Author Topic: Sub $1000 VNA for antenna matching  (Read 4741 times)

Offline dermeisterTopic starter

• Contributor
Sub $1000 VNA for antenna matching
« on: November 26, 2022, 11:45:44 am »
I am looking to buy a VNA for determining the filter network components for matching antennas to low-power embedded systems RF SoCs. The max frequency I work with is 2.4 GHz for BLE and 802.15.4. The VNA will only ever see bench use, so it does not need to be portable or have an integrated screen.

There are a few low cost (<$1000) VNAs I’ve been researching like NanoVNA, LibreVNA and LiteVNA, but I’m a beginner at using VNAs so I’m not sure what performance specifications are required for my application outside of the max frequency. Ideally I would like the antenna matching process to be as simple as possible, so if any VNAs automate it more than others, that would be a consideration I would take into account.

Can anyone recommend a VNA for what I’m trying to do?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2022, 02:41:47 pm by dermeister »

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Sub $1000 VNA for antenna matching
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2022, 04:43:43 pm »
An alternative could be to buy a used 4G base station analyser that has VNA abilities but many of them only seem to support a Smith chart and no capacitance / inductance cursors. For your purpose and budget I would take a long hard look at LibreVNA. I have owned a NanoVNA but found it too cumbersome to use with the small screen.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Online wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2022, 05:43:58 pm »