Author Topic: spend ~700$ for Rigol 2000a or spend 500$ more and get the R&S RTB 2000for ~1200  (Read 7107 times)

Offline tmadnessTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi guys long time lurker at the EEVBlog forum, first time poster. I want to buy my first new scope. I've owned few scopes in the past, all of them repair/restoration jobs (HP 53501A, Philips pm321 etc.) I'm a college student and my home lab is mostly filled with repaired equipment: a couple of system power supplys,  frequency synthesizer,  few bench multi meters and other smaller kick nacks, so this oscilloscope will be my first big investment (most of the others were free or below 80$). but after working 50 hours every week for 10 weeks as an intern I have earned a decent amount and I want my oscilloscope to be an investment, some thing that lasts me through grad school and hopefully beyond.
I know that the rigol is the best bang for the buck (+hacks to unlock more) but at this point the release date is 4 years behind. Although rigol has been good with its support so far, it will likely decrease with time. The R&S is brand new (~6 months), has a much more appealing look and better usability features, and hence also carries the extra price tag.
So my question is: is the R&S worth the extra 500$?

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Regardless the money, if you want the thing to be useful, you need 4 channels.

R&S is very nice, not sure if it is nice enough to pay that price.
Alex

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
I'd wait for the RTB2000 firmware to mature (there are still several bugs) and for an offer where you get the decoding options for free. I also second the suggestion for 4 channels.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Online 2N3055

• Super Contributor