Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 135438 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline project-pegasus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #475 on: November 20, 2019, 03:42:57 am »
As I watched the video more closely I realized I was looking at the 7-segment display upside down.  |O
It is actually the other way around on my 7104.  But when I look at it almost frame by frame I see that it repeats the opening sequence of .8, 1, 2, 3, 4, then goes back to .8 then back through the sequence to 9 and seems to skip A and ultimately hangs on L.  It's hard to see because the sequence goes through some of the steps quite fast.

Also, I've checked to see that the vxboot files are where the PPC board is looking for them and they check out.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
 

Online TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4118
  • Country: us
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #476 on: November 20, 2019, 04:00:56 am »
Check that you have proper files on c:\vxBoot hidden folder. Properly loaded and running PPC board should display dash on LED display, when OS is booted.
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Live-cam | Share T&M documentation? Upload! No MB limit, firmwares, photos.
 

Offline project-pegasus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #477 on: November 23, 2019, 09:51:40 pm »
All the appropriate files are in the c:/vxboot locations the boot parameters direct to, they are just not loading to the PPC.  Has anyone run into this before?  I even changed out the RAM stick on the PPC with a NOS stick and that did not help either.  Could this be a failure on the acquisition board or the connector between the PPC and AQB?
Thanks,
 

Offline nsummy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #478 on: November 26, 2019, 12:09:16 am »
Hi, add me to the list of people late to the party.  If anyone has this info can they send it to me, either via the forum or to nsummy@hotmail.com  Thanks!!!!!!!!!! :-+ :-BROKE

Hi, I'm little late, but does anyone have this option stuff saved?

Ramppa







Quote from: snoopy on 2017-12-24, 15:50:07>Quote from: PrecisionAnalytic on 2017-12-24, 09:06:03>Quote from: dretay on 2017-12-05, 07:19:04
Hey, no idea why the link doesn't work. Happy to send a copy to you if you want to PM me.

I'm not finding either sites up:
https://xdevs.com/guide/tek_key/
https://dev.xdevs.com/projects/rnd/repository/revisions/344cfa743297/raw/Tektronix/TDS7000/

I'd be very thankful for a copy.

Background if you are interested:

I received a few days back a TDS8000B that was stated on eBay as having Power Supply issues where they noted:
"Originally it was working but came back to us with a bad power supply. About once out of 20 times it will power on and light up. Sometimes it turns off by itself while booting. Most times it won't turn on at all then will make faint clicking ticking noise in the right rear of the unit. Screen has some scratching."

I powered on the unit and first time not thinking about having a keyboard plugged in to login and perform more testing as my brain was set to modern day touch screens with keyboards that appear on-screen as factory default.   Powered on no issues, though is slow Windows 2000 Pro for sure.

After plugging in a USB keyboard with a USB to PS2 keyboard adapter, I pressed the power button on the front panel and was having no success with being able to use the keyboard to log in.  I am guessing something to do with USB keyboard drivers is the reason.

Now, after holding the front panel power button for over 7 seconds, the unit powered off.   When I tried to power back on, I heard a mechanical clock ticking sound with nothing happening.  When I switched the power switch on the back of the unit the ticking sound slowly went away and all subsequent attempts to power on have failed with nothing happening.

Before I open the case up... any ideas to consider as I am making a giant leap into working on this system as I am still not yet graduated from a TDS-520 repair/restore... though am moving forward on that and learning a lot. 

Just reading this page topic summary has bridged the programming firmware and electronics components like NVRAM and microcontroller gaps I've had.

Sounds like caps in the power supply or possibly on the motherboard.

Also if you can't get into the bios setup you need to first check your cmos battery on the NLB motherboard and replace it if it is dead. Likewise for the power PC board. If your scope is anything like the experience I had with a TDS7054 then you probably still won't be able to get into the bios setup so you need to boot up in dos on a floppy and run a program like killCMOS to reset your CMOS memory and then you will, beable to get into the bios setup.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/killcmos.html

You can create a bootup dos disk from another computer with a floppy using the setup from http://www.allbootdisks.com/download/dos.html

cheers






 

Offline nsummy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #479 on: November 27, 2019, 05:25:34 pm »
All the appropriate files are in the c:/vxboot locations the boot parameters direct to, they are just not loading to the PPC.  Has anyone run into this before?  I even changed out the RAM stick on the PPC with a NOS stick and that did not help either.  Could this be a failure on the acquisition board or the connector between the PPC and AQB?
Thanks,

Go into the windows device manager.  Is there anything in there that has a question mark or exclamation mark?  (I believe its normal to have 2 exclamation marks for the Texas Instruments cardbus countrollers)
 

Offline nsummy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #480 on: November 27, 2019, 05:28:41 pm »
Since I have seen a few people ask here (me included), if anyone is looking for the code to unlock options for the 7000 series, I found the source code here:  https://0xacab.org/mitic/tek-ssc/tree/master
 

Offline project-pegasus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #481 on: December 04, 2019, 01:29:10 am »
It looks like I've cleared up the hanging application issue with the TDS7404.  I was reading through the install notes for the firmware update and came across this:

- Existing Windows 2000 oscilloscopes upgrading to version 2.5.3
can manually fix a problem with saving files (setups, images,
references, etc.) to remote filesystem devices through an
upgrade of the DIO service. Note this problem does not exist on
Windows 98 or factory-shipped 2.5.3 oscilloscopes.  You will
need to obtain a copy of the dioservice.exe file from the
software updates section at www.tektronix.com, or your Tektronix
representative.

How to update DIOService on Windows 2000:
  1. Click Start->Settings->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services
  2. In the right pane, right click on "DIO Service"
  3. Select "Properties"
  4. In the General tab page, click on "Startup type" dropdown list
  5. Select "Manual"
  6. Click OK
  7. Reboot
  8. Copy the dioservice.exe file to C:\WINNT
  9. Click OK to replace the old dioservice.exe
 10. Change "Startup type" to "Automatic" by following procedures 1-4
 11. Reboot

I checked and found that the unit's DIO Service was set to "Manual" so when I clicked on "Start" I heard the acq relays start clicking and a few seconds later I had waveforms on the screen.  I set DIO to "automatic" and now the scope's Tek application starts up normally on power up.

But since I replaced the NVRAM (probably unnecessarily) I lost the serial number info on that and for some reason the .sn file in c:/vxBoot is empty.  So I have lost all the options this scope came with.   I copied the .sn file from a 7104 and used a Hex editor to change the serial number to the number that matches the 7404, put that new .sn file in vxBoot, and set the flag in the boot file to "0x1000", but the scope did not take the serial number and still lists the serial number as "-" and no options in the "About this scope" window.  Can someone help me create a correct .sn file with my scope's serial number?
Thanks.
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1589
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #482 on: December 05, 2019, 11:34:11 am »
Did anyone ever manage to get the firmware on the PPC board updated without booting into windows?

Got this:


Code: [Select]
romPost: L2 cache turned on.

romPost: MPC107  Walking-one passed.

romPost: MPC107 configuration passed.

romPost: Intel21555 PCITOPCI bridge configuration passed.


romPost: PERFORMING ROM CHECKSUM TEST...


romPost: ROM checksum failed.

Expected Value: 0x0000E120
Actuall Value: 0x0000E11F

After which it stops. I can force it to continue the boot but then it hangs a bit further. So I figured to uprade/reflash the FW but I don't see how..


Offline pipb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ro
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #483 on: January 07, 2020, 08:21:24 pm »
It looks like I've cleared up the hanging application issue with the TDS7404.  I was reading through the install notes for the firmware update and came across this:

- Existing Windows 2000 oscilloscopes upgrading to version 2.5.3
can manually fix a problem with saving files (setups, images,
references, etc.) to remote filesystem devices through an
upgrade of the DIO service. Note this problem does not exist on
Windows 98 or factory-shipped 2.5.3 oscilloscopes.  You will
need to obtain a copy of the dioservice.exe file from the
software updates section at www.tektronix.com, or your Tektronix
representative.

How to update DIOService on Windows 2000:
  1. Click Start->Settings->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services
  2. In the right pane, right click on "DIO Service"
  3. Select "Properties"
  4. In the General tab page, click on "Startup type" dropdown list
  5. Select "Manual"
  6. Click OK
  7. Reboot
  8. Copy the dioservice.exe file to C:\WINNT
  9. Click OK to replace the old dioservice.exe
 10. Change "Startup type" to "Automatic" by following procedures 1-4
 11. Reboot

I checked and found that the unit's DIO Service was set to "Manual" so when I clicked on "Start" I heard the acq relays start clicking and a few seconds later I had waveforms on the screen.  I set DIO to "automatic" and now the scope's Tek application starts up normally on power up.

