Author Topic: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)  (Read 53637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #400 on: April 30, 2019, 07:17:18 am »
Boards amplifier-attenuator are of the same exterior design for WP7300 and WP7200.
I do not even see the difference when adding the index "A":




But changing the software key "MBW" to "HBW" for WP7200 does not change it in WP7300, if you check the bandwidth.

This changes the bandwidth, but to a very small extent.
In this picture you can see the bandwidth change in WP7300A depending on the enabled options: "LBW"(blue), "MBW"(yellow) and "HBW"(green), denotes WP7100, WP7200 and WP7300 respectively:


Same for WP7200:


Here is the graphical overlay of the WP7300 and WP7200 frequency response while the HBW option is enabled in both:


Similarly, with the DSP turned off:


I took these screenshots 2 years ago.
As you can see, there is something else besides software bandwidth settings.
However, I have not yet verified the effect of the calibration data that is stored in the EEPROM chip in each of these amplifier boards (which are duplicated in the Calibration folder). I also see several trimmers on this board that can be explored.




Addition.

See what is contained in the EEPROM 24LC64 (Soic8) of the WP7300A entry boards (in one of the channels):
« Last Edit: May 01, 2019, 07:28:57 am by Converter »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8749
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #401 on: April 30, 2019, 03:10:49 pm »
Can someone say, the functionality of this part, that in the photo of the Mechatrommer's input amplifier (highlighted in red)? What are their characteristics?
In the second photo, a similar item from my oscilloscope.
some channels in my dda300 (ch1 and 2) using similar to your microstrip on subsrate add-on thing. channel 3 and 4 iirc using the coax cable type. so i guess no difference between them since they are mixed in one unit. even i think they are similar since same board number 901109-00. maybe some tuning in trimpot to increase the BW hack?

or maybe someone have modified this unit? i'm not sure, top metal cover have differing burnt color mark, and channel 3 (the broken one) is different T-shaped EMI metal enclosure, the rest are L-shaped. as shown on the other thread Dajmasta, he has all channels with L-shaped (i mean all consistent) EMI enclosure.

attached is the ch1 and ch2 clearly seen opened, 2nd photo is one of them, maybe you can compare closely if they are the same. btw, i wonder whats IC under the heatsink getting input from AFE and spits out several differential signals into the transmission/distribution board, ADC or DSP or FPGA or what?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 03:48:23 pm by Mechatrommer »
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8749
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #402 on: April 30, 2019, 04:08:35 pm »
But changing the software key "MBW" to "VHBW" for WP7200 does not change it in WP7300, if you check the bandwidth.
"LBW"(blue), "MBW"(yellow) and "VHBW"(green), denotes WP7100, WP7200 and WP7300 respectively:
have you tried "HBW" and "HBWA" option? HBWA will change WM8500 to DDA5005, or without it, DDA5005 will turn into WM8500. "VHBW" will turn DDA5005 into DDA6000. but i will not responsible if you brick your scope, do at own risk.
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #403 on: April 30, 2019, 11:29:24 pm »
have you tried "HBW" and "HBWA" option? HBWA will change WM8500 to DDA5005, or without it, DDA5005 will turn into WM8500. "VHBW" will turn DDA5005 into DDA6000. but i will not responsible if you brick your scope, do at own risk.
Quote
btw, i wonder whats IC under the heatsink getting input from AFE and spits out several differential signals into the transmission/distribution board, ADC or DSP or FPGA or what?

Yes, I have long tried all the available options BW. My conclusion, as I wrote already: higher-frequency software options can not significantly improve the bandwidth of the oscilloscope, and only make an inscription on the screen.
I think the bandwidth depends on the calibration coefficients DSP.
Yes, I think that this chip under the heatsink is a DSP processor.
If I have time for this, I will try to replace the firmware in EEPROM 7200 with the one used in 7300 to evaluate how it will affect BW.

By the way, you didn’t see by chance what designation of this chip is under heatsink your DDA3000? In my WaveRunner 204Xi (2GHz) - is H390ACA5. The corner of the silicon crystal was damaged there and I started thinking about replacing, but surprisingly, it still works.
As you can see in WM8500 (DDA5005), this chip HFE640C is no different from WM8600 (SDA6000).
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 11:53:12 pm by Converter »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8749
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #404 on: May 01, 2019, 02:28:29 am »
By the way, you didn’t see by chance what designation of this chip is under heatsink your DDA3000? In my WaveRunner 204Xi (2GHz) - is H390ACA5. The corner of the silicon crystal was damaged there and I started thinking about replacing, but surprisingly, it still works.
As you can see in WM8500 (DDA5005), this chip HFE640C is no different from WM8600 (SDA6000).
yeah. in an attempt to repair the broken AFE, i managed to pull the heatsink away the "hard" way didnt know how the clipping mechanism, now i know ;D the label is D130AAA5, more like batch number than IC number, i dont think that number will be much helpfull to anything anyway i guess thats an unobtanium part. to clean any dust that can possibly cause the fault under the heat sink. but cleaning the IC doesnt fix anything. and since the fault got worst very nasty voltage offset even on largest V/div scale, i believe there is  dying component on there i just dont have the time to check everything i have other stuffs to do, i put the broken module to AUX IN, so all my 4 channels for now are working properly, except AUX IN :( so i'm out of 1 good AFE module if anyone got extra to sell i will be interested or... to exchange with say... original WP/WM front bezel? ::)
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #405 on: May 01, 2019, 03:19:58 am »
Do you have a photo of this D130AAA5? I am primarily interested in the issue of opportunities for replacement in WaveRunner204.

Quote
and since the fault got worst very nasty voltage offset even on largest V/div scale, i believe there is  dying component
In these devices, as a rule, bad contacts in connections is the cause of the fault. Simply revise all connections, including the ADC module.

Quote
i put the broken module to AUX IN, so all my 4 channels for now are working properly, except AUX IN
I did it before. But this is a bad decision, because the trigger input module has a terrible non-linearity — overcompensation, you can see it when you connect fast front test generator of the picosecond range. Perhaps this can be corrected by replacing the EEPROM chip firmware. There is one file in the Calibration folder, which is responsible for this, but immediately after the reboot, it is replaced with data from the EEPROM chip, which again leads to overcompensation. If you set only reading in this file, then with compensation everything will be fine, but error messages will follow in the log.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2019, 04:26:35 am by Converter »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8749
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #406 on: May 01, 2019, 03:59:16 am »
Do you have a photo of this D130AAA5? I am primarily interested in the issue of opportunities for replacement in WaveRunner204.
see attached. thanks for your suggestion on the repair..
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #407 on: May 01, 2019, 04:13:57 am »
see attached. thanks for your suggestion on the repair..
Thanks for the photo. As I expected, it uses the same chip as in my WaveRunner 204Xi. And yes, this is the batch number, and the true designation of this chip is HFE 653.

By the way, my WaveRunner 204Xi has a display of 1024x768 and works in Windows 7. If anyone is interested, I can give advice on modernization.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2019, 04:39:03 am by Converter »
 
The following users thanked this post: Mechatrommer

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #408 on: May 03, 2019, 04:36:06 am »
Overwriting the EEPROM in the input module does not significantly affect the bandwidth of the oscilloscope. But I found elements in the circuit, which change WP7200 to WP7300. Each WP7200 or WP7100 can be changed to WP7300. It turned out to be easier than I thought.
 
The following users thanked this post: Mechatrommer

Offline dietert1

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: de
    • CADT Homepage
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #409 on: May 04, 2019, 03:35:50 pm »
If you are willing to help a little, how much time would somebody else need to implement your WR204Xi upgrade to W7?
I already bought a SSD for our WR64Xi and maybe i can try the W7 upgrade at the same time. This would probably be another thread. I could also contribute a description of the maintainance i did last year on our WR 64Xi.

Regards, Dieter
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #410 on: May 04, 2019, 09:07:57 pm »
I think that for this purpose it is more correct to make a separate topic. I have a few more new ideas for upgrading the WR - xxx Xi. And even more - I would try to upgrade 64Xi to 204Xi (similarly, as I decided it with WavePro). Since I have 204Xi, for this I still need 64Xi to compare the design of its input module (attenuator/amplifiers).
______________________________________________

Excuse me. I now saw that you are opposed to "crazy things like motherboard upgrades, option hacks and the like", so this will not be interesting for you, because I plan to replace the motherboard, because installing Win 7 is hardly justified on a platform with Pentium M. And the bandwidth extension, Of course, this also includes the hack options.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 10:15:07 pm by Converter »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf