Author Topic: Suggestions for thermal imaging camera (Electronic PCB usage)  (Read 8880 times)

Offline youngbbbTopic starter

Hi All, newbie here....
I'm working in a small electronics company....
Please help suggest an economical (<US$ 2500, but <US$ 2000 preferred) thermal imaging camera for my daily R&D work for electronic PCB.
Preferably can focus at a closer distance.  The flir E4/E5 being 0.5m is a bit too far away.
I dare not 'hack' it.  I also don't know where/how to buy a macro lens...
Fluke Ti9/Ti10 is a bit out of my budget...

Please help.
 :) :)
« Last Edit: March 21, 2015, 04:25:57 am by youngbbb »

Offline jayk

• Regular Contributor
Re: Suggestions for thermal imaging camera (Electronic PCB usage)
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2015, 05:17:28 am »
Not exactly a stand-alone product, but definitely cheap.  Only 60x80pixel resolution, but claims to focus down to 10cm:

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13233
https://cdn.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Sensors/Infrared/FLIR_Lepton_Data_Brief.pdf

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 02:43:15 am »
Thanks but I'll need some real products instead of a module.

What about Flir C2 ?  It's look like cheap.  With a minimum focus distance at 0.15m and IFOV at 11mrad, does that really mean I can tell difference in temperatures at 0.15*11=1.65mm ??

Thanks.

Offline coflynn

• Regular Contributor
    • Colin's Homepage
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2015, 09:38:49 pm »
If you want cheap... consider a phone-based IR sensor + aftermarket Macro lens. Total cost would be < $500 including an android phone, IR sensor, and macro lens.

For example Seek Thermal + http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Macro-Lens-FOR-SEEK-THERMAL-CAMERA-IMAGING-ANDROID-FLIR-LWIR-NIGHT-VISION-/191527056303?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c97e6f3af .

I haven't yet used the macro lens myself... basically it's a 20mm Zinc Selenide lens I believe, you can see another holder at http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:525605 which has some photos of what the results look like.