But since I replaced the NVRAM (probably unnecessarily) I lost the serial number info on that and for some reason the .sn file in c:/vxBoot is empty.  So I have lost all the options this scope came with.   I copied the .sn file from a 7104 and used a Hex editor to change the serial number to the number that matches the 7404, put that new .sn file in vxBoot, and set the flag in the boot file to "0x1000", but the scope did not take the serial number and still lists the serial number as "-" and no options in the "About this scope" window.  Can someone help me create a correct .sn file with my scope's serial number?
Thanks.

Use the .sn file attached and replace Bxxxxxx with whatever your SN is.
To have the right options please update the .key file xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx with the option key on the back of your scope.
Store both files in c:/vxBoot/. Then look up topScript.hw file and uncomment the line "# NvramClearDb = 1" by removing the #. Reboot once so the SN an key are stored in the NVRAM and then comment back.

This did it for me. The files are taken from my TDS7104.
 

Offline project-pegasus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #484 on: January 13, 2020, 02:48:50 am »
Unfortunately I've tried that several times. I have the key file and sn file in the vxboot directory, in the right format just like files you attached (thank you for that) and I clear the nvram with the omission of the "#"  and the machine still won't take the serial number.  Very frustrating. I tried changing the boot flags, but that hasn't worked either. Interestingly, the machine (a 7404B) always goes back to the original boot params no matter how many times I change them.  Set the boot flag to 0x1000 and the next time it reboots it's back to 0x1008.
 

Offline flyte

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: be
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #485 on: January 27, 2020, 12:27:38 pm »
Seems like this is more the place to be for my problem.

I'm completely stuck with the repair of a TDS6804B scope some less honest seller has sold me, as the acquisition board has been stripped in what seems to be an unscrupulous try-and-error repair attempt. A bit of everything is missing: some MCUs, an analog multplexer, some ADCs, two VCOs, a handful of passives. What were they thinking? :palm: A total shame, whoever did this to such great piece of equipment.  :--

I'm quite desperately looking for:

- A donor acquisition board of a -B series scope: TDS7154B, TDS7254B, TDS7404B, TDS7704B, TDS6604B or TDS6804B. Bad or good, anything would be better than nothing at this point. Those on Ebay are simply too expensive for this kind of adventure.

- Some really helpful person who could make detailed pictures of the original TDS6804B acquisition board and perhaps measure a couple of components. Even willing to pay a fee for it.

A ton of thanks in advance to anyone can help me with this.   :clap:

« Last Edit: January 27, 2020, 12:30:24 pm by flyte »
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #486 on: January 27, 2020, 12:50:14 pm »
I'm completely stuck with the repair of a TDS6804B scope some less honest seller has sold me, as the acquisition board has been stripped in what seems to be an unscrupulous try-and-error repair attempt. A bit of everything is missing: some MCUs, an analog multplexer, some ADCs, two VCOs, a handful of passives. What were they thinking? :palm: A total shame, whoever did this to such great piece of equipment.  :--


It's very likely that someone was harvesting parts from your scope to fix another. Even if you were to find all the parts for it, it probably has other issues as well - otherwise, why take parts from a good working scope?

I do not envy your task!
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline flyte

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: be
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #487 on: January 27, 2020, 07:38:34 pm »

It's very likely that someone was harvesting parts from your scope to fix another. Even if you were to find all the parts for it, it probably has other issues as well - otherwise, why take parts from a good working scope?

I do not envy your task!

That's indeed highly likely, but still, it's a shame. You don't give up on a device like this. They did use pro soldering equipment, I can see that, but their diagnostics skills seemed way less impressive.

Still, I'm prepared to give it a try in case I find a -B series donor board and more info (it seems TDS6/7000B series share a lot of components, based on photo observations). Once the VCOs are running and the main MCUs and other smaller stuff are back into place, it may show some signs of early life and real diagnosis fight can start.  :box:

So, anyone having one of these TDS6/7000B acquisition boards lying around or for sale, for free, bad or good?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2020, 09:02:25 pm by flyte »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf