Author Topic: Some thoughts about multimeter input protection  (Read 2838 times)

Offline deuteronTopic starter

• Contributor
Some thoughts about multimeter input protection
« on: September 24, 2020, 10:03:50 am »
Hello alltogether,
first of all I'd like to say hello to all the participants in this forum. I came across this forum due to the work of joeqsmith and its very usefull multimeter testing videos on youtube. The reason why I'm interested in this stuff is because I'm looking for a couple of new multimeters for our physics lab at the university of Bonn, Germany. I got a lot of informations from youtube review videos stumbling also about this very nice Uni-T ut181a. Some of you are certainly familiar with the input protection problem this meter has. Once again many thanks to joeqsmith for his extensive work not only regarding this meter.
Since I'm a scientist I'm not able to let problems go when they once showed up. So I started may own research into this problem, but this of coarse rather theoretically so far. Before I invest the money for a test meter and have to throw it away in the end, I would like to get some feeling whether I'm able to fix the problem by my own (perhaps with some help of the electriconics department of the institute). During my research I was confronted with three questions I was not able to clarify so far. Therefore I'll put these questions here and I very much hope to get help from the experts in this forum: