Author Topic: Square wave question.  (Read 3435 times)

Offline Jesse1973Topic starter

Square wave question.
« on: February 17, 2020, 05:50:32 am »
Recently purchased a Kenwood CS4125 scope.Scope powers up fine.Controls work.Following the user manual for pre power up settings.So far so good.Attach probes.Follow probe compensation. Then square wave I get using the onboard test point or separate freq generator isnt exactly square.I am a noob when it comes this so bare with me.The peak is flat and parallel to the x axis .Then rise and fall are not perpendicular to the x axis.Actually they are slightly angled .The both lean in the same direction from left to right.I am guessing something is wrong with the scope .What could it be  and can it be fixed.

Offline DaJMasta

• Super Contributor
    • medpants.com
Re: Square wave question.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2020, 07:14:57 am »
This is the reality of how signals work.  If you zoom out to see several periods of the waveform it will look pretty square, if you zoom in on the edge it will always be slanted.

This is usually called "rise time" in specifications, and it's effected by the switching speed of the source and the input bandwidth of the measurement device.  If both of those are infinite, it looks like a perfectly vertical line, but in reality, that cannot exist, so provided your equipment is fast enough, you will always be able to see that rise time.

That said, designers of scopes understand this, so even if your scope measures a single point on the low side and a single point after the full rise - what would appear as an instantaneous rise - the interpolation algorithm that draws the line between those points factors in the limited bandwidth of the scope and will always be at least slightly slanted.

Offline newbrain

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2020, 07:57:44 am »
The both lean in the same direction from left to right.
Crude diagrams follow:

This, as DaJMasta says, is normal.