Products > Test Equipment

SMPS troubleshooting aid

(1/3) > >>

dr_p:
I admit from the start I'm new to switch-mode power supply repairing, but keen to go at it.
This thread is aimed at inspiring other people to build things, maybe even duplicate this type of equipment.

I have, so far, stumbled across some inconveniences:
  - the series light bulb trick is annoying without an actual box to hold the bulb, plug and maybe a switch.
  - having to constantly plug-unplug the power supply, having to constantly trace the wire from the SMPS to the plug, making sure IT is unplugged, not something else. My desk is a mess, that's why.

So I decided to build a box with a plug, switchable on-off, with a series light bulb that can be bypassed. Actually I used a normal E27 and a small E14 bulb fixture, so I maximize my chances of having a compatible bulb. Added fuses and an analog voltmeter on the output, since I was dying to use it somewhere :D
Since I was at it I bundled a DIY isolation transformer, made from two identical toroidal 100VA 48VAC transformers. I think it's enough for most SMPS.

Now I find it so easy to work on any mains project: I have a master on-off switch, crude current limiting from the bulbs and a low value, fast blow fuse to keep things safe.

Below you have the schematic (for what it's worth) and a picture of the assembled unit.

PA4TIM:
Nice build. Some switchers refuse to start with a series lightbulb.
I have done about the same. But just one lightbulb. I am still thinking about an alternative for a lightbulb or sense current and at a adjustable level a lightbulb switches in as protection.
I use a 1:1 isolation transformer and a variac. Also 32VDC, 6,3VAC, 250VDC and 0-1200VDC

http://www.pa4tim.nl/?p=1572 this is mine, but not as nice looking as yours

SeanB: