDA.  You can contact Fluke if you want to add another complaint to the pile about their dumb policy of obscuring this information.   |O

You may get lucky with an internet search for "789 remote commands" or such.  This – https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/readstring-visa-error-timeout-issue.1107315/ – is a person trying to get a Fluke 187 working using this information: www.pewa.de/DATENBLATT/DBL_FL_FL187-9-89IV_BEFEHLSSATZ_ENGLISCH.PDF

Edit:
The first link on this page should help: https://sigrok.org/wiki/Fluke_287/289

Some of this is easy to piece together – some of it was just too time-consuming so I gave up trying to get there 'blind'.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2021, 06:20:25 am by boggis the cat »
 

Offline UltrasniperTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ar
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2021, 07:06:07 am »
I contacted Fluke Argentina and then Flike Europe, bot of them refused open the information to general people.
I’m do not questioning Fluke about their confidentiality policies.
There must be an ex Fluke worker, with a lot of papers at home, and may be, one of those has the information i need with all the explanation of the full set of 789  CPL protocol Commands. I will be patient, somebody is going to appear! Thank a lot. Begards
 

Offline EJAP

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
Re: Fluke 789
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2024, 06:02:28 pm »
Are you still working on this. I think I can help you to set mA output thought the IR interface.
If you are interested, please horn
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf