Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 166502 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline WORP3

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #600 on: December 17, 2020, 04:34:37 pm »
Looking at all the content inside this post, it would be helpful for some to also look at my new post about a TDS7404:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/boot-problem-on-tektronix-tds7404-scope/msg3374538/#msg3374538

After a lot of script problem, i'm back to having a booting TDS7404 without the correct S/N  |O

 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #601 on: December 17, 2020, 08:26:47 pm »
 today i feeded my NVram with external +4.6v on pin5 and pin 17 to GND.

then i lifted the powercap and took out the old battery.
drilled two holes at the right place in the powercap cover and attached a CR2477 socket. i had to reverse it so it would fit next to the NLX bus connector on the Powerpc baord and after swapping the wiring arround, clicked it back in place on the NVram.
the battery socket en powercap cover look ed as if it is one pieces and the total reworked cap fits ok under the aluminium Intel board frame.

reconnected everything and ready to power-up...

ok ready for booting for the first time.
will the scope fully startup??
-windows xp booted fine.
-tekscope software started and ran to the end ( the 8 digit display nicely showed the flashing "-" )
-my error was gone
-my options were empty. (was this because of the corruption)

i am still curious how to check if the fact. service call. info is still in.

« Last Edit: December 18, 2020, 07:52:32 am by charlyd »
 

Offline WORP3

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #602 on: January 10, 2021, 04:28:34 pm »
Does anyone know if there is a way to trash the contents on the Dallas DS1245 chip on the PPC board?
This one has a PDIP, and I'd rather not remove the chip if it can be done from the console port.
I'm replacing this board in a TDS7104 and I need to get rid of the serial # and key.
Yes you can, just copy a empty file inside the NVRAM space.
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #603 on: January 11, 2021, 09:49:31 am »
Does anyone know if there is a way to trash the contents on the Dallas DS1245 chip on the PPC board?
This one has a PDIP, and I'd rather not remove the chip if it can be done from the console port.
I'm replacing this board in a TDS7104 and I need to get rid of the serial # and key.
Yes you can, just copy a empty file inside the NVRAM space.

How is that done?
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline WORP3

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #604 on: January 15, 2021, 01:23:48 pm »
Does anyone know if there is a way to trash the contents on the Dallas DS1245 chip on the PPC board?
This one has a PDIP, and I'd rather not remove the chip if it can be done from the console port.
I'm replacing this board in a TDS7104 and I need to get rid of the serial # and key.
Yes you can, just copy a empty file inside the NVRAM space.

How is that done?

I have made some scripts that make this possible. best to look at my repair post, scripts are available over there.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/boot-problem-on-tektronix-tds7404-scope/msg3415738/
« Last Edit: January 15, 2021, 06:26:49 pm by WORP3 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Jwalling, fzabkar

Offline bohrzqc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: cn
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #605 on: January 23, 2021, 01:48:53 pm »
A 24C16 will work fine.
Thanks,the error 521 disappeared now,I have made some simple test and the test results seems to be acceptable

You're welcome, that's great! Does it meet it's BW spec?
I dont have a 1GHz sinewave signal, but I believe the BW spec will no be a big issue, instead, maybe the dc voltage error is more obviously.

And now I find another problem ,each time I shutdown and then restart the scope,  the scope goback to default status(before I shutdown it,I open 4 channel display,and after reboot,only CH1 is displayed. And each time after it restart, ch2 baseline offset is quite big,I have to run spc eachtime to make it right.
Seems each time I restart the scope,it loads the factory default. I attach my bootfile here, does anyone know what's the reason?
Code: [Select]

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

romPost: MPC106  Walking-one passed.

romPost: MPC106 configuration passed.

romPost: First PCI access  passed.

romPost: PC87560 Walking-one passed.

romPost: PC87560 configuration passed.

romPost: DEC21554 configuration passed.


romPost: PERFORMING ROM CHECKSUM TEST...

romPost: ROM checksum passed.


romPost: PERFORMING DRAM CELL TEST...

romPost: Enabling data cache...
romPost: Data cache enabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.

romPost: DRAM Cell test passed.
romPost: Disabling data Cache...
romPost: Data cache disabled.
romPost: Disabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache disabled.

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM MARCH TEST WITH CACHE OFF...
romPost: Writing address to each *address...
romPost: Reading address from each *address...
romPost: DRAM march test passed...

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM MARCH TEST WITH CACHE ON...

romPost: Enabling data cache...
romPost: Data cache enabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.
romPost: Writing address to each *address...
romPost: Reading address from each *address...
romPost: DRAM march test passed...

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM WALKING-ONE  TEST...

romPost: DRAM Walking-one test passed.

romPost: PERFORMING NV-MEMORY WALKING-ONE  TEST...

romPost: NV-MEMORY Walking-one test passed.
romPost: Disabling data Cache...
romPost: Data cache disabled.
romPost: Disabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache disabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.


romPost: POWER-UP DIAGNOSTIC COMPLETE.

Hel










                            VxWorks System Boot


Copyright 1984-1996  Wind River Systems, Inc.





CPU: Tektronix HPP - PowerPC 740
Version: 5.3.1
BSP version: 1.0.3.0
Creation date: Jun 28 2000, 16:52:12




Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 0
auto-booting...


boot device          : sm
processor number     : 0
host name            : host
file name            : c:\vxBoot\vxWorks.st
inet on ethernet (e) : 192.168.0.2:ffffff00
inet on backplane (b): 192.168.0.0:ffffff00
host inet (h)        : 192.168.0.1
gateway inet (g)     : 192.168.0.2
user (u)             : anonymous
ftp password (pw)    : anonymous
flags (f)            : 0x1000
target name (tn)     : target
startup script (s)   : c:\vxBoot\topScript.hw
other (o)            : nvfs=0x1000

Initializing backplane net with anchor at 0x1e80000... done.
Backplane anchor at 0x1e80000... Attaching network interface sm0... done
done.
Attaching network PC1 dio device driver installed
interface lo0... done.
Attaching DIO client... done.
Loading c:\vxBoot\vxWorks.st...1773516
Starting at 0x200000...

Initializing backplane net with anchor at 0x16e0000... done.
Backplane anchor at 0x16e0000... Attaching network interface sm0... done
done.
PC1 dio device driver installed
Attaching network interface lo0... done.

Adding 6008 symbols for standalone.


 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
      ]]]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]     ]]]]]]]]]]       ]]              ]]]]         (R)
 ]     ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]     ]]]]]]]]       ]]               ]]]]
 ]]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]]]     ]]]]]] ]     ]]                ]]]]
 ]]]     ]]]]] ]    ]]]  ]     ]]]] ]]]   ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]] ]] ]]]]  ]]   ]]]]]
 ]]]]     ]]]  ]]    ]  ]]]     ]] ]]]]] ]]]]]]   ]] ]]]]]]] ]]]] ]]   ]]]]  Can
not regis
ter service: RPC: U nable to send; errn]]]]]     ]  ]]]]     ]]]]]      ]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]    ]]]] o =
13
 ]]]]]]      ]]]]]     ]]]]]]    ]  ]]]]]  ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]]    ]]]]una
ble to register
(WINDVIEW, WINDVIEW _VERS_CURRENT, udp)]]]]]]]    ]]]]]  ]    ]]]]]]  ]    ]]]
 ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]] ]]]]    ]]]].
 ]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]  ]]]    ]]]]]]]      ]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]    ]]]]  ]]]] ]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Development System
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       VxWorks version 5.3.1
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       KERNEL: WIND version 2.5
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Copyright Wind River Systems, Inc., 1984-1997

                               CPU: Tektronix HPP - PowerPC 740.  Processor #0.
                              Memory Size: 0x2000000.  BSP version 1.0.8.1 .
                             WDB: Ready.

usrNvFsInit: NAME=/nvram BASE=0xfd0ff100 BPB=512 BPT=8 NB=8 BO=0
nvfs: STATUS: Mounting existing NVRAM file system
KERNEL: THERMAL CONTROL INITIATED
Executing startup script c:\vxBoot\topScript.hw ...
dbFsIoctl: invalid code 3
    ################### topScript starts ###############################




     cd "dbfs:c:/vxBoot"
value = 0 = 0x0


    ld < TekScope.o
value = 23737024 = 0x16a32c0
    ld < TekScopeSM.o
value = 23705952 = 0x169b960

    pDbDev = ramDevCreate(0, 512, 1152, 1152, 0)
new symbol "pDbDev" added to symbol table.
pDbDev = 0x169bc00: value = 23706656 = 0x169bc20 = pDbDev + 0x20
    pDBfs  = dosFsMkfs("/db", pDbDev)
new symbol "pDBfs" added to symbol table.
pDBfs = 0x169b7e0: value = 23706400 = 0x169bb20 = pDBfs + 0x340
    copy ("TekScope.DBF", "/db/TekScope.DBF")
value = 0 = 0x0

    overrideFPdefaults()
value = 0 = 0x0

    measurePPCtimebase
value = 0 = 0x0


    registerMemPartitionSizes ( 0x00000000 )
value = 0 = 0x0

    semInitForQueueCheckLogMsg
value = 23705408 = 0x169b740

    initSysWaiter()
value = 0 = 0x0




    raxInit
value = 0 = 0x0
    paiInit
done
value = 17639480 = 0x10d2838 = PaiBaseRegisterTable + 0x948


    verifyAcqBoardID
value = 0 = 0x0






     updateAcqProcFirmware("dbfs:c:/vxBoot/acqProc.hex")
0x155fde0 (tShell): AVR FLASH contents match file dbfs:c:/vxBoot/acqProc.hex - n
o programming needed.
value = 1 = 0x1
     cd "pc:"
value = 0 = 0x0

    raxInitializeDevices
0x155fde0 (tShell): >> Setting PLL to 1.25e+09 Hz.
done
0x155fde0 (tShell): (Re)starting Acq Processor
value = 22412208 = 0x155fbb0

    excHookAdd(stopStressForException)
value = 17426908 = 0x109e9dc = stopStressForException


    dsyInit
value = 21784264 = 0x14c66c8
    dsyWPApplyNextRegs
value = 17629356 = 0x10d00ac = DsyRegisterTable + 0xab0









    # remove '#' from next line to set powerup scope state to factory default:
    # NvramClearDb = 1

    nvram_initFileSys
0x155fde0 (tShell): >> Kernel version 1.0.8.1  does not match Boot ROM version 1
.0.3.0
value = -49409789 = 0xfd0e1103 = pDbDev + 0xfba45503

    TmgrInit("/db")
0x155fde0 (tShell): NO BACKUP SERIAL NUMBER FOUND, RESTORING VALUE FROM DISK...
0x155fde0 (tShell): NO BACKUP SERIAL NUMBER FOUND, RESTORING VALUE FROM DISK...
value = 0 = 0x0
    PhxProxyInit
value = 21018368 = 0x140b700
    rtlInit
value = 0 = 0x0

    sysExtMemAddToPool memSysPartId,0x02000000,0x06000000
value = 0 = 0x0

    hwAccount_init
0x155fde0 (tShell): >> Setting PLL to 1.25e+09 Hz.
sysEnetAddrGet: d5:7f:95:df:75:53
value = 7 = 0x7

    GpibInit
value = 133284512 = 0x7f1c2a0

    wfmMemInit(1)
value = 47300320 = 0x2d1bee0

    vertInstall
value = 47293284 = 0x2d1a364

    calConStatus = cc_init(2)
0x155fde0 (tShell): Reading 280 bytes of service cal data from EEPROM[0] into 0x
2d1a240
0x155fde0 (tShell): nvMem_read succeeded
0x155fde0 (tShell): Reading 66 bytes of service cal data from EEPROM[280] into 0
x2d1a300
0x155fde0 (tShell): nvMem_read succeeded
0x155fde0 (tShell): extd chksum failed, stored = 0xffffffff calc = 0x28d5a0ee
0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_init: extended bank17 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory

0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file C:/vxBoot/calCons/0
0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_init: bank 0 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory
0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file C:/vxBoot/calCons/1
0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_init: bank 1 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory
0x155fde0 (tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file C:/vxBoot/calCons/2
0x155fde0 (tShellcalConStatus): cc_init: bank  = 2 chksum failed, NOT reset to f
actory
0x0x155fde01321eec (tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file : value C:/vxBoot/c
alCons/= 3164335
0x155fde0 (tShell = 0x): cc_init: bank 281ef3 chksum failed, NOT reset to factor
y

0x155fde0 (
tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file     updateTrigCaC:/vxBoot/calCons/l5

0x155fde0 (tShell): value = cc_init: bank 05 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory

 = 0x0x155fde0 (tShell0): cc_restoreBank: can't open file
C:/vxBoot/calCons/6

0x155fde0 (tShell):     MathMeasCreatcc_init: bank eTheMa6thandMeasurementLib ch
ksum failed, NOT reset to factory
rar0xies155fde0 (tShell):
cc_restoreBank: can't open file valuC:/vxBoot/calCons/e 7=
0x155fde0 (tShell47120704): cc_init: bank  = 0x7 chksum failed, NOT reset to fac
tory
2cf01400x155fde0
 (tShell): cc_restoreBank: can't open file     initAcqC:/vxBoot/calCons/Ma8pper
0x155fde0 (tShell
): cc_init: bank value = 8 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory
00x155fde0 (tShell = 0x): cc_restoreBank: can't open file 0C:/vxBoot/calCons/
15
0x155fde0 (tShell    trigMapInit):
cc_init: bank 15 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory
val0xue = 155fde0 (tShell0): cc_chkLimits: CC_VERT_ATTENIMBAL_100X_CH2 = 0x was
; reset to factory
00x155fde0
 (tShell): cc_chkLimits:     dsyMCC_VERT_ATTENIMBAL_1X_CH2apInit was ; reset to
factory

0x155fde0value =  (tShell0): initAcqMapper: Enter
 = 0x0
    mathMapperInit
value = 0 = 0x0
    utilMapInit
value = 47118048 = 0x2cef6e0

    TmgrHookup
value = 0 = 0x0
    PhxProxyHookup
value = 0 = 0x0
    hookupAcqMapper
value = 20033680 = 0x131b090 = AcqMapperRtlDataList
    MathMeasMapHookup
value = 22412040 = 0x155fb08
    dsyMapHookup
value = 22412144 = 0x155fb70
    utilMapHookup
value = 22412176 = 0x155fb90

    rtlHookup
value = 0 = 0x0
    horizMapHookup
value = 22412136 = 0x155fb68
    fastFrameMapHookup
value = 22412160 = 0x155fb80
    trigMapHookup
value = 22412168 = 0x155fb88
    vertMapHookup
value = 22412160 = 0x155fb80
    spcMapHookup
value = 22412160 = 0x155fb80
    autosetMapHookup
value = 22412200 = 0x155fba8
    timeSyncMapHookup
value = 22412192 = 0x155fba0
    auxTrigMapHookup
value = 22412176 = 0x155fb90
    dpoMapHookup
value = 22412168 = 0x155fb88


    TmgrStartup
value = 46269840 = 0x2c20590
    PhxProxyStartup
value = 46219296 = 0x2c14020
    taskDelay(2)
value = 0 = 0x0

    gpibHwInitC
value = 0 = 0x0
    gpibTaskSpawn
value = 45990560 = 0x2bdc2a0

    gpibIoInit "/dbios/DBIO005","/dbios/DBIO006"
value = 45502752 = 0x2b65120

    enablePowerupDiags = 0
enablePowerupDiags = 0x12f1330: value = 0 = 0x0

    runPowerupDiags
done
dipSwitch = 0x0, enablePowerupDiags = 0, puMode=0
CalDiagPowerUpDiagsEnabled = 0
!! SKIPPING POWERUP DIAGNOSTICS !!
0x2b188e0 (digHFTask): >> Setting PLL to 1.25e+09 Hz.
0x2b188e0 (digHFTask): >> Setting PLL to 1.25e+09 Hz.
0x2b188e0 (digHFTask): >> Setting PLL to 1.25e+09 Hz.
value = 17649712 = 0x10d5030 = SoftSwitchesRegisterTable + 0x48

    rtlStartup
value = 0 = 0x0

    tsComp
value = 0 = 0x0

    ################### topScript ends ###############################

Done executing startup script c:\vxBoot\topScript.hw
KERNEL:  RUNNING TIME SLICED AT 10 TICKS PER SLICE!
->


Hello. My TDS 7104 presents the same 521 error. I bought some used X24165 chips, and try to replace it.
My English is terrible. Hope you can understand me. :-DD
« Last Edit: January 31, 2021, 02:17:29 am by bohrzqc »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #606 on: January 24, 2021, 01:10:21 pm »
Hi i would be carefull with pulling these eeproms. Inside are your factory cals stored and your scope needs tobe re-calibrated for sure. nowadays no FAS is available anymore and equiptment like a fluke 9500B needs to be part of your workbench or you will get yourself into an extra problems. $$$

is the rest of your scope ok bohrzqc . post log here.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2021, 11:26:22 pm by charlyd »
 

Offline bohrzqc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: cn
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #607 on: January 26, 2021, 03:19:20 am »
Hi i would carefull with pulling these eeproms. Inside are your factory cals stored and your scope needs tobe re-calibrated for sure. nowadays no FAS is available anymore and equiptment like a fluke 9500B needs to be part of your workbench or you will get yourself into an extra problems. $$$

is the rest of your scope ok bohrzqc . post log here.

After replaced the X24165 chip, the 521 error still exists. I wonder whether only replacing the X24165 chip is OK or some cal data should be written to the chip. Jay upload the cal data of his 7104. So the cal data should be written to the chip?
I bought some AT24C16B chips, and plan to replace tomorrow.
Maybe I solved the baseline offset is reset to the factory default. First delete the calConStatus = cc_init(2) in the boot file, save the file. Restart the scope. Add the calConStatus = cc_init(2) to the original place again, and save the file, restart the scope.
However, this method is useless for another 7104. Maybe this due to the X24165 chip. Not sure. :palm:
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #608 on: January 26, 2021, 09:44:23 am »
After replaced the X24165 chip, the 521 error still exists. I wonder whether only replacing the X24165 chip is OK or some cal data should be written to the chip. Jay upload the cal data of his 7104. So the cal data should be written to the chip?

Yes. If you use my cal data, the error should go away, but won't be valid for obvious reasons.
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #609 on: January 28, 2021, 11:35:59 pm »
Hi bohrzqc:  is this what you did?   and what did it bring you?

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tek-csa7404-repair-project/msg2764508/#msg2764508
 

Offline bohrzqc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: cn
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #610 on: January 31, 2021, 02:11:49 am »
Hi bohrzqc:  is this what you did?   and what did it bring you?

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tek-csa7404-repair-project/msg2764508/#msg2764508

No.
calConStatus = cc_init(1) cannot settle the problem of the offset of the baseline, only can reset the cal data to factory values. I think resetting the factory cal values is useless. My method is not always effective. Maybe we should wait for expert Jay or TiN to settle the problem.
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #611 on: February 01, 2021, 12:51:13 pm »
hi yes that is why i asked, because what did you do exactly in post #607  i am trying to figure out why you did those things.
 

Offline ludow

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ch
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #612 on: February 13, 2021, 12:18:49 pm »
Hi, thank you a lot for this forum.
I recently got a tds7154 from someone who find it.
I had to change the bios battery, find an hdd, install windows 2000 and the drivers. 
Now, Tekscope launch but I can't see any trace, so I tried with windows XP and got the same problem. It takes measurement (we can see the range adapt with the input while clicking on autoset) but the trace are not displayed.

Have anyone an idea of what it could be?

:)
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #613 on: February 14, 2021, 09:59:56 am »
Hi, thank you a lot for this forum.
I recently got a tds7154 from someone who find it.
I had to change the bios battery, find an hdd, install windows 2000 and the drivers. 
Now, Tekscope launch but I can't see any trace, so I tried with windows XP and got the same problem. It takes measurement (we can see the range adapt with the input while clicking on autoset) but the trace are not displayed.

Have anyone an idea of what it could be?

:)

Looks like the video driver. Make sure it is an Asiliant driver.
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #614 on: February 14, 2021, 10:41:46 pm »
@ludow, don t run the unit opened without a big fan blowing over the ACQ and or PSU. Normally with case closed the airflow is directed over the boards. with open case board run too hot.
 

Offline ludow

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ch
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #615 on: February 17, 2021, 10:38:57 pm »
yes thanks that was exactly this  :-+
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #616 on: February 17, 2021, 11:17:19 pm »
yes thanks that was exactly this  :-+

The driver, you mean?
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline ludow

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ch
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #617 on: February 18, 2021, 12:08:39 am »
yes exactly, thank you :)
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #618 on: March 18, 2021, 04:41:44 pm »
Does anyone know the right adress for the eeprom asumming it is this X24165 (written in earlier post here)  also for the TDS7404 ?
Just nice to know, where is it exactly located on the ACQ board?

I'd rather not (yet) remove the chip if it can be done from the console port or GPIB after after builing a tool for it to export and import content.
I want to get closer to the error where all onces as the checksum of 0xffffffff are stored. that is not ok.

Code: [Select]
extd chksum failed, stored = 0xffffffff calc = 0xdb766060
0x16975c0 (tShell): cc_init: extended bank17 chksum failed, NOT reset to factory

Jay do you know the starting adress?
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #619 on: March 19, 2021, 07:29:43 am »

Jay do you know the starting adress?

I do not.
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #620 on: March 20, 2021, 08:29:02 pm »
Hi Guys!

After long time I wanted to use my (several times successfullz repaired) TDS7104 again.

However, trouble happened:

I turned it on and the internal LCD stayed white, the Frontpanel all lit, but it still seemed to boot properly. After some time of waiting, the relays clicked and I could operate with the frontpanel the probe, e.g. pressing the 1MOhm/50Ohm button actuated the relay, I could turn on/off channels, ...

[attach=1]

Of course I attached an external screen to the PC VGA port). When powering on there was no signal detected, after windows booted, the screen detected a 640x400 pixel sync signal, but the screen keeps blank (tested the screen, it works and I used the same for installing windows XP before).

I thought it was a smart idea to remove the PC CMOS Bios battery (on the SF810 mainboard). However, since that point the PC scope application does not start anymore. The 7 segment display shows a blinking "-" sign and the frontpanel does not react anymore.

Having had issues with the power supply before I of course checked the power supply and all voltage rails show proper voltages.

Does anybody have a clue what I can look for?
Without VGA signal I am really clueless how I can access that guy to check a few things.

Best regards,

Kai
Edit: Tried to boot from CD. It boots, but still no display content :(
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #621 on: March 20, 2021, 08:59:02 pm »
Uodate: now the scope application boots again and frontpanel is reactive, still internal and external screens are dead.
Dors anybody know how to clear cmos? I removed the battery already for 1h with no external power applied, but that does not seem to help.
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #622 on: March 21, 2021, 11:10:18 am »
I left the TDS7104 unpowered and without CMOS battery over night.
Result: The PC board does not boot at all anymore, also the push power button on the frontpanel does not power the scope on anymore. When I bridge the power on jumper, it turns on, als the CPU fan rotates, probing some caps on the PC board shows nice expected voltages.

All power supplies are present, also standby voltage.

I am very close to say: I am done with the scope, looking how often I already repaird stuff.
Anybody close to Germany wants a nice neverending hobby project? :-)


Edit: The Debug console of PPC seems dead, when I power on with the power_on jumper. The 7 segment led shows an 8 permanently.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2021, 11:51:14 am by Xyphro »
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #623 on: March 21, 2021, 01:00:22 pm »
Probed several signals on the NLX riser card.

PWOK (input to NLX) is signalling, that power is OK
#FPReset is high, so the NLX board is not kept permanently in RESET
Voltages are all present
The SOFT_ON/OFF# signal is correctly going low, when the frontpanel power pushbutton is pressed
PS_ON# output from NLX goes correctly LOW

I guess, I need a new NLX board :-(
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Online Johnny10

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 774
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #624 on: March 21, 2021, 01:32:29 pm »
On Saturday, the CMOS battery died on my second 7104.
It blanked the TDS7104 screen and kept me from getting into BIOS.
Battery was dated 1995.

Replaced battery.

Access the VGA connector in back with separate monitor.
You need to install KILLCMOS application on floppy MS-DOS start-up disk.
I used a 2SHD 1.44MB High Density floppy on a XP OS machine.
When formatting disk there is a check for create MS-DOS disk.

Online I downloaded a KILLCMOS program. (https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/killcmos.html)
Extracted file and installed on floppy.

Boot from the floppy type dir in the command line.
Find and and run KILLCMOS .

 CTRL Alt Delete
 F2 Setup
 Your BIOS is now accessible.
 Change config of BIOS to default settings.
 Change Display to PCI
 Save and restart oscilloscope.
Tektronix TDS7104, DMM4050, HP 3561A, HP 35665, Tek 2465A, HP8903B, DSA602A, Tek 7854, 7834, HP3457A, Tek 575, 576, 577 Curve Tracers, Datron 4000, Datron 4000A, uTracer, HP5335A, EIP534B 20GHz Frequency Counter, TrueTime Rubidium, Sencore LC102, Tek TG506, TG501, SG503, HP 8568B
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